埃塞俄比亚

联合国儿童基金会呼吁增加资源,以帮助埃塞俄比亚应对营养不良

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/ HQ08-0451/Tegene
一名妇女在位于奥罗莫族州希拉诺区的罗皮天主教堂喂养中心,给她患严重营养不良的蹒跚学步的幼儿用填喂式食疗牛奶喂养。

埃塞俄比亚希拉罗区,2008年6月2日。联合国人道主义事务协调办公室估计在埃塞俄比亚有17.6万儿童急需食疗照顾以医治严重的营养不良。由于粮食欠收,这个数目可能还会上升。

估计在未来3个多月,有340万埃塞俄比亚人需要粮食援助,6百万儿童面临营养不良的危险。

周二将在罗马举行联合国粮食峰会,世界粮食计划署呼吁1.47亿美元应对饥饿。

对儿童的影响

不久前的一个早上,300多名儿童和他们的家人在罗皮天主教教堂的庭院内围成了一个宽的弓形。他们等待领取按比例分配的挽救生命的食疗牛奶(F-75)。

好几个雨季连续无雨、食品的价格飞涨、以及缺乏预防资源和反应机制给在埃塞俄比亚干旱地区生活的儿童和家庭带来了灾难性影响。

“玉米作物欠收后,我们什么吃的也没有,”一位住在罗皮的母亲杜莱提.德基辅说。“他们说你会听,所以我把我的经历告诉你。我的肚子饿。我的宝宝生病了。我们需要帮助。”

填补能力的差距

很多埃塞俄比亚儿童需要紧急治疗护理,许多人都在像罗皮这样的中心接受治疗。但罗皮已经饱和,有增无减的儿童和家庭分流到了该国各地的食疗中心。

“患严重营养不良的儿童,随时都有死亡的危险”联合国儿童基金会驻埃塞俄比亚副代表维维安.范.斯特德费穆说,“目前,非政府组织在55个瓦雷达斯[区]展开工作,他们和政府共同提供的容纳量可照顾约40%至50%的儿童 — 照顾剩余儿童的能力还有很大的差距。 ”

希拉罗区的农民是340万埃塞俄比亚人受干旱影响的人中的一部分,他们并不包括在国家安全网络方案中,该方案每年为8百万长期依赖粮食援助的埃塞俄比亚人分发供应品。虽然大雨已回到了希拉罗,社区成员要实现自给自足还需很长时间。他们需要紧急生存援助,直到下一个收获季节的到来。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/ HQ08-0451/Tegene
在位于罗皮天主教堂的喂养中心的帐篷里,一名患营养不良的女孩儿坐在母亲腿上。患严重营养不良的儿童正在食用联合国儿童基金会提供的食疗牛奶。

需要额外的治疗食品

罗皮庭院外,正在对重症急性营养不良的门诊病人进行治疗。营养不良的儿童同他们的父母一起来接受营养状况检查,领取一周定量的现成食疗食品plumpy'nut 。

治疗性牛奶配方和plumpy'nut的使用是用来预防全埃塞俄比亚成千上万名儿童的死亡,但资源迅速萎缩。追加了近2000公吨的plumpy'nut用于未来三个多月挽救饥饿的儿童所需。

 “五年前,当我们面临同样的干旱和营养紧急的情况下,我们只有很有限的能力作出回应,我们失去了许多儿童,”联合国儿童基金会驻埃塞俄比亚代表本约恩.郎奎外斯特说。“今天,多亏了确保儿童不因可预防的情况死亡的承诺和行动,在埃塞俄比亚卫生部领导下,在世界粮食计划署和联合国儿童基金会的支持下,我们有能力作出回应,即我们能够拯救成千上万的儿童的生命。然而,为了这个目标的实现,我们需要资源。”

初步的响应令人鼓舞

由于联合国儿童基金会和其他组织呼吁世界关注埃塞俄比亚的紧急情况,捐助者们已经开始作出回应。欧盟人道主义援助部门捐献了180万美元。埃塞俄比亚的捐助者设立了受到保护的综合应急系统,即人道主义反应基金。到目前为止,他们已经捐了500万美元。

这个初步的响应是令人鼓舞的,为了避免更大的灾难还需要更多的资助。目前的估计,对埃塞俄比亚儿童紧急之需的回应所需的资金大约是5000万美元。

然而,如果局势继续恶化,这个数字还可能增加。


 

 

视频(英文)

2008年5月:
联合国儿童基金会记者娜塔莎.伊柯里对为埃塞俄比亚患严重营养不良的儿童提供援助的工作进行了报道。
 视频 高速 | 低速

联合国儿童基金会记者安乌丽卡.奥卡福对埃塞俄比亚的粮食危机的受害者的情况进行了报道,共享他们的经历。
 视频 高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Ethiopia

UNICEF makes plea for additional resources to help stave off malnutrition in Ethiopia

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/ HQ08-0451/Tegene
A woman spoon-feeds therapeutic milk to her severely malnourished toddler at a feeding centre on the grounds of the Ropi Catholic Church in Sirano District, located in the Oromia Region of Ethiopia.

