格鲁吉亚

冲突导致成千上万的格鲁吉亚儿童流离失所并造成伤害

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Georgia/2008/Volpe
联合国儿童基金会已经发出紧急呼吁,确保因格鲁吉亚南奥塞梯周围地区的冲突而无家可归的人们能获得基本的生活服务。

格鲁吉亚第比利斯,2008年8月19日 — 不同年龄的儿童正在第比利斯一所幼儿园的院子里玩耍。他们离开南奥塞梯周围的冲突地区已经24个多个小时了,但还是有人不敢进入那座楼。

当炸弹在附近炸响时,4岁的基奥吉.杰比萨什维利(Giorgi Djebisashvili)正在哥里市(Gori)的教堂里接受洗礼。洗礼仪式结束后,父亲带着他的两个孩子来到外面,发现教堂四周火光冲天,天空中弥漫着爆炸声。

“我们想和妈妈在一起,”基奥吉的姐姐尼诺(Nino)回忆道。“父亲迅速把我们朝汽车的方向推去,然后我们走了。此后我什么都不记得了。”

‘对我来说就像是一个奇迹’

两个孩子的母亲姬奈达.杰比萨什维利(Zinaida Djebisashvili)正在迈杜里斯吉合维村(Medvriskhevi)的家里看电视新闻,并等着她的家人回来。新闻说哥里市受到攻击,军事基地附近的教堂遭到了轰炸。

“我出去尖叫着,向邻居大呼求救。我几乎肯定我再也看不到我的丈夫和孩子们了,”杰比萨什维利夫人含泪说道。“不久我丈夫的车出现了,对我来说,这就像是一个奇迹。很快军用直升机出现在我们村上空,炮击也开始了。所以我们逃到了第比利斯。”

在第比利斯,杰比萨什维利一家被安置在泊尼卡拉区(Ponichala)一所幼儿园内的安置营里。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Georgia/2008/Volpe
联合国儿童基金会正在努力为格鲁吉亚难民提供紧急援助,图为第比利斯国际机场附近的一个安置营。

为流离失所者的紧急呼吁

在最近格鲁吉亚南奥塞梯周边地区的冲突中,近16万人流离失所,其中许多人是儿童和妇女。其他许多人已经受伤甚至丧身,大批人离开了他们的家园。

联合国儿童基金会对受影响地区人道主义援助的短缺表示了关注。该组织已发出紧急呼吁,希望为援助流离失所的儿童和家庭募集到6500万美元。

在格鲁吉亚,约有12.86万流离失所,其中大部分已被安置在诸如幼儿园、学校以及公共场所和政府大楼等170个临时设施内。但这些临时收容设施缺少厕所、饮用水和电力。在动乱地区,联合国儿童基金会已经为4000多人分发了营养卫生用品和净水片。此外,联合国儿童基金会正在计划空运学校用具箱、娱乐箱和家庭基本用品箱以及供近6000个家庭使用的水和公共卫生用品。

在俄罗斯联邦方面,另有3万人(其中80℅的是妇女和儿童)已越过边界进入北奥塞梯和其他地区。俄罗斯联邦处理紧急事务的部门“紧急状态和自然灾害响应国家委员会(EMERCOM)”,一直在为56个安置中心提供急需的帮助。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Georgia/2008/Volpe
第比利斯的一个安置营里,一位小女孩正准备休息。为受冲突影响的儿童提供心理服务,是联合国儿童基金会的工作重点之一。

北奥塞梯的安置营

一位来自南奥塞梯首都茨欣瓦利(Tskhinvali)的母亲伊尔玛.佳奈娃(Irma Janaeva)称,她和2岁的儿子萨尔马特(Sarmat)能成功逃离了他们的村子简直是“一个奇迹”,因为她的其他亲属都没逃出来。他们现在住在设在俄罗斯联邦北奥塞梯首府弗拉季卡夫卡兹一所学校内的临时安置营里。

佳奈娃说,炮击期间,她和萨尔马特不得不好几天呆在没有食物或基本必需品的地窖里。萨尔马特也不能忍受这场战争;据他的母亲说,他不能离开她,总是哭喊,很少睡觉。

“他很反常,紧张,”佳奈娃说。“他需要看医生。”

为处于危险中的儿童提供心理帮助

萨尔马特的经历表明,为儿童的心理服务是迫切需要的,这是联合国儿童基金会的工作重点之一。

罗兰(Roland)和玛雅.闵迪雅什维利(Maya Mindiashvili)的三个孩子,11岁的法蒂玛(Fatima)、8岁的米拉纳(Milana)和6岁的哈图纳(Khatuna),冒着猛烈的炮火逃离了南奥塞梯的克末提村(Kemerti)。

当一家人驾车离开时,闵迪雅什维利说,“一架直升飞机跟着我们。我们还以为它要炸我们。孩子们透过窗口张望,看到一些房屋发生爆炸。孩子们问我:‘如果炸弹落在我们的车上,我们会死吗?’”

