刚果民主共和国

刚果民主共和国的危机仍在持续,联合国把强奸纳入战争武器类

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
联合国儿童基金会支持的‘停止强奸我们最伟大的资源:还刚果民主共和国的妇女和女孩们权力’的运动,培养妇女成为社区的领导。

坦尼娅.特科维奇报道

刚果民主共和国戈马,2008年6月24日。作为对刚果民主共和国和世界各地妇女和女童进行保护的重要步骤,联合国安理会在投票中一致通过,把强奸纳入战争武器类的决议。

在上周通过的1820号决议,重申了作为战争罪的性暴力,是一种反人类的犯罪,是酷刑和种族灭绝罪的一种形式。对惩治罪犯作出了进一步的努力,以提高这种暴力行为的政治、军事和经济成本。

 ‘空前的残忍’

在刚果民主共和国,那里多年战争已经造成了毁灭性的损失,性暴力大规模地发生。自1994年以来,这里有数十万的妇女和女孩被强奸。

然而,由于现行法律的薄弱,刚果民主共和国性暴力的幸存者在获得公正对待上,面临着的巨大障碍。这些妇女中的许多人从来没有站出来揭发过。

“刚果民主共和国的性暴力在世界任何其他地方,其规模和残暴程度都是空前的,”联合国儿童基金会驻刚果民主共和国东部地区办事处儿童保护专家珀内勒.艾恩赛德说。“战争以前,强奸肯定已经存在了,我们所看到的兽性的强奸是惊人的 — 每月有超过1000名妇女和女童被强奸。

“性暴力已经表现出一种新的形式,这是不争的事实。”她补充说。

害怕回家

在战争中强奸是特别可怕的。除了情感的创伤以外,幸存者可能要置于被迫怀孕和感染性病的境地。

许多年轻的女孩和妇女的身体被严重地摧残,造成外伤瘘 — 使她们大小便失禁。瘘需要很长的治疗和恢复时间。在刚果民主共和国,仅有两所医院具备治疗这种严重创伤的设施。其中之一就是联合国儿童基金会支持潘济医院。

见到这所医院里的妇女和女孩令人心碎。幸存者谈到在她们的丈夫面前遭受轮奸,目睹其家人被杀,留给她们的只有死亡。

如果这些妇女回家,她们往往是被她们的家庭和社区所排斥。最糟糕的是,强奸犯们往往仍然在逃。

“她们害怕再回到她们的村庄,”潘济医院院长丹尼斯.穆克维基大夫说。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
自1994年以来,在刚果民主共和国有数十万妇女和女孩被强奸。许多人不敢站出来揭发,只好默默地忍受。

‘停止强奸我们最伟大的资源’

联合国儿童基金会已采取步骤对刚果民主共和国发生的性暴力事件予以回应。最新的努力之一就是全球性的‘停止强奸我们最伟大的资源:还刚果民主共和国的妇女和女孩们权力’的运动。

作为这项基础运动的一部分,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴正在帮助来自社会各阶层的妇女在妇女论坛上谈论性暴力问题,并在自己的社区成为这个问题的倡导者。这个项目使妇女们谈论传统文化如何压制了她们的心声。对许多人来说,这还是第一次听说性暴力被定义为是对她们权利的侵害,。

 “我已经注意到一些变化,妇女们都有勇气更加大胆地去表达她们的意见,”该计划的一位参与者说。“此外,我们训练妇女们,使她们能够在论坛中发挥很大的作用,并在她们的社区产生影响。”

