埃塞俄比亚

仔细排查埃塞俄比亚的收养机构和收养行为,并帮助儿童与家人团聚

印迪阿斯.格塔丘(Indrias Getachew)报道

埃塞俄比亚杰尔-西那沙(JARE HINESSA),2012年12月10日 —— 女婴梅塞雷特(Meseret)回家时,大家都十分高兴。14个月前,她的父亲把她留在一家孤儿院,这位单亲爸爸希望他的女儿被收养,然后在国外成长。

联合国儿童基金会通讯员玛格丽特.墨菲(Margaret Murphy)报道一项正帮助埃塞俄比亚儿童与家人团聚的计划。 在Realplayer中播放

“她的妈妈去世时,她太小了,所以,我把她留在一家孤儿院。”梅塞雷特的父亲托马斯.哈第托(Thomas Hatito)说。哈第托先生的妻子在分娩时去世。包括梅塞雷特在内,他要独自抚养八个孩子。“我把她留在孤儿院,希望她长大以后可以接受较好的教育。”

梅塞雷特出生后的第6天,哈第托先生便把她送到了孤儿院。

国际机构收养儿童日益增多,所受关注日益增长

近年来,埃塞俄比亚已经成为国际机构收养最盛行的国家之一。2009年,跨国收养儿童数量逾4500名,是2006年的两倍。

据妇女、儿童及青少年事务部(Ministry of Women, Children and Youth Affairs)称,跨国收养儿童数量的快速增长已促使托幼机构激增。

但是,这些机构中的45%被查出无证经营。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Ethiopia/2012/Getachew
梅塞雷特的妈妈在生下她时便离开了人世,之后梅塞雷特被孤儿院收养,14个月后,她终于与家人团聚。图中为她与家人团聚一个月后与姐姐在一起玩耍。

关注收养机构及收养方式

收养埃塞俄比亚儿童的需求不断增长,同时缺乏确保符合收养程序以保护儿童最大利益的适当机制,已引起对收养机构及托幼机构所用方式的关注。

“家长被告知,‘如果你的孩子出国,你会得到各种各样的奖励,你会得到更多钱。’”南方各族州(SNNPR)妇女、儿童及青少年事务署(Bureau of Women, Children and Youth Affairs)项目负责人耶什梅博特.伊尔加(Yeshimebet Yirga)说。

有关虐待儿童的报告日益增多,促使埃塞俄比亚政府采取行动以解决这一问题。2010年,对托幼机构的儿童保育做了两次评估。这两次评估审查了五个地区的托幼机构,其中包括南方各族州。

“我们有托幼机构必须符合的各项规定。”南方各族州妇女、儿童及青少年事务署负责促进儿童权利和保护儿童事务的负责人阿什纳菲克.阿德马苏(Ashenefech Admassu)说,“但是,当其中许多机构接受审查时,我们发现,很明显他们没有保护儿童的最大利益,他们仅保护自己的私人利益。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Ethiopia/2012/Getachew
梅塞雷特回到村庄时,她的家人和村民们迎接她回家。图中,将在孤儿院生活了14个月的梅塞雷特从孤儿院带回家的保姆抱着梅塞雷特。站在他们身后的是梅塞雷特的父亲 —— 托马斯.哈第托,旁边是梅塞雷特的奶奶。

帮助家人团聚

收留梅塞雷特的这家孤儿院是被认为不适宜继续经营的孤儿院之一。在与家人团聚之前,梅塞雷特及其他曾生活在这家孤儿院的儿童由看护人照顾。来自南方各族州妇女、儿童及青少年事务署的伊尔加(Yirga)女士及其他团队成员在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,接受了有关照看儿童并帮助他们与家人团聚的培训。

“说服儿童的家人后,我们不会只是空手送还儿童。”她说,“我们为即将与家人团聚的儿童准备一个我们认为用得上的礼包,这样可以减少团聚家庭的负担。”

梅塞雷特的家人获得了衣服、家庭日用品及现金补助,以减轻他们的经济压力。此项计划还帮助家庭建立可创造收入的项目。

伊尔加女士及其团队陪同梅塞雷特和来自看护机构的保姆来到杰尔-西那沙村。许多邻居和社区领导都出来迎接梅塞雷特回家。

让尽可能多的儿童得到帮助

据中央统计(Central Statistic)局称,2009年,380万名孤儿因艾滋病失去了双亲或成为单亲儿童。很可能约1万名这样的儿童生活在托幼机构。

“联合国儿童基金会正与联邦及地方当局携手为无家人照看的儿童起草一系列基于家庭的方案。”联合国儿童基金会驻埃塞俄比亚通讯负责人亚历山德拉.韦斯特比克(Alexandra Westerbeek)说,“我们一致认为,托幼机构不利于儿童成长,他们需要的是一个温暖的家庭环境。”


