埃塞俄比亚

泛非议会妇女核心委员会谴责切割女性生殖器官的习俗

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Ethiopia/2009/Zeleman
阿莱盖什.阿格纳沪与她的女儿在一起。阿莱盖什曾经是从事切割女性生殖器官的医师,现在她已放弃这个职业。

特泽塔.图洛奇报道

埃塞俄比亚亚的斯亚贝巴,2009年9月14日 - 在坐满来访贵宾和埃塞尔比亚国民议会成员的房间里,塔戴莱赤.珊口以耳语般的声音,轻声讲述着女性生殖器官切割这个难以启齿的问题。

 点击此处观看视频

在过去的15年中,珊口女士为许多女孩切割了生殖器官。在她自己小的时候,她也接受过这种做法,并造成了惨痛的后果。

珊口女士说:“我生了九个孩子,其中七个生下来就死了。因为以前切割生殖器官时留下伤痕,我的子宫弹性不够,这七个孩子都是在子宫里窒息死的。”

提高意识

经过了一系列探讨女性生殖器官切割对女性身体和心理造成伤害的社区对话之后,珊口女士不再拥护这个习俗了。

上个月底,泛非议会妇女核心委员会在亚的斯亚贝巴召开会议,评估非洲各地有关女性生殖器官切割的情况,并学习埃塞尔比亚及其他国家已经实施的消除这一陋习的策略。珊口女士与参加会议的议会成员分享了她的故事。

此次议员访问的主要目的是动员议员和国家,以支持消除有害的传统习俗,特别是切割女性生殖器官的习俗。会议还讨论了通过媒体提高公众对切割女性生殖器官认识的方法;制裁这种做法的习惯法;以及社会各界合作的潜在途径。

强有力的证词

议员们听取了受女性生殖器官切割影响的女性和男性的强有力证词,他们的生活都惨遭影响。

对阿莱盖什.阿格纳沪来说,女性割礼(女性生殖器官切割的另一种说法)从来就不是一个可以选择的问题。她说:“我小的时候被切割,我的女儿也得被割,这是无法避免的。”

但是,自从参加了对这个问题进行深入探讨的社区对话之后,阿格纳沪女士不再认为切割女性生殖器官是女人所必须经历的事情了。
 
她说:“我参加了社区对话之后,开始明白女性割礼的害处,我现在已经改变了认识。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Ethiopia/2009/Zeleman
阿纳布.阿卜杜卡德尔阁下是泛非议会代理主席兼埃塞俄比亚议会议员。她在童年时期接受过女性割礼;现在她公开反对这种做法。

文化信仰

切割女性生殖器官的做法在埃塞尔比亚的穆斯林和基督教信众中非常普遍。据官方统计显示,这里将近四分之三的女性接受过女性割礼。各个地区的做法不同,但一般需要对阴蒂进行部分或全部切除。

最严重的一种做法是阴部扣锁法,人们切除阴唇,并缝合阴部,只为释放尿和经血留一个小孔。

这里主流的文化信仰认为,割礼是婚姻和生育的一个重要前提条件。许多社区的人们认为,没有接受过割礼的女性不能被视为女人。有人认为割礼是为了防止放荡的行为。而另一个普遍的观念则是,没被切割过的妇女往往不善持家。

根据世界卫生组织的研究,进行过生殖器切割的女性更容易患不孕症、阴道囊肿,以及膀胱和尿道反复地感染。女性生殖器切割还会增加分娩并发症和新生儿的死亡风险。它对身体没有任何益处可言。

全世界有100至140万女童和妇女生活在女性生殖器切割的恶果之中。据估计,非洲有9200万年龄在10岁或以上的女孩已经经历了某种形式的生殖器官切割。

态度的改变

许多母亲担心,如果她们的女儿不做割礼就没办法达到结婚的要求,也不会得到乡亲的认可。实际上,女性割礼的支持者们通常用社会风俗来做借口。但这样的态度在一点点改变,埃塞俄比亚有四个区已经公开决定不再实行割礼。

宗教领袖玛吉塔一直在运用自己的影响力宣传放弃割礼。这次他在泛非议会上说,根据圣经,割礼只适用于男孩,不适用于女孩。

泛非议会执行主席阿纳布(Anab Abdulkadir)也是埃塞俄比亚议会的议员,她指出理解割礼产生的根源是非常重要的。

她说:“需求从哪里而来?是男人。如果没有需求,就不会有供给。我们必须要从法律上消除这样的需求。”

“并非一成不变”

联合国儿童基金会驻埃塞尔比亚代表泰德.柴班(Ted Chaiban)表示,需要加快并协调努力,以废除非洲的女性割礼。

柴班先生说:“有令人鼓舞的迹象显示,埃塞尔比亚进行女性割礼的人数正在减少。我们认为这次泛非议会妇女核心委员会的访问,是对埃塞尔比亚和整个非洲迈向加强合作对抗女性生殖器官切割传统的重大促进和协作的机会。

南非议员法提玛.哈斋格(Fatima Hajaig)补充说:“文化的行为模式不是一成不变的,他们是一天天地发展起来的。我们的文化价值体系随着我们的前进而发生变化。我不能接受那种‘以文化的名义’的说法。”

联合国儿童基金会埃塞俄比亚办事处与合作伙伴一起,一直致力于废除女性割礼的多种倡议努力,包括培训社区对话辅导员和通过各种媒体传播宣传教育材料。这次议会代表团的访问是朝这一目标迈进的最新努力。


 

 

视频(英文)

2009年8月28日:联合国儿童基金会记者娜塔莎.伊寇利报道非洲女议员前往埃塞尔比亚寻求终止切割女性生殖器官的做法。
 视频   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

相关链接

搜索

Ethiopia

In Ethiopia, African women parliamentarians condemn female genital mutilation

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Ethiopia/2009/Zeleman
Aregash Agegnehu, shown here with her daughter, is a former practitioner of female genital mutilation/cutting who has renounced it.

