埃塞俄比亚

在埃塞俄比亚,“致力于儿童生存”非洲领导人会议为降低儿童死亡率规划路线图

“致力于儿童生存:重申承诺”非洲领导人会议于2013年1月在埃塞俄比亚首都亚的斯亚贝巴举行。各国领导人在会上就防止儿童死亡做出坚定承诺。

萨沙.韦斯特比克(Sacha Westerbeek)报道

埃塞俄比亚首都亚的斯亚贝巴,2013年1月28日 —— 尽管针对新生儿、儿童和孕产妇健康,存在简便且经济高效的干预措施,但是,儿童感染可预防疾病的发病率以及儿童死亡率依然居高不下。

1月16日至18日,“致力于儿童生存:重申承诺”非洲领导人会议在埃塞俄比亚首都亚的斯亚贝巴举行。各国领导人在会议上就防止儿童死亡做出坚定承诺。 在Realplayer中播放

究其原因,往往是在全国范围内推广这样的干预措施进展缓慢。

重申承诺

2012年6月,埃塞俄比亚政府携手印度政府、联合国儿童基金会及美国国际开发署(USAID),在华盛顿共同主办了“儿童生存行动号召会议”。会议号召各国政府及合作伙伴签署重申承诺,保证为改善儿童生存环境而努力。“重申承诺”是联合国秘书长潘基文发起的“每个妇女每个儿童运动”的组成部分。在已经签署该承诺书的国家、民间团体组织和宗教组织中,包括46个非洲国家。

在去年6月份会议闭幕之际,埃塞俄比亚政府承诺将在2013年1月举办由非洲各国卫生部长出席的后续会议,时间上大致与非洲联盟首脑会议相同。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Ethiopia/2013/Ose
联合国儿童基金会健康主任米奇.乔普拉(Mickey Chopra)博士在会上发言。本次会议是一个让国家之间互相学习、将借鉴的经验应用于本国规划中的机会。

儿童生存是首要议题

本次会议于1月16日至18日在亚的斯亚贝巴举行,汇集非洲各国卫生部长、副部长、同级官员及世界各地的儿童生存问题专家,将儿童生存问题放在整个非洲大陆社会发展议程的首要位置,并重申由非洲各国领导人分别领导本国工作。20个非洲国家的代表出席了本次会议。美国国际开发署和联合国儿童基金会驻埃塞俄比亚办事处共同为埃塞俄比亚卫生与社会服务部提供技术、后勤和通信支持。

本次会议着重讨论了儿童生存政策,及针对接生员培训、新生儿护理、综合社区案例管理(iCCM)和降低发育不良比率等影响较大的干预措施。

针对最能够满足儿童(最紧迫的)需求的干预措施和战略的普及,专家们介绍了科学依据和最佳时间点,以及影响力较大的干预措施。强调应该将重点放在卫生系统和克服可能存在的障碍上。

本次会议是一个让国家之间互相学习、并将借鉴的经验应用于本国规划中的机会。部长代表们有机会重新调整具有本国特色的规划,以加速降低儿童死亡率和改善孕产妇健康状况。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Ethiopia/2013/Ose
在埃塞俄比亚阿勒图(Aleltu)地区的米卡瓦(Mikawa)医疗中心,一位卫生工作者边为婴儿进行体检,边向母亲询问孩子的情况。在众多议题中,本次会议着重讨论了针对接生员培训、新生儿护理及降低发育不良比率等影响较大的干预措施。

共识:为了非洲儿童更美好的未来

在会议的第三天,代表们发表了一份共识声明。全体代表一致同意:要加速进程,各国必须目标明确且有效地实施高影响力的干预措施。声明强调,只有在“全球路线图”中列出的五个关键领域中采取协调一致的行动,才能大幅降低可预防的儿童死亡率。这五个领域分别为:地理、高负担人口、高影响力解决方案、教育赋权/经济环境和相互问责。

