埃塞俄比亚

联合国儿童基金会支持的门诊病人食疗项目在埃塞俄比亚提供拯救生命的服务

尹竹雅斯.格塔楚报道

埃塞俄比亚博雷纳,2011 年 8 月 24 日 — 40 岁的博利达.加特妮看起来忧虑而憔悴,显得比她的实际年龄要老很多。她家位于肯尼亚边界附近严重受到旱灾影响的博雷纳市,坐在屋外的她,哀叹着旱灾的影响已经威胁到了牧民的生活。

2011 年 8 月 5 日 —— 联合国儿童基金会记者克里斯.奈尔斯报道联合国儿童基金会为帮助在旱灾中失去了一切的埃塞俄比亚家庭所做的工作。 在Realplayer中播放
腐烂的牛尸见证了博雷纳正在发生的惨剧。这里已经两年多没有好好下过一场雨了。在博雷纳,大部分牧民依靠牛群维持生计。然而,这里已经连续几季滴雨未降,给珍贵的牛群带来了毁灭性的破坏。在肯尼亚边界附近受灾最严重的地区,身体健康的男人们都赶着牛群向北迁徙,寻找水源和牧草。

在博雷纳,牲畜的死亡使得当地得牧民失去了收入和营养的重要来源,这一切对儿童的影响尤为严重。两个星期前,博利达最小的女儿 —— 10 个月大的费多泽.立本被诊断出严重营养不良,如果不接受治疗的话,可能会危及生命。

“以前,费多泽一直喝牛奶,但是现在没了,因为所有的牛都死了,”博利达说。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Ethiopia/2011/Getachew
医疗卫生推广员卡尔可丹.伊玛和查尔图.特斯菲穿行在肯尼亚边界附近受旱灾影响的博雷纳地区。他们将访问在梅乐布卫生站的门诊病人食疗项目中注册过的、患有严重营养不良的儿童。第一站是博利达和费多泽的家。
医疗卫生推广员卡尔可丹.伊玛和查尔图.特斯菲穿行在肯尼亚边界附近受旱灾影响的博雷纳地区。他们将访问在梅乐布卫生站的门诊病人食疗项目中注册过的、患有严重营养不良的儿童。第一站是博利达和费多泽的家。
 
 
医疗工作者挽救生命
旱灾对牧民的健康和营养状况的影响是显而易见的。骨瘦如柴的博利达抱着她的女儿费多泽从小屋里走了出来。好在,给他们提供帮助的人终于来了。

“这是一个大型牧区,牧民们依靠卖牛奶维持生计,也靠牛奶哺育孩子,”卡尔可丹.伊玛说,“但是现在,牛都死了,他们没有任何东西可以喂孩子了,因此,孩子们都在受苦。”

卡尔可丹解释说,他们在挨家挨户检查、诊断患有营养不良的儿童时,碰到了费多泽。他们用一根专业的测量尺量了一下费多泽的胳膊,发现她严重营养不良,就让她的母亲带她去卫生站。到达卫生站的时候,费多泽的体重只有 5.7 千克。

“她的情况特别遭,”卡尔可丹说,因此,他们按照规定,开始给费多泽吃即食的食疗食品。“她现在的状况还不错,而且体重也在增加,”卡尔可丹说,她还自豪的提到,通过仅两个星期的治疗,费多泽的体重已经达到了6.4千克。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Ethiopia/2011/Getachew
博利达正在给她10个月大的女儿费多泽喂送治疗严重营养不良的即食食疗食品。费多泽原本体重为5.7公斤,在加入梅乐布卫生站的门诊病人食疗项目之后,体重到达了6.4公斤。

覆盖最弱势的群体

卡尔可丹和查尔图都通过联合国儿童基金会支持的门诊病人食疗项目,接受过治疗严重营养不良儿童的培训。门诊病人食疗项目是埃塞俄比亚政府为农村人口提供基本的综合性医疗、营养、卫生设施和卫生服务的旗舰医疗卫生推广项目。

现在全国有一万六千个卫生站,每个卫生站配有两名像卡尔可丹那样的医疗卫生推广员。自2008年以来,联合国儿童基金会一直在支持门诊病人食疗项目的医护工作者的培训和物资供应,使他们能够在约 8800 个社区卫生站提供拯救生命的服务。

在这次危机中,埃塞俄比亚政府应对营养不良问题的能力提升令人印象深刻。这确保了及时有效的人道主义援助,从而减轻了长期干旱对最脆弱、最容易营养不良的儿童造成的最严重的影响。

需要更多资源

但是由于受到近年来最严重的旱灾的影响,该系统的运营能力已经达到了极限,联合国儿童基金会正在紧急寻求额外资源,以确保像卡尔可丹这样的医疗卫生推广人员能够继续他们拯救生命的工作。

联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴正在为埃塞俄比亚政府提供支持,以满足博雷纳等灾区的迫切需要。而这将需要大量的投入,包括促使形成多样化的生存方式,以及为旱灾恢复提供帮助等。


 

 

搜索

Ethiopia

Outpatient therapeutic feeding programmes save lives in Ethiopia

By Indrias Getachew

BORENA, Ethiopia, 24 August 2011 – Berida Jateni, 40, appears worried and gaunt and much older than her years. Sitting next to her hut in drought-ravaged Borena near the Kenya border she laments the impact of the drought that is threatening to destroy her pastoralist way of life.