By Tezeta Tulloch

ADDIS ABABA, Ethiopia, 14 September 2009 – In a room filled with visiting dignitaries and members of the Ethiopian National Assembly, Tadeletch Shanko’s voice was whisper-quiet as she talked about the difficult subject of female genital mutilation/cutting, or FGM/C.

VIDEO: Watch now

Ms. Shanko had performed FGM/C on girls for the last 15 years and underwent the procedure herself as a girl, with devastating consequences.

“I lost seven of my nine children in childbirth,” she said. “Because of the scarring I sustained, I was not elastic enough. All seven of them suffocated inside my womb.”

Raising awareness

Ms. Shanko is no longer a supporter of FGM/C, as a result of a series of community dialogues on the physical and psychological harm caused by the practice.

She shared her story with the members of the Pan-African Parliament (PAP) Women’s Caucus, which convened in Addis Ababa late last month to assess the state of FGM/C across Africa – and to learn from the strategies that Ethiopia and other countries have put in place to eliminate it.

A key objective of the visit was to mobilize parliamentarian and state support for the elimination of harmful traditional practices, with a particular emphasis on female genital mutilation. Also on the agenda were ways to raise public awareness of FGM/C through the media; customary laws to introduce sanctions against the practice; and potential avenues for collaboration among various stakeholders in society.

Powerful testimony

The parliamentarians heard powerful testimony from women and men whose lives had been tragically affected by FGM/C.

For Aregash Agegnehu, female circumcision – as the practice is also known – had never been a question of choice. “I was circumcised when I was a child. My daughter had to be cut as well,” she said. “It was inevitable.”

But since participating in in-depth community dialogues on the subject, Ms. Agegnehu no longer believes that FGM/C is a requisite part of being a woman.

“When I started engaging in community dialogue, I came to understand the harm of FGM, and now I have changed,” she said.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Ethiopia/2009/Zeleman
Hon. Anab Abdulkadir, Pan-African Parliament Acting Chairperson and a member of the Ethiopian Parliament, underwent FGM/C as a child. She is now an outspoken opponent of the practice.

Cultural beliefs

Female genital mutilation is widely practiced by Muslims and Christians alike in Ethiopia, and official statistics suggest that almost three-quarters of women here have undergone the procedure. Forms vary widely by region but generally entail either a partial or total removal of the clitoris.

In the most severe form, infibulation, the labia are removed and the genitals sewn shut – barring a small hole for the release of urine and menstrual blood.

The predominant cultural belief is that circumcision is an essential pre-condition of marriage and motherhood. In many communities, an uncircumcised female cannot be recognized as a woman. Some feel that circumcision is a safeguard against promiscuity. Another common belief is that uncircumcised women tend to be inept at carrying out common household duties.

According to the World Health Organization, women who have undergone FGM/C are more likely to suffer from infertility, develop vaginal cysts and have recurrent bladder and urinary tract infections. FGM/C also increases the risk of childbirth complications and newborn deaths. It has no proven health benefits.

Worldwide, between 100 and 140 million girls and women are living with the consequences of FGM/C. In Africa, an estimated 92 million girls aged 10 and over have undergone some form of genital cutting.

Changed attitudes

Many mothers fear that, without circumcision, their daughters will not fulfil the criteria for marriage or gain full acceptance in the community. Indeed, supporters of FGM/C often cite the fact that it is a long-held social norm. But such attitudes are changing. By the end of 2008, four of Ethiopia’s districts had publicly pledged to abandon FGM/C.

Mergieta Temesgen Ashebir, a religious leader who uses his influence to speak out against the practice, also spoke at the PAP conference. “According to the bible,” he said, “circumcision is only for boys, not for girls. There is no verse that states otherwise.”

Hon. Anab Abdulkadir, PAP Acting Chairperson and a member of the Ethiopian Parliament, pointed out the importance of understanding the root causes of FGM/C

“The demand is coming from where?” she asked. “It is coming from men. If there wasn’t a demand, there wouldn’t have been any supply. We have to … outlaw that demand.”

‘Not cast in stone’

UNICEF Representative in Ethiopia Ted Chaiban voiced the need to accelerate and harmonize efforts to abolish FGM/C in Africa.

“There are encouraging signs that the practice of FGM in Ethiopia is declining,” he noted. “We see this mission of the Pan-African Parliament Women’s Caucus as a major opportunity to catalyze and synergize efforts in Ethiopia, and across Africa, towards an intensified and coordinated affront on FGM.”

Added Hon. Fatima Hajaig, a South African parliamentarian: “Cultural norms are not cast in stone. They develop from day to day. Our cultural value system changes as we go along. This business of ‘in the name of culture’ – I can’t accept that.”

UNICEF Ethiopia has been collaborating with partners on a number of advocacy efforts toward abandonment of FGM/C, including training community-dialogue facilitators and disseminating educational materials in various media. The parliamentary mission is the most recent effort in this direction.


 

 

Video

28 August 2009:
UNICEF correspondent Natacha Ikoli reports on the mission to Ethiopia by African women parliamentarians seeking to end female genital mutilation/cutting.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search