SIRARO DISRICT, Ethiopia, 2 June 2008 – UNICEF estimates that 126,000 children are in need of urgent therapeutic care for severe malnutrition in Ethiopia, and this number is likely to climb as more harvests fail.

The agency also estimates that 3.4 million Ethiopians will need food aid over the next three months, and that 6 million children are in danger of malnutrition.

A United Nations food summit to address the global food crisis will begin in Rome on Tuesday. The World Food Programme projects that $147 million will be needed to feed children at risk in Ethiopia.

Impact on children
One recent morning, over 300 children and their families formed a wide arch across the compound of the Ropi Catholic Church here in Ethiopia’s Siraro District. They were waiting to receive their rations of life saving therapeutic milk (F-75).

Consecutive failed rainy seasons, steep hikes in food prices and a lack of resources for prevention and response mechanisms are all having a devastating impact on children and families living in the drought-prone districts of Ethiopia.

“We had nothing to eat after the corn crop failed,” said Dureti Degefi, one of the mothers at Ropi. “I am telling you our story because they say you will listen. My stomach is hungry. And my baby is sick. We need help.”

Filling the ‘capacity gap’
Many of the Ethiopian children in need of immediate therapeutic care are receiving treatment at centres like the Ropi facility. But Ropi is already at maximum capacity, and the stream of children and families coming into therapeutic feeding centres across the country continues unabated.

“A child with severe malnutrition is in immediate danger of death,” said UNICEF’s Deputy Representative in Ethiopia, Viviane Van Steirteghem. “For the moment, NGOs are working in 55 woredas [districts], and they are, together with government, providing the capacity to take care of about 40 to 50 per cent – but there is a big capacity gap to take care of the remaining children,”

The farmers of Siraro District are among the more than 3.4 million Ethiopians affected by the drought who are not covered by the national safety net programme, which distributes food aid to 8 million Ethiopians each year. And while the rains have returned to Siraro, community members are still months away from being self-sufficient. They will need immediate assistance to survive until the next harvest.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/ HQ08-0451/Tegene
An Ethiopian girl sits in her mother’s lap inside a tented feeding centre on the grounds of the Ropi Catholic Church. Severely malnourished children are being fed UNICEF-supplied therapeutic milk.
Additional therapeutic food needed
Outside of the Ropi compound, outpatient treatment for severe acute undernutrition is under way. Malnourished children come with their parents to have their nutritional status checked and to receive a week’s ration of the ready-to-use therapeutic food, Plumpy’nut.

The use of therapeutic milk formulas and Plumpy’nut is preventing the deaths of thousands of children across Ethiopia, but resources are dwindling rapidly. Close to 2,000 additional metric tonnes of Plumpy’nut will be needed over the next three months.

“Five years ago, when we were facing a similar drought and nutrition emergency, we had very little capacity on the ground to respond, and we lost many children,” said UNICEF Representative in Ethiopia Björn Ljungqvist. “Today, thanks to the commitment and actions to ensure that children should not die of preventable causes, led by the Ethiopian Ministry of Health and supported by the World Food Programme and UNICEF, we have the capacity to respond and can save the lives of thousands of children. To do this, however, we need resources.”

Initial response is encouraging
Since UNICEF and others called the world’s attention to the emergency situation in Ethiopia, donors have begun responding. The European Commission’s Humanitarian Aid Department has conributed $1.8 million, and so far $5 million has come from the Humanitarian Response Fund, a pooled emergency system set up by donors in Ethiopia. In addition, the UN’s Central Emergency Response Fund is providing funds for the purchase of supplementary corn Soya blend.

This initial response is encouraging, but much more is needed in order to avert a wider disaster. The current estimate of the funds required to respond to the emergency needs of children in Ethiopia stands at $50 million.

If the situation continues to deteriorate, however, that figure could grow.

 

 

Video

May 2008:
UNICEF correspondent Anwulika Okafor reports on efforts to bring aid to severely malnourished children in Ethiopia.
 VIDEO  high | low

UNICEF correspondent Anwulika Okafor reports on victims of the Ethiopian food crisis who share their stories.
 VIDEO  high | low

 Broadcast-quality video on demand from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search