VIDEO: 5 August 2011 - UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports on efforts to help Ethiopian families that have lost everything due to the drought.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Decaying carcasses of fallen cattle bear witness to the tragedy that has befallen Borena since the last decent rains fell over two years ago. Consecutive seasons of failed rains have decimated the prized cattle herds upon which the largely pastoralist Borena depend for their livelihoods. Able-bodied men in the worst-off areas near the border with Kenya have moved north in search of water and pasture with the surviving cattle.

The loss of their livestock has removed a critical source of income and nutrition for the Borena with particular impact on children. Berida’s youngest daughter, 10-month-old Firdoze Liben, was diagnosed with severe acute malnutrition two weeks ago, a condition that is deadly if untreated.

“Firdoze used to drink cow’s milk but now we don’t have any because all the cows died,” said Berida.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Ethiopia/2011/Getachew
Health Extension Worker Kalkidan Yimam (right) discusses the progress of 10 month old Firdoze Liben, sitting on her mother, Berida Jateni’s lap, during the HEWs home visits to check on children with severe acute malnutrition enrolled in the Meleb Health Post Outpatient Therapeutic Feeding Programme.

Health Extension Workers Kalkidan Yimam and Chaltu Tesfaye walked through the parched landscape on their way to visit the severely malnourished children who are enrolled in the Outpatient Therapeutic Feeding Programme (OTP) that they run from the Meleb Village Health Post. Their first stop was at the home of Berida and Firdoze.
 
Health workers saving lives

The impact of the drought on the health and nutritional status of the community is plain to see. It is a rail-thin Berida who emerged from her hut, carrying baby Firdoze. But thankfully some help has arrived.

“This is a largely pastoral community and they make their living and raise their children by selling milk and by feeding the children milk,” said Kalkidan Yimam. “But now, because the cattle have died, they don’t have anything to give their children and as a result the children are suffering.”

Kalkidan explained that they came across Firdoze when going from house-to-house to check on the children and screen for malnutrition. Using a specialized measuring tape around the arm of the little girl, they determined that she was severely malnourished and asked her mother to bring her to the health post. When she arrived, Firdoze weighed 5.7 kilograms.

“She was in really bad condition,” said Kalkidan, which is why they followed the protocol for admission and started giving the little girl ready to use therapeutic food. “She is doing well and her weight is going up,” said Kalkidan, proudly noting that she now weighs 6.4 kilograms just two weeks after the start of the treatment.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Ethiopia/2011/Getachew
Berida Jateni feeds her baby Firdoze Liben, 10 months, with RUTF, used to treat severe acute malnutrition. Firdoze has been enrolled in the Outpatient Therapeutic Feeding Programme (OTP) run from the Meleb Health Post. Firdoze weighed 5.7 kgs when admitted to the OTP programme. Two weeks later she weighed 6.4 kgs and is recovering well.

Reaching the most vulnerable

Kalkidan and Chaltu have both been trained to treat severely malnourished children though the UNICEF-supported OTP, which is part of the Government’s flagship Health Extension Programme to provide basic integrated health, nutrition, hygiene and sanitation services to its rural population.

Over 16,000 health posts staffed by two trained health extension workers like Kalkidan, are operating in the country. Since 2008 UNICEF has supported the training and provision of supplies for these health extension workers in OTP, enabling them to provide the life-saving service at the community level in close to 8,800 sites.

This impressive surge in national capacity to respond to malnutrition is ensuring timely and effective delivery of humanitarian assistance in Ethiopia during this time of crisis, thereby mitigating the worst impact of the prolonged drought on children, who are the most vulnerable and the first to succumb to malnutrition.

More resources needed

But with the worst drought in recent memory, the system is stretched and UNICEF is urgently seeking additional resources to ensure that health extension workers like Kalkidan can continue their life-saving work.

UNICEF and partners are supporting the Government of Ethiopia to respond to the immediate needs of drought-affected communities including in Borena. This will need to include support to diversify livelihoods as well to help recover from the drought.


 

 

New enhanced search