Égypte

Actualité

Le soutien psycho-social aide à soulager une jeune famille réfugiée à la frontière de l’Égypte et de la Libye
SALLOUM, Égypte, 29 avril 2011 – Adam (ce n’est pas son vrai nom), sa femme, sa belle-mère et ses quatre petites filles ont fui la ville libyenne de Benghazi à la fin du mois dernier.

À la frontière avec l’Égypte, l'UNICEF apporte des secours aux milliers de familles qui fuient les violences en Libye
SALLOUM, Égypte, 4 avril 2011 – Fuyant la crise en Libye, des dizaines de milliers de familles continuent d'arriver au poste de Salloum, à la frontière égypto-libyenne. Certaines ont voyagé pendant des jours avec peu de nourriture et d'eau, rencontrant bien des difficultés pour regagner leur pays d'origine.

L'UNICEF et ses partenaires accélèrent leur aide humanitaire en réponse à la crise en Libye

NEW YORK, États-Unis, 3 mars 2011 – Comme des dizaines de milliers de personnes fuient vers l'Égypte et la Tunisie pour échapper à l'escalade du conflit en Libye, l'UNICEF envoie des secours d'urgence pour répondre aux besoins urgents des femmes et des enfants affectés par la crise libyenne. Dans le cadre de ses efforts d'urgence, l'organisation lance un appel de fonds pour un financement additionnel de 7,2 millions de dollars.

Les jeunes Égyptiens jouent un rôle capital dans la défense des droits et les décisions sur l’avenir
Le Caire, Égypte, 2 mars 2011 – Passionnés, mûrs, dignes, mobilisateurs, tels sont quelques-uns des mots utilisés pour décrire les jeunes qui ont pris la tête du récent soulèvement en Égypte. Leurs actions montrent une nouvelle génération de jeunes qui savent prendre des initiatives pour défendre leurs droits et leur dignité.

Une aide psycho-sociale pour les enfants rattrapés par la violence de la rue en Égypte
LE CAIRE, Égypte, 22 février 2011 - L'UNICEF a lancé un programme de soutien psychosocial pour les enfants qui ont été affectés par la violence pendant l'insurrection en Égypte les deux dernières semaines.

En Égypte, un forum met en lumière le problème de la traite des êtres humains
NEW YORK, États-Unis, le 30 décembre 2010 – Susan Bissell, directrice de la Protection de l’enfance à l’UNICEF, Philippe Duamelle, Représentant de l’UNICEF en Égypte et l’Ambassadeur itinérant régional Mahmoud Kabil ont retrouvé 300 dirigeants du monde des affaires et de la société civile ainsi que des célébrités pour un forum qui s’est tenu à Louxor (Égypte) dans le courant du mois de décembre afin de mettre en lumière ce fléau qu’est la traite des êtres humains et faire des recommandations pour prévenir une telle pratique.

Dans l'Egypte rurale, l'enseignement parvient jusqu'aux filles dans une école amie des enfants
LE CAIRE, Egypte, 16 août 2010 – Yusriya, 13 ans, porte avec fierté la couronne que lui a faite son professeur. Un sourire confiant traverse son visage alors qu'elle commence en classe son exposé sur l'assainissement.

L'Ambassadeur de Bonne volonté Régional Mahmoud Kabil apporte son soutien à un hôpital égyptien assurant le service de Rafah
BANDE DE GAZA, Territoire palestinien occupé, 17 février 2009 – L’acteur égyptien et l’ambassadeur de bonne volonté de l’UNICEF pour le Moyen orient et l’Afrique du Nord Mahmoud Kabil ont  visité la semaine dernière  l'hôpital El-Arish en Egypte, près de Rafah, à la frontière avec Gaza.

Le projet d’assainissement en Haute-Égypte accorde des moyens aux enfants pour protéger leur environnement
SOHAG, Haute-Égypte, 27 mars 2008 – À l’école Tawayel El-Sharqiyya, Fatima, 10 ans, est un leader naturel que ses pairs admirent. Lorsque Fatima parle haut et fort du besoin urgent de commencer à protéger l’environnement, les autres élèves écoutent. Elle espère qu’ils suivront également son exemple.

La campagne pour l'éducation à l'hygiène a pour but de lutter contre la grippe aviaire en Egypte
MARAZIQ, Egypte, 9 avril 2007 – Pour les habitants du village de Maraziq, situé à environ trente kilomètres au sud du Caire, élever des poulets et des canards est une chose normale de la vie quotidienne.

En Egypte, la Directrice générale de l’UNICEF effectue une visite des programmes axés sur les enfants
NEW YORK, Etats-Unis, 20 février 2007 – Mme Ann M. Veneman,  Directrice générale de l’UNICEF, a salué les progrès accomplis par l’Egypte vers la réalisation des droits des enfants, cela au terme d’une visite de trois jours dans le pays.