与会国在共识声明中宣布:各国将致力于发展和实施以国家为主导的路线图,持续整合各方努力以加速进程;在所有非洲国家中,截至2035年将根除5岁以下儿童可预防的死亡,将5岁以下儿童的死亡率降低到每1000例活产儿死亡20例。

有关“重申承诺”的更多信息,请点击这里


 

 

图片报道:儿童早期生存

搜索

Ethiopia

African Leadership for Child Survival meeting in Ethiopia charts map for reducing child deaths

Leaders made a strong commitment to preventing child deaths, at the African Leadership for Child Survival: A Promise Renewed meeting held in January 2013 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

By Sacha Westerbeek

ADDIS ABABA, Ethiopia, 28 January 2013 – High rates of preventable child disease and death persist, despite the existence of simple, inexpensive high-impact interventions in newborn, child and maternal health.

Leaders made a strong commitment to preventing child deaths, at the African Leadership for Child Survival: A Promise Renewed meeting held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, 16-18 January.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

But scaling up such interventions on a national level is often a slow process.

A Promise Renewed

In June 2012, the Government of Ethiopia, together with India, UNICEF and the United States Agency for International Development (USAID), hosted the Child Survival Call to Action meeting in Washington, DC. The conference called for governments and partners to sign A Promise Renewed, a pledge to work toward greater child survival. A Promise Renewed is part of the United Nations Every Woman Every Child movement launched by United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon. Forty-six African nations are among the countries, civil society organizations and faith-based groups that have signed the pledge.

At the close of the June meeting, the Government of Ethiopia committed to hosting a follow-up meeting with African health ministers in January 2013, to coincide, roughly, with the African Union Summit.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Ethiopia/2013/Ose
UNICEF Chief of Health Dr. Mickey Chopra speaks at the meeting. The meeting was an opportunity for countries to learn from one other and apply the lessons in their respective country settings.

Child survival at top of agenda

Held in Addis Ababa from 16–18 January, the meeting convened African Ministers of Health and deputy Ministers, peers and national, regional and global experts on child survival to ensure child survival is at the forefront of social development agendas across the continent and to renew the focus of African leaders to head their own countries’ efforts. Delegates from twenty African countries attended the meeting. Technical, logistical and communication support for the meeting was provided by USAID and UNICEF Ethiopia to the Ethiopian Ministry of Health and Social Services.

The meeting focused on issues related to child survival policy and the scale-up of high-impact interventions such as skilled birth attendants, newborn care, integrated Community Case Management (iCCM) and stunting reduction. 

Experts presented scientific evidence and entry points for the widespread adoption of evidence-based high-impact interventions and strategies for reaching children with the greatest need. Emphasis was placed on health systems and on overcoming barriers that may exist. 

The meeting was an excellent opportunity for countries to learn from one other and apply the lessons in their respective country settings. Ministry representatives had the opportunity to update their country-specific plans to accelerate progress toward reducing child mortality and improving maternal health.


UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Ethiopia/2013/Ose
A health worker consults with a mother and baby at Mikawa Health Centre in Aleltu Woreda, Ethiopia. Among other issues, the meeting focused on the scale-up of high-impact interventions such as skilled birth attendants, newborn care and stunting reduction.

Consensus: a brighter future for African children

On the third day of the conference, a consensus statement was presented by the delegates. It was jointly agreed that, to accelerate progress, the countries need targeted and effective implementation of high-impact interventions. It was stated that dramatic reduction in preventable child deaths can only be achieved through concerted action in five critical areas, as outlined in the Global Roadmap: Geography, High Burden Populations, High Impact Solutions, Education Empowerment/Economy Environment and Mutual Accountability.

The participating countries declared, in the consensus statement, that they are committed to developing and implementing country-led roadmaps that integrate ongoing efforts to accelerate progress to end preventable deaths among children under 5 years of age by 2035, and reduce the mortality rate for children under 5 to below 20 per 1,000 live births in all African nations.

For more information on A Promise Renewed, clic here.


 

 

Photo Essay: Early child survival

New enhanced search