刚果民主共和国

援助飞机抵达刚果民主共和国,但是不安全局势依然存在

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF DR Congo/2008/Harneis
装载着应急用品的飞机把毛毯、塑料单等生活必需用品用给无家可归的民众。图为一个因战争而无家可归的家庭住在刚果民主共和国东部戈马市以北70公里一个临时帐篷里。

美国纽约,2008年11月11日 –  刚果民主共和国北基伍地区的不安全局势仍在蔓延,政府军和反政府武装之间的战斗仅在过去的两个月中就使该地区超过25万人被迫离开家园。

今天,另有两架装载着应急用品的飞机抵达戈马,帮助解决流离失所人口紧要的健康和人道主义需求。在随后的几天内,预计将有十批物资陆续到达;到目前为止,已送达六批物资。

联合国儿童基金会驻刚果民主共和国代表皮尔艾.吴悌(Pierrette Vu Thi)说:“这些应急用品将帮助遏制霍乱和腹泻病的蔓延,这两种高传染性疾病正在北基伍省国内的无家可归者居住地蔓延。我们非常感激能够收到这些用品和其他即将到达的物资 。这些用品至关重要,他们可以帮助挽救受冲突影响儿童的生命并改善他们的生活。”

这些应急用品是由美国和英国捐赠的。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF DR Congo/2008/Harneis
英国第一架装载着援助物资的飞机抵达刚果民主共和国的戈马。在随后的几天内,援助飞机将把家用必需品带给1.1万个流离失所的家庭。

预计会发生更多的战斗

尽管上周进行了多国对话并且国际社区施加更大压力要求恢复和平进程, 但是战斗继续在全省蔓延。

今早,反政府武装领导人劳伦特.恩昆达(Laurent Nkunda)再次发誓如果政府不同意进行双边谈判就要将政府推翻,而政府一直拒绝谈判。

与此同时,流离失所的人口中几乎无人返回家园,因为他们预计在今后的几周内还会发生更多的战斗。

人道主义通道被封闭

不安全的局势仍然妨碍着联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴接触到所有流离失所的人口。

联合国儿童基金会驻戈马的新闻处专员扎亚. 穆尔蒂(Jaya Murthy)说: “我们最担心的还是人道主义通道。有几个区域我们现在完全无法进入 ,这是我们最关心的。我们急需进入那些地区以缓和任何潜在的灾难性局势,主要是疾病的爆发和营养不良。”

联合国儿童基金会还在北基伍省开展麻疹免疫活动,但是该地区还是有爆发霍乱的隐患。穆尔蒂先生说:“我们在所有的流离失所居住地都发现了霍乱的病例。”

货车运水

为了能够消除霍乱的威胁,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴正用货车运送安全用水并加大个人卫生宣传。由于3000多人逃难到基巴提地区,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴正在那里另外建造240个公共厕所。

穆尔蒂先生说:“我们知道流离失所的人口现在可以获得充足的清洁水,这可以帮助他们遏制这种流行病的蔓延。”

从1996年刚果冲突爆发以来,有超过500万人被认为已经死亡,其中大多数都死于可预防的疾病和饥饿。联合国儿童基金会在刚果的特派团是全世界最大的特派团。


 

 

音频

2008年11月11日:联合国儿童基金会驻戈马的新闻处专员扎亚. 穆尔蒂介绍在当地开展援助的情况。
 音频 播放

搜索

Congo, Democratic Republic of the

Aid flights arrive in DR Congo, but insecurity persists

UNICEF Image
© Reuters/O'Reilly
A family displaced by fighting takes shelter from the rain in a makeshift tent in Kiwanja, 70 km north of Goma in eastern DR Congo. Aid flights are bringing shipments of blankets, plastic sheeting and buckets for distribution to the displaced.

NEW YORK, USA, 11 November 2008 – Insecurity persists in the North Kivu region of the Democratic Republic of the Congo, where more than 250,000 people have been forced from their homes in the last two months alone, due to fighting between the army and a rebel group.

Today, two more planeloads of emergency supplies landed in Goma to help address critical health and humanitarian needs of the displaced. A total of 10 shipments are expected over the coming days; six have landed thus far.

“These supplies will help contain the spread of cholera and diarrhoea, both extremely contagious diseases on the rise in nearly all internally displaced person settlements in North Kivu,” said UNICEF Representative in DR Congo Pierrette Vu Thi. “We are extremely thankful for these supplies and others that will arrive shortly. They are critical to help save and improve the lives of children affected in the conflict.”

The supplies were donated by the United States and United Kingdom.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF DR Congo/2008/Harneis
The first flight with aid from the United Kingdom arrives in Goma, DR Congo. Flights over the next days will bring in essential household items for 11,000 displaced families.

More fighting anticipated

In spite of multinational talks held last week and intense pressure from the international community to resume a peace process, fighting continues throughout the province.

This morning, rebel leader Laurent Nkunda renewed his vow to overthrow the government unless it agrees to bilateral negotiations – something the government continues to refuse.

Meanwhile, very few of the displaced have returned to their homes, anticipating more fighting in the coming weeks.

Humanitarian access blocked

The insecurity continues to prevent UNICEF and its partners from accessing all the displaced.

“A major concern of ours is still humanitarian access,” said UNICEF Communications Officer Jaya Murthy, in Goma. “There are a couple of areas that we have no access to at the moment, that we’re extremely concerned about. We desperately need to get in to try to mitigate any potential catastrophic situation in terms of disease outbreaks or malnutrition.”

UNICEF has run measles vaccination campaigns n North Kivu but there is still significant concern about cholera. “We’ve seen cases of cholera increase in all displacement areas,” said Mr. Murthy.

Truckloads of water

In order to address the threat of cholera,  UNICEF and its partners are trucking in safe water and increasing hygiene promotion. In the Kibati area, to which more than 30,00 people have fled, UNICEF and its partners are constructing 240 additional latrines.

“We know that there is enough clean water getting in to these displaced people, and that’s helping to contain the epidemic,” said Mr. Murthy.

Over 5 million people are thought to have died in the Congolese conflict since it began in 1996, mostly through preventable disease and starvation. UNICEF’s mission in Congo is one of its largest in the world.


 

 

Audio

11 November 2008:
UNICEF Communications Specialist Jaya Murthy, in Goma, describes the push to bring aid to over 1 million displaced people.
AUDIO listen

New enhanced search