埃塞俄比亚

副执行主任呼吁立即采取行动回应埃塞俄比亚营养不良的情况

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Ethiopia/2008/Getachew
联合国儿童基金会副执行主任希尔德.约翰松,在埃塞俄比亚古莱支区附近的联合国儿童基金会支持的吉姆巴塔.坦巴洛中心,同有两个患严重营养不良的孩子的母亲交谈。

英蒂里雅斯.吉塔裘报道

埃塞俄比亚古莱支区,2008年6月25日。当穆巴雷克来到位于埃塞俄比亚受干旱影响的古莱支区的古诺.阿利梅纳医疗站时仅有3.5公斤重。他的体重仅是初生婴儿的平均体重,但作为一个蹒跚学步的幼儿,他的重量是同龄幼儿体重的1/3不到。他被诊断为严重急性营养不良。

然而,穆巴雷克是幸运的;他的母亲每周带他参加联合国儿童基金会支持的食疗喂养方案的治疗,该方案是为了挽救严重营养不良儿童的生命而设立的。他没有需要临床治疗的并发症,可进行家庭为基础的护理,接受每周定量的即食治疗性食品。

但是穆巴雷克的孪生兄弟就没有这样幸运了。他在母亲能得到帮助之前就死了。

呼吁国际的帮助

儿童是最易受到营养缺乏伤害的群体,当家中没有足够的食品时他们是首当其冲的人。如果他们不接受适当的治疗,患严重急性营养不良的儿童中,25%至50%有死亡的风险。

在最近对埃塞俄比亚南部受干旱影响的地区的访问中,联合国儿童基金会副执行主任希尔德.约翰逊参观了古莱支区。她呼吁立即帮助喂养营养不良的儿童和他们的家人,并以此作为她此行的结束。

“受灾最严重地区的情况是十分严重的,”约翰逊女士说。“如果不提供紧急的帮助,许多地区仍有大量的儿童身处死亡的危险。该国政府和合作伙伴正在尽最大努力予以帮助,但是需求未以适当的速度得到满足。需要提供更多的资源。” 

UNICEF Photo
一名母亲和她患严重营养不良的孩子在吉姆巴塔.坦巴洛联合国儿童基金会支持的食疗喂养中心,那里是埃塞俄比亚旱灾和粮食危机最严重的地区之一。

需要迅速反应

解决受干旱影响的儿童的营养之需仅靠食疗喂养是不够的。回家后,如果穆巴雷克的母亲没有食品喂养他,他仍有可能重新陷入营养不良。

现在,医疗站有足够的供应品来喂养穆巴雷克。然而,要满足受干旱影响地区的患严重营养不良的儿童的需要,联合国儿童基金会可能面临物资短缺。

联合国儿童基金会是埃塞俄比亚食疗喂养产品的主要提供者。该机构及其合作伙伴 — 包括其他联合国机构和非政府组织 — 现正紧密与埃塞俄比亚政府合作,对危机作出迅速和有效的反应。

‘没有食物’

埃塞俄比亚政府估计,124个受干旱影响地区的7万5千名5岁以下儿童患严重营养不良,460万人急需人道主义援助。

联合国儿童基金会需要2800万美元的资金,以满足整个受影响地区儿童和妇女的迫切需要,以及2130万美元用于在该国广泛的薄弱地区,用于缓解灾难和防备灾难的工作。

“我们同母亲和父亲,祖母和祖父以及该地区的所有人进行交谈,”约翰逊女士说。这个画面已经被他们所证实,并传达出了一个清晰的讯息:没有食品。援助需求广泛地实施,并要马上开始实施。”


 

 

视频(英文)

2008年6月19日:
联合国儿童基金会记者克里斯.内尔斯就联合国儿童基金会执行副主任希尔德.约翰松到访受干旱蹂躏的埃塞俄比亚进行了报道。
 视频 高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Ethiopia

Deputy Executive Director calls for immediate action on malnutrition in Ethiopia

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Ethiopia/2008/Getachew
UNICEF Deputy Executive Director Hilde Johnson speaks with the mother of two severely malnourished children at a UNICEF-supported centre in Kembata Tembaro, near Ethiopia's Gurage Zone.

By Indrias Getachew

GURAGE ZONE, Ethiopia, 25 June 2008 – Mubarek weighed barely 3.5 kg when he arrived at the Kuno Alimena Health Post in Ethiopia's drought-affected Gurage Zone. His weight would be average for a newborn baby, but as a toddler, he weighs approximately one-third of what he should. His diagnosis is severe acute malnutrition.

Still, Mubarek was lucky; his mother brought him to the weekly UNICEF-supported therapeutic feeding programme that has been set up to save the lives of severely malnourished children. He did not have medical complications that would require clinical treatment and was able to begin home-based care, receiving weekly rations of ready-to-use therapeutic foods.

But Mubarek's twin brother was not so fortunate. He died even before his mother could get help.

International appeal for help

Children are the most vulnerable to nutritional deficits and the first to succumb when there is not enough food at home. Those with severe acute malnutrition have a 25 to 50 per cent chance of dying if they don’t receive proper treatment.

UNICEF Deputy Executive Director Hilde F. Johnson visited Guraghe Zone during her recent trip to drought-affected areas of southern Ethiopia. She concluded her trip by calling for immediate help to feed malnourished children and their families

“The situation in the hardest hit areas is extremely serious,” said Ms. Johnson. “Children are now at risk of dying in numbers in several areas if help is not provided urgently. The government and partners are doing their utmost to help, but needs are not being met with adequate speed. More resources need to be provided.”

UNICEF Image
A mother and her severely malnourished child at a UNICEF-supported therapeutic feeding centre in Kembata Tembaro, one of the areas hardest hit areas by drought and the food crisis in Ethiopia.

Swift response needed

Therapeutic feeding alone will not be enough to address the nutritional needs of children affected by the drought. If Mubarek's mother does not have enough food to feed him when he returns home, chances are that he will slip back into malnutrition.

For now, the health post has enough supplies to feed Mubarek. However, UNICEF could face a shortage of supplies to meet the needs of severely malnourished children in drought-affected areas.

UNICEF is the main provider of therapeutic feeding products in Ethiopia. The agency and its partners – including other UN agencies and non-governmental organizations – are working closely with the Government of Ethiopia to respond swiftly and effectively to the crisis.

‘There is no food’

The Government of Ethiopia estimates that 75,000 children under the age of five in 124 drought-affected districts are severely malnourished, and that 4.6 million people are in immediate need of humanitarian aid.

UNICEF needs $28 million in funding to meet the immediate needs of children and women throughout the affected areas and $21.3 million for mitigation and preparedness in broader vulnerable areas of the country.

“We talked to mothers and fathers, grandmothers and grandfathers and all actors in the field,” said Ms. Johnson. “This picture was confirmed by all of them and a clear message was conveyed: There is no food. The assistance needs to be taken to scale and it has to happen urgently.”


 

 

Video

19 June 2008:
UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports on UNICEF Deputy Executive Director Hilde Johnson’s trip to drought-ravaged Ethiopia.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search