刚果民主共和国

亲善大使米亚.法罗考察北基伍省灾后紧急救援工作

UNICEF Photo: Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow is visiting conflict-affected North Kivu
© UNICEF/NYHQ2008-1262/ Asselin
联合国儿童基金会亲善大使米亚.法罗探访位于刚果民主共和国东部戈马郊区的基巴提国内流离失所难民营里的儿童。

刚果民主共和国北基伍省,2008年12月12日 – 联合国儿童基金会亲善大使米亚.法罗正在对刚果东部受冲突影响的北基伍省进行为期三天的访问。

她此行的目的是了解最近的战斗所带来的毁灭性的影响,据估计约30万人在过去的三个月中流离失所。 目前,国内流离失所人口的总数已达近一百万,占北基伍省总人口的20%。

“我来到这里是要更好的了解人们如何应对这场危机,他们还需要做哪些工作。”法罗女士说,“我很欣慰能与非政府组织同行。联合国儿童基金会正尽其所能地帮助大家,而这给了他们希望。 如果不和这些机构合作的话,你可能会感到更加沮丧,因为你还能做什么呢?”

儿童处境糟糕

儿童们一直以来都是最脆弱的人群,而最近流离失所的儿童和妇女所处的境地简直令人绝望。数千名儿童自逃难后就粒米未进。他们几乎无法获得清洁用水和医疗保健。据估计,数百名儿童已经和家人走散,因此不得不靠自己生存下去。

在凯纳(Kayna),法罗女士访问了一个被武装部队洗劫一空的食疗中心。“我在想,11月11日那天,这个中心里肯定有很多儿童 ,很多生病的儿童,”法罗女士说,“一百个武装分子把生病的和严重营养不良的儿童赶到森林里,夺走他们所拥有的一切,包括食物、食疗产品和牛奶。他们怎么做的出这种事情?他们的良心何在?”

UNICEF Photo: Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow is visiting conflict-affected North Kivu
© UNICEF/NYHQ2008-1263/ Asselin
联合国儿童基金会在戈马开展免疫活动,亲善大使米亚.法罗在马坚戈保健中心为一名儿童喂食维生素A片剂。

连续第二年,数万名学生的学校在新学年刚开学不久就停课。在已经落入了反政府军手中的鲁丘鲁村(Rutshuru),法罗女士与焦虑的父母交谈。

“甚至连学校都被洗劫一空,他们抢走了所有的教材,学校的一切,”一名家长向法罗女士解释道。

流离失所造成紧急情况

法罗女士还访问了北基伍省的流离失所人员安置地,以考察联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴如何响应儿童及其家人的需求。在过去的三个月中,大约30万人因永无止境的暴力事件而流离失所。

法罗女士的所见所闻以及在营地里欢迎她的儿童们深深触动了她。“这里有作恶者,也有受害者。我现在在这里看着这些受害者们,我和你们一样为他们感到心痛,因为他们正陷于暴力之中。”

“我很高兴与联合国儿童基金会一道工作,因为我现在不仅仅是一个人,”她说,“我和联合国儿童基金会合作,这儿的员工不辞辛劳的工作以应对紧急情况。但是作为一个人,我肩负的哪些责任甚至超出了联合国儿童基金会的职责呢?我应该怎么做? 我要写什么?我应该和谁交谈?我的道德观是什么?”


 

 

视频(英文)

2008年12月11日:联合国儿童基金会通讯员艾米.本内特就联合国儿童基金会亲善大使米亚.法罗访问刚果民主共和国受冲突影响的北基伍省进行了报道。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Congo, Democratic Republic of the

Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow witnesses devastation and emergency relief in North Kivu

UNICEF Image: Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow is visiting conflict-affected North Kivu
© UNICEF/NYHQ2008-1294/Asselin
UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow meets with a displaced girl at the Kibati camp on the outskirts of Goma, Eastern Democratic Republic of the Congo.

NORTH KIVU, Democratic Republic of the Congo, 12 December 2008 – UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow is visiting conflict-affected North Kivu, on a three-day mission to eastern Democratic Republic of Congo. 

Her goal is to witness the devastating impact of the recent fighting, which has let to an estimated 300,000 displaced people in the last three months. The total number of internally displaced is around one million, or 20 per cent of the entire North Kivu population.

“I have come here to better understand how people are coping with this crisis and what needs to be done,” Ms. Farrow said. “It’s comforting coming with NGOs – UNICEF is here doing their level best to sustain people, and that gives you hope. Coming without them, you might be more depressed, because what can you do?”

Terrible conditions for children

Children, as always, are among the most vulnerable and the condition of newly displaced children and women is desperate. Thousands have had very little to eat since fleeing. Their access to clean water and health care has been minimal.  Hundreds of children are presumed to have been separated from their families, forced to fend for their survival on their own.

In Kayna, Ms. Farrow visited a therapeutic feeding centre that had been looted by armed groups. “I’m thinking, on November 11, this would have been full of children, sick children,” Ms. Farrow commented. “How can 100 armed men come and chase sick and severely malnourished children into the forest, take everything they had, including the little food that they had, therapeutic feeding stuff, their milk – and how can they square that with themselves?”

UNICEF Image: Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow is visiting conflict-affected North Kivu
© UNICEF/NYHQ2008-1263/ Asselin
UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow gives a vitamin A supplement to a child at Majengo health center during a UNICEF-sponsored vaccination exercise in Goma.

For the second year in a row, the school year that just started has been disrupted for tens of thousands of children. Ms. Farrow spoke with concerned parents in Rutshuru, a village that is now under rebel control.

“Even in the schools everything was looted, all the material, everything,” one parent explained to Ms. Farrow.

Displacement creates emergency situation

Ms. Farrow is also visiting areas of displacement in North Kivu to see how UNICEF and its partners are responding to the needs of children and their families in an area where the violence seems to continue without an end in sight.

Ms. Farrow was deeply affected by what she saw, as well as by the children who greeted her in the camp, saying, “There are perpetrators, and there are victims, and here is where I am, looking at the victims, and feeling all that you feel for them, because they’re caught between these crosscurrents of violence.

“I’m really happy that I’m with UNICEF because I’m not actually one person,” she continued. “I’m with UNICEF, and the staff here are really working night and day trying to address the emergency situation. But also just as a human being, what is my human responsibility even beyond UNICEF? Where do I go with this? What will I write? Who will I talk to? What is my moral mandate?”


 

 

Video

11 December 2008:
UNICEF correspondent Amy Bennett reports on UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow’s visit to conflict-affected North Kivu in the Democratic Republic of Congo.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search