 

 

搜索

Ethiopia

In Ethiopia, placing institutions and adoption practices under scrutiny - and reuniting children with their families

By Indrias Getachew

JARE HINESSA, Ethiopia, 10 December 2012 - Emotions run high when baby Meseret comes home. It’s been 14 months since she was placed in an orphanage by her father, a single parent who had hoped that she would be adopted and raised abroad.

UNICEF correspondent Margaret Murphy reports on a programme that is reuniting Ethiopian children with their families.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

“I gave her up to an orphanage because she was so young when her mother died,” says Meseret’s father Thomas Hatito. Mr. Hatito’s wife passed away in childbirth, and he was faced with raising Meseret in addition to his seven other children, on his own. “I gave her away so that she could grow up and get a better education than is available here.”

Meseret was 6 days old when Mr. Hatito handed her over to the orphanage.

Rising international adoptions, rising concerns

In recent years, Ethiopia has become one of the most popular countries for international adoptions. More than 4,500 children were placed in inter-country adoption in 2009, double the number of children in 2006.

According to the Ministry of Women, Children and Youth Affairs, the rapid increase in inter-country adoptions has spawned a proliferation of child care institutions.

However, 45 per cent of these institutions were found to be operating without a valid license.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Ethiopia/2012/Getachew
Meseret has been reunified with her family 14 months after she was given up for adoption following the death of her mother during childbirth. Here, one month after reunification, she plays with her older sister.

Concerns about methods – and facilities

Rising demand for Ethiopian children and the lack of adequate mechanisms to ensure compliance with procedures meant to protect their best interests have led to concerns about methods used by adoption agencies and child care institutions.

“[Parents] were being told, ‘if your child goes abroad, you will get all types of rewards, you will get more money,’” says Project Officer at the Southern Nations, Nationalities, and People’s Region (SNNPR) Bureau of Women, Children and Youth Affairs Yeshimebet Yirga.

Increasing reports of abuse have prompted action by the Government of Ethiopia to address the issue. In 2010, two assessments of institutional child care were conducted. The assessments looked at child care institutions in five regions, including SNNPR.

“There are standards that any organization which raises children needs to meet,” says officer in charge of promoting child rights and protection with the SNNPR Bureau of Women, Children and Youth Affairs Ashenefech Admassu. “But, when many of them were reviewed, it became clear that they were not seeking the best interests of the children, but their own private benefit.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Ethiopia/2012/Getachew
When Meseret was returned to her village, she was welcomed by her family and members of the village. Here, she is held in the arms of the nanny who brought her home from the orphanage where she spent 14 months. Standing behind them is her father, Thomas Hatito, and next to them is her grandmother.

Reuniting families

The orphanage that had taken Meseret was among those deemed unfit to continue operating. Meseret and the other children who lived there were placed with caretakers while the process of family reunification began.
Ms. Yirga and the rest of the team from the SNNPR Bureau of Women, Children and Youth Affairs were trained with the support of UNICEF to provide care for the children and reunite them with their families.

“After convincing the families, we don’t just give the children back empty-handed,” she says. “We prepare a package that we believe a returning child will need, and that will reduce the burden on the family.”

Meseret’s family received clothing and household items and a cash grant to ease their financial pressures. The programme also helps families to set up projects that generate income.

Ms. Yirga and her team accompanied Meseret and her nanny from the caretaker institution to Jare Hinessa village. Neighbours and community leaders turned out in large numbers to welcome Meseret home.

Reaching as many children as possible

According to the Central Statistic, 3.8 million orphans lost one or both parents to AIDS-related causes in 2009. It is likely that some 10,000 such children live under institutional care.

“UNICEF is working with the federal and regional authorities to come up with a range of family-based options for children without parental care,” says UNICEF Ethiopia Communication Manager Alexandra Westerbeek. “We all agree that institutions are not the solution for children, and what they need is a family environment.”


 

 

New enhanced search