A la reconquête de l'enfance perdue : en Egypte, l'UNICEF et ses partenaires assurent la protection des enfants qui travaillent.
ALEXANDRIE, Egypte, 11 avril 2006 – C’est le milieu de la matinée dans un des quartiers populaires bouillonnants de vie d'Alexandrie.  Dans une petite blanchisserie, Ahmed, 14 ans, est déjà au travail. Cela fait un an qu'il travaille là, un an qu’il a rejoint la cohorte grandissante d'enfants égyptiens – on estime qu'ils sont 2,7 millions âgés de 6 à 14 ans – forcés de quitter l'école et jetés dans le monde du travail par la pauvreté ou d'autres circonstances.

L’Egypte est maintenant libérée de la poliomyélite
LE CAIRE, Egypte, 1er février 2006 – La poliomyélite et l’Egypte sont de vieilles connaissances. Les fouilles archéologiques ont montré que, aux temps des pharaons déjà, les enfants vivant sur les berges du Nil étaient handicapés par la maladie. C’est une des raisons pour lesquelles l’annonce d’aujourd’hui --  l’Egypte est libérée de la poliomyélite – revêt une telle importance.

Une nouvelle approche pour les enfants des rues égyptiennes
Le Caire, Egypte - Au milieu des foules tourbillonnantes des grandes villes égyptiennes, on remarque à peine les petites silhouettes des enfants qui ont élu domicile dans les rues. Adel, un jeune garçon au visage ouvert et intelligent est l’un d’entre eux. Il a quitté la maison à neuf ans pour échapper à une vie de misère et de violence.

De nouveaux centres de conseil et de dépistage VIH/SIDA ouvrent leurs portes en Egypte
Le Caire, 18 Octobre 2005 – Pour la plupart des Egyptiens, le SIDA est un fléau qui ne touche que les autres. Si la maladie a déjà causé des millions de décès dans le monde entier, son impact en Egypte est demeuré minime, du moins, en apparence.

Le Japon accorde un don de 3,7 millions de dollars pour contribuer à l’éradication de la polio en Égypte
LE CAIRE, 1er septembre 2005 – Alors que l’Indonésie s’acharne à endiguer une récente flambée épidémique de polio, l’Égypte est en train d’achever l’éradication de cette maladie, qui autrefois rendait invalides des milliers d’enfants chaque année.

Lutter contre la mutilation génitale féminine
Manfalout, le 15 septembre 2004 - La première fois qu'Awatef Ramadan a été témoin de ce qu'on appelle la mutilation génitale féminine (MGF), elle avait six ans. Elle vivait alors dans le sud de l'Egypte, dans la petite ville de Manfalout.


 

 

 

 Version imprimable

Recherche

Egypt

Newsline

In Egypt, preschool brings a sense of normalcy to Syrian refugee children
CAIRO, Egypt, 22 September 2014 – As his kindergarten teacher coaxes Oudi to talk about his favourite activity, the 4-year-old twists his fingers and stares straight past her, fixing his large eyes on something only he can see.

Podcast #38: The role of education in empowering young Egyptians to shape their future
NEW YORK, USA, 2 May 2011 – The 18 days of protests in Egypt at the beginning of the year led to the fall of Hosni Mubarak’s 30-year-old regime. Although thousands of people spent days and nights protesting at Tahrir Square in Cairo, the uprising became known as ‘The Youth Revolution’ because of the prominent role of young activists.

Psycho-social support helps heal a young family at the Egypt-Libya border
SALLOUM, Egypt, 29 April 2011 – Adam (not his real name), his wife, mother-in-law and four young daughters fled the Libyan city of Benghazi late last month.

UNICEF provides relief at the Egyptian border as thousands of families flee violence in Libya
SALLOUM, Egypt, 4 April 2011 – Escaping the crisis in Libya, tens of thousands of families have been arriving at the Salloum crossing on the Egypt-Libya border. Some have been travelling for days with little food and water as they struggle to head back to their countries of origin.

UNICEF and partners accelerate humanitarian response to Libyan crisis
NEW YORK, USA, 3 March 2011 – As tens of thousands flee into Egypt and Tunisia to escape the escalating conflict in Libya, UNICEF is sending relief supplies to help meet the immediate needs of women and children at risk. In support of this emergency effort, the organization is appealing for $7.2 million in additional funding.

Egypt's young people play critical role in defending rights and shaping the future
CAIRO, Egypt, 2 March 2011 – Passionate, mature, dignified, inspirational. These are just some of the words used to describe the youths who led the recent uprising in Egypt. Their actions show a new generation of young people who are pro-active in defending their rights and dignity.

Psycho-social support for children caught in violence on Egypt's streets
CAIRO, Egypt, 22 FEBRUARY 2011 – UNICEF has launched a psycho-social support programme for children who were affected by violence during the uprising in Egypt in recent weeks.

In Egypt, forum highlights the problem of human trafficking
NEW YORK, USA, 30 December 2010 - UNICEF Child Protection Chief Susan Bissell, Egypt Representative Philippe Duamelle and Regional Goodwill Ambassador Mahmoud Kabil joined 300 business and civil society leaders and celebrities at a forum in Luxor, Egypt, earlier this December, to highlight the scourge of human trafficking and consider recommendations on how to prevent the practice.