法蒂玛尽量不去想曾看到的一切。“我要为我晚上还睡不着的妹妹们作一个榜样,”她说。

重新生活的机会

闵迪雅什维利一家所寄住的地方是第比利斯财政部总部内的一间空房子,这里没有床也没有床垫(由联合国儿童基金会亚美尼亚办公室提供的100张床目前已经发放到第比利斯的4个安置中心)。米拉纳和哈图纳没有鞋穿。他们穿着脏衣服,也不知道他们家的东西是不是够吃。

不过,他们说,比起在炮火下生活,这些困难微不足道。死里逃生后的他们,渴望着重返家园。

玛雅说:“不管我们的房子是被抢劫、烧毁还是破坏了,我们还是想回家。现在我才知道,活着是 多么美好。我们不想要什么帮助,我们只想呼吁和平,给我们一个重新生活的机会。”


 

 

搜索

Georgia

Conflict in Georgia: Thousands of children displaced and vulnerable

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Georgia/2008/Volpe
UNICEF is working to provide emergency help for displaced people in Georgia, such as those at this camp near the Tbilisi International Airport.

GENEVA, Switzerland, 19 August 2008 – Children of different ages played in the yard of a Tbilisi kindergarten. More than 24 hours had passed since they left the conflict zone around South Ossetia, and some of them were still afraid to enter the building.

Giorgi Djebisashvili, 4, was being baptized in church of the city of Gori when bombs fell nearby. When the christening finished and the father came outside with both of his children, fire surrounded the church and the air was filled with the sound of explosions.

“We wanted our mother to be with us,” recalled Giorgi’s older sister, Nino. “Father rapidly pushed us towards the car and we moved off. From then I do not remember anything.”

‘Like a miracle to me’

The mother of the two children, Zinaida Djebisashvili, was at home in Medvriskhevi village watching the news on TV and waiting for her family to arrive. The newscast said Gori was under fire and the church, located near a military base, had been bombed.

“I came out and started screaming and calling out to the neighbors to help me. I was almost sure that I would never see my husband and children alive,” Ms. Djebisashvili said with tears in her eyes. “Soon my husband’s car appeared, and that was like a miracle to me. Then military helicopters appeared above our village and shelling began in our place too. So we fled to Tbilisi.”

The Djebisashvili family settled into a temporary shelter set up at a kindergarten in the Ponichala district of Tbilisi.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Georgia/2008/Volpe
UNICEF has launched a flash appeal to ensure the people displaced by the conflict in and around South Ossetia, Georgia, have access to basic services.

Flash appeal for the displaced

Nearly 160,000 people, many of them children and women, have been displaced as a result of the recent conflict in and around South Ossetia, Georgia. Many others have been killed and wounded.

UNICEF is still very concerned over lack of humanitarian access to affected areas. The organization has launched a flash appeal for $6.5 million to aid displaced children and families.

In Georgia, most of the estimated 128,600 displaced have been accommodated in 170 temporary facilities such as kindergartens, schools, and public and government buildings. However, many lack toilets, potable water and electricity. UNICEF has distributed nutritional and hygiene supplies and water-purification tablets to more than 4,000 people in the troubled region. In addition, UNICEF is planning to airlift School-in-a-Box and recreation kits, basic family kits, and water and sanitation materials for approximately 6,000 families.

In the Russian Federation, another 30,000 people – 80 per cent of them women and children – have crossed the border into North Ossetia and other regions. The Russian Emergency Response Ministry, EMERCOM, has been supporting the emergency needs of the displaced in 56 centres.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Georgia/2008/Volpe
A young girl from a displaced family tries to rest at a temporarily shelter in Tbilisi. Psychosocial services for children affected by the conflict are one of UNICEF's top priorities.

Temporary shelter in North Ossetia

Irma Janaeva, a mother from the South Ossetian capital, Tskhinvali, calls it “a miracle” that she and her son Sarmat, 2, managed to get away from their village while other relatives stayed behind. They are now staying at a temporary accommodation centre located at a school in Vladikavkaz, the capital of North Ossetia in the Russian Federation.

During the shelling, said Ms. Janaeva, she and Sarmat had to spend several days in the cellar with no food or basic necessities. Sarmat did not bear it well; according to his mother, he can’t step away from her, cries a lot and doesn’t sleep much.

“He is very capricious, nervous,” said Ms. Janaeva. “He needs to see a doctor.”

Psychosocial help for children at risk

As Sarmat’s story demonstrates, psychosocial services for children are urgently needed and are among UNICEF's top priorities.

Roland and Maya Mindiashvili’s three children – Fatima, 11, Milana, 8, and Khatuna, 6 – were among those who experienced heavy shelling when trying to flee their village of Kemerti in South Ossetia.

While the family was driving away, said Ms. Mindiashvili, “one of the helicopters was following us. We thought it was going to bomb us. The children were looking through the window and saw several houses exploding. Children were asking me: ‘Will we die if the bomb falls on our car?’”

Fatima tries not to think about what she has seen. “I want to serve as an example for my younger sisters, who still cannot sleep at night,” she said.

A chance to rebuild

In an empty room at the former headquarters of the Ministry of Finance in Tbilisi, the Mindiashvilis and other displaced families taking shelter have no beds and mattresses (though 100 beds provided by UNICEF Armenia have now arrived at four centres in Tbilisi). Milana and Khatuna do not have shoes. They wear dirty clothes and do not know if they will have enough food for the family.

Still, as they acknowledged, this is a minor misery compared to living through the bombing. Having survived that ordeal, they now want to return home.

“No matter that our house is looted, burned or destroyed we still want to be back home,” said Maya. “Now I realize how good it is to be alive. We do not ask for any help, but we urge for peace that will give us a chance to build our lives again.”


 

 

New enhanced search