格鲁吉亚

格鲁吉亚不良少年改造项目开创先河

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Georgia/2009/ Amurvelashvili
不良少年在格鲁吉亚库塔伊西的一个教育和发展中心上课,这是帮助违法青少年的试点项目的一部分。

萨拉.马库斯报道

格鲁吉亚库塔伊西,2009年11月9日 – 在格鲁西亚西部库塔伊西市的特殊教育中心里,年轻人站在干净明亮的大厅里礼貌地欢迎来访的客人。他们是参加不良青少年改造试点项目的成员。

建立库塔伊西改造中心的目的,是帮助青少年远离监狱。类似的改造中心在格鲁吉亚还有两处,分别位于巴统和鲁斯塔维。

17岁的拜詹(Bezhan)自信地看着新闻工作者的摄像机。他说:“我喜欢这里。我在学习英文,我希望有一天能去英格兰学习。”

缓刑的替代方式

这个旨在改造青少年司法系统的为期三年的项目在2008年3月正式启动。作为司法部、惩戒和法律援助部、联合国儿童基金会以及国际刑罚改革协会之间的合作,这个项目得到了荷兰政府的支持。

项目旨在帮助格鲁吉亚政府制定政策并推行法律改革、为在少年司法系统中工作的人员提供培训并扩大为违法青少年提供的改造项目。

改造工作中必不可少的一部分是在恰当的情况下确保年轻人不会因轻微的过失而被判罪。如果有青少年被判罪,也应该是非监禁刑罚。缓刑是格鲁吉亚目前替代入狱刑罚的唯一选择。

通向社会服务的大门

库塔伊西中心的主任卡图纳.加瓦卡兹(Khatuna Javakhadze)说,中心里90%的年轻人来自生活在贫困线以下的家庭,中心使他们第一次有机会获得社会和心理支持服务。
加瓦卡兹强调说:“我们对这些来到中心的年轻人最大的希望就是他们不会再次犯罪。”他提到中心最近建议缓刑局将一名青少年的刑罚有条件地免除。这个年轻人因为攻击一名便衣警察而在中心里改造了4个月。

加瓦卡兹先生说:“他来到中心后,我们开始帮助他,主要是让他把注意力集中到体育活动上,因为他从6岁起就一直参与体育活动。现在他完全参与到那些活动中,而且他还在上学。”

帮助年轻人重新融入社会

中心的各种活动都是由青少年自己组织开展的。他们自己制定了改造计划,因此培养了他们今后所需的自给自足能力。英文和计算机是很受欢迎的两种课程,此外受欢迎的还有驾驶课。绝大多数青少年更喜欢学习职业技能而不是上大学。

中心工作的关键是找到愿意培训年轻人并愿意与处于缓刑期间的年轻人合作的公司。

加瓦卡兹说:“当我们在这方面遇到阻力的时候,会解释说与年轻人们一起工作很重要,因为可以帮助他们重新融入社会。”他还强调说对抗与少年犯相关的歧视是中心的另一个目标。

中心的支持服务不局限于少年犯。工作人员付出了很大的努力,使客户的家长也参与到改造项目之中,每个月和他们开两到三次会。他们还让需要社会和经济支持的家庭到那些可以帮助他们的政府机构或者非政府组织寻求帮助。

16岁的戴托(Dato)说:“我很喜欢这儿。我们的生活很有趣。在这里有我的朋友,我还喜欢所有在这里工作的人。”


 

 

相关链接

搜索

Georgia

Groundbreaking project transforms the lives of juvenile offenders in Georgia

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Georgia/2009/ Amurvelashvili
Juvenile offenders have regular classes at an education and development centre in Kutaisi, Georgia, as part of a pilot programme for juveniles in conflict with the law.

By Sarah Marcus

KUTAISI, Georgia 9 November 2009 – The young people milling around the clean, bright halls of the special education centre in the city of Kutaisi in western Georgia greet visitors politely. They are part of a pilot programme for rehabilitating juveniles in conflict with the law.

The rehabilitation centre in Kutaisi, like its counterparts in Batumi and Rustavi, was opened as part of the drive to keep youngsters out of prison.

A 17-year-old named Bezhan looks confidently into the camera of a news crew and introduces himself. “I like it here,” he says. “I am learning English and I hope one day to go to study in England.”

Alternatives to probation

The three-year project to reform the juvenile justice system was launched in March 2008 as a partnership between the Ministry of Justice, the Ministry of Corrections and Legal Assistance, UNICEF and Penal Reform International, with support from the Government of the Netherlands.

It aims to help the Government of Georgia with policy and legal reform, as well as training for those working in the juvenile justice system and the expansion of rehabilitation programmes for children in conflict with the law.

An integral part of the reform effort is ensuring that, where appropriate, young people are not prosecuted for minor or less serious offences and, if prosecuted, are given a non-custodial sentence. Probation is currently the only alternative to a prison term in Georgia.

A door to social services

The Kutaisi centre's Director, Khatuna Javakhadze, says that for most of its young clients – 90 per cent of whom come from families who live below the poverty line – the centre represents their first opportunity to avail themselves of social and psychological support services.

“Our greatest hope for the young people who attend the centre is that they won’t re-offend,” Mr. Javakhadze notes. He points to the centre's recent recommendation that the probation bureau remove the conditional sentence of a young man who attended the facility for four months after assaulting an out-of-uniform policeman.

“He came here and we worked with him, focusing on sports activities, which he had been involved in since the age of five or six,” says Mr. Javakhadze. “Now he is fully engaged in those activities, and he is attending school.”

Reintegrating young people into society

Activities at the centre are led by the youths themselves. The young people plan their own rehabilitation, thus building the self-sufficiency they will need in life. English-language and computer lessons are popular choices; both are already in progress at the centre, as are driving lessons.

Most of the centre’s clients are more interested in learning vocational skills than in attending university. A key part of the centre’s work, therefore, is finding companies willing to train and work with the young probationers.

“When we meet with resistance in this respect, we explain that working with our young people is very important in helping them to integrate into society,” Mr. Javakhadze explains, noting that combating the stigma attached to juveniles in conflict with the law is another of the centre’s aims.

The centre’s support services are not confined to the young offenders. Staff make a special effort to include their clients’ parents in the rehabilitation programme, holding meetings with them two to three times a month. They also refer families in social and economic need to state agencies or non-governmental organizations that can help them.

“I just like it here. We go on great excursions. I have friends here and I like all the people who work here,” said Dato, 16.


 

 

New enhanced search