Education reaches girls at a child-friendly school in rural Egypt
CAIRO, Egypt, 16 August 2010 – Yusriya, 13, wears her teacher-made crown with pride. A confident smile spreads across her face as she begins her class presentation on sanitation.

Regional Goodwill Ambassador Mahmoud Kabil lends support to hospital serving Gaza
GAZA STRIP, Occupied Palestinian Territory, 17 February 2009 – Egyptian actor and UNICEF Regional Goodwill Ambassador for the Middle East and North Africa Mahmoud Kabil paid a special visit last week to El-Arish hospital in Egypt, near the Rafah border crossing to Gaza.

Egyptian children take the lead in improving hygiene practices
SOHAG GOVERNORATE, Egypt, 3 Nov 2008 – Egyptian schoolchildren celebrated the first-ever Global Handwashing Day on 15 October. As part of the International Year of Sanitation, this worldwide annual observance is designed to raise awareness about the benefits of handwashing with soap.

Sanitation project in Upper Egypt empowers children to protect their environment
SOHAG, Upper Egypt, 27 March 2008 – Admired by her peers at the Tawayel El-Sharqiyya School, Fatima, 10, is a natural leader. When Fatima speaks out about the urgent need to begin protecting the environment, the other students listen. She hopes they will also follow her example.

Hygiene education campaign battles spread of avian influenza in Egypt
MARAZIQ, Egypt, 9 April 2007 – For the citizens of the village of Maraziq, about 30 km south of Cairo, keeping chickens and ducks has long been a normal part of everyday life.

UNICEF Executive Director visits child-centred projects in Egypt
NEW YORK, USA, 20 February 2007 – UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman has commended Egypt’s progress towards advancing child rights at the end of a three-day visit to the country.

Egypt joins the global AIDS campaign in a bid to keep HIV prevalence low
CAIRO, Egypt, 11 December 2006 – Egypt has become the latest country to join UNICEF’s global UNITE FOR CHILDREN UNITE AGAINST AIDS campaign. The occasion was marked by a gala evening involving some of the Arab world’s leading celebrities, who gathered with street children and community leaders to raise public awareness about HIV/AIDS.

Global partners meet in Cairo to advance girls’ education and early childhood care
NEW YORK, USA, 13 November 2006 – Education officials from Egypt and several other countries have joined forces with non-governmental organizations, UN agencies and independent experts at a conference in Cairo to promote early childhood care and put an end to gender disparities in education.

Reclaiming childhood: UNICEF and partners protect child labourers in Egypt
ALEXANDRIA, Egypt, 11 April 2006 – It is mid-morning in one of Alexandria's bustling working-class neighbourhoods. In a small ironing and dry-cleaning shop, 14-year-old Ahmed is already hard at work. It has been one year since he began working here, joining the growing numbers of Egyptian children – an estimated 2.7 million between the ages of 6 and 14 – driven out of school and into the workforce by poverty or other circumstances.

Egypt is now polio-free
CAIRO, Egypt, 1 February 2006 – Polio and Egypt go back a long way. Archaeological evidence suggests that children living along the banks of the river Nile were being disabled by the disease even in pharaonic times. That’s one reason why today’s announcement – that Egypt has been declared polio-free – is such a landmark.

A new approach to Egypt’s street children
CAIRO, Egypt - Among the swirling crowds of Cairo, one hardly notices the small figures of children who call the streets their home. Adel is one of them. He left home at nine to escape a life of misery and violence.

Egypt's first shelter for young mothers living on the street
CAIRO, Egypt, 8 November 2005 - Just a few months ago, the only place 16-year old Hadir could call home was the crowded and dangerous streets of Cairo.  On the run from problems with her family, Hadir found herself alone, vulnerable – and pregnant.

New HIV/AIDS counselling and testing centres open in Egypt
CAIRO, 18 October 2005 - To most Egyptians, AIDS is a problem for other people to worry about. The disease has already claimed millions of lives worldwide, but – on the surface at least – its impact in Egypt has been minimal.

Japan donates $3.7 million to help eradicate polio in Egypt
CAIRO, 1 September 2005 – As Indonesia strives to contain a recent polio outbreak, Egypt is in the last stages of freeing itself from the disease, which once crippled thousands of children here every year.

UNICEF Deputy Executive Director Rima Salah visits Egypt
CAIRO, Egypt, 20 April 2005 - A visit to Egypt last week by UNICEF Deputy Executive Director Rima Salah underlined the vital relationship between the children's agency and key players in the Arab and Muslim world.

New UNICEF Egypt website
Egypt, 30 November 2004 - A brand-new website created by UNICEF's office in Egypt is now available.

Battling the scourge of female genital mutilation
MANFALOUT, 15 September 2004 – Awatef Ramadan's first harrowing glimpse of the practice known as female genital mutilation or cutting (FGM/C) came at the age of six, when she was growing up in the southern Egyptian town of Manfalout.

Improving health services for children in Egypt
BENI SHOQAIR, 12 August 2004 – She may be only 23 years of age, but Tahany Mohamed is already someone whom the children of Beni Shoqair have reason to thank.


 

 

 

 Printer friendly

New enhanced search