这项全球运动是支持幸存者通过‘快乐中心’重新回到她们社区 —‘快乐中心’提供心理支持和技能培养活动,为妇女创造收入。

所需要的具体措施

这样的计划是令人鼓舞的,但它们只是第一步。虽然身体的伤口最终可能治愈,但许多妇女仍然遭受着强奸带来的耻辱,以及知道罪犯很可能仍然逍遥法外所带来的耻辱。

此外,在刚果民主共和国武装组织外的平民实施强奸的案件也在增加。

人道主义团体保护妇女和女童免遭强奸的工作已被作为工作的重点,但这个问题还将继续,直至从政治上使敌对行动结束。因此,联合国儿童基金会赞扬把强奸作为战争武器的联合国的新决议,并欢迎具体的后续措施,以帮助刚果民主共和国和其他国家的妇女实现安全和正义。

与此同时,在整个刚果民主共和国,妇女正在成为积极分子,走上街头,组织各种活动并努力改造她们的生活。


 

 

视频(英文)

2008年5月:联合国儿童基金会记者坦尼娅.特科维奇对刚果民主共和国制止强奸,对暴力事件幸存者予以治疗的工作进行了报道。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Congo, Democratic Republic of the

As DR Congo crisis persists, UN classifies rape as weapon of war

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
The UNICEF-supported campaign, ‘Stop Raping our Greatest Resource: Power to Women and Girls of Democratic Republic of Congo’ trains women to be community leaders.

By Tanya Turkovich

GOMA, Democratic Republic of the Congo, 24 June 2008 – In a momentous step forward for the protection of women and girls in DRC and around the world, the UN Security Council has voted unanimously in favour of a resolution classifying rape as a weapon of war. 

Resolution 1820, which passed last week, reiterates the status of sexual violence as a war crime, a crime against humanity, a form of torture and a constituent act of genocide. It also advances efforts to sanction perpetrators and raise the political, military and economic cost of such violence.

‘Unparalleled brutality’

In DRC, where years of war have taken a devastating toll, sexual violence has occurred on a mass scale. Since 1994, hundreds of thousands of women and girls here have been raped.

Due to weak existing laws, however, survivors of sexual violence in DRC face enormous barriers to securing justice. Many of these women never come forward. 

“Sexual violence in DRC is on a scale and brutality unparalleled elsewhere in the world,” says Child Protection Specialist Pernille Ironside in UNICEF's eastern DRC regional office. “While rape certainly existed prior to the war, the brutal nature of the violations that we see is appalling – with over 1,000 women and girls raped per month. 

“This is truly a context in which sexual violence has taken on a new dimension,” she adds. 

Afraid to go home

Rapes are particularly horrific in the context of war. In addition to the emotional scars, survivors can be left with unwanted pregnancies and sexually transmitted diseases. 

Many young girls and women are so severely brutalized that they acquire traumatic fistulae – leaving them unable to hold their urine or feces. Fistulae require lengthy operations and recovery time. In DRC, there are just two hospitals equipped to handle the severity of these wounds. One of them is the UNICEF-supported PANZI Hospital.

To meet the women and girls in this hospital is to have one’s heart broken. Survivors talk of being gang raped in front of their husbands and of witnessing the murder of their families then being left for dead. 

When and if these women return home, they are often ostracized by their families and communities. Perhaps worst of all, their rapists are often still at large.

“They're afraid to go back to their village,” said PANZI Hospital Director Dr. Denis Mukwege.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Since 1994, hundreds of thousands of women and girls in DR Congo have been raped. Many are afraid to come forward and suffer in silence.

‘Stop Raping our Gratest Resource’

UNICEF has taken steps to respond to sexual violence in DRC. One of the latest efforts is the global campaign, ‘Stop Raping our Greatest Resource: Power to Women and Girls of Democratic Republic of Congo’.

As part of this grassroots movement, UNICEF and its partners are helping women from all sectors of society to talk about sexual violence in women’s forums and to become advocates within their own communities. The project has women talking about their rights in a culture that has traditionally suppressed their voices. For many, it’s the first time they have heard sexual violence defined as a violation of their rights.

“One of the changes I have noticed is that women have the courage to voice their opinion more boldly,” said one participant in the programme. “In addition, women that we equip and empower in the forums have a great impact and influence in their communities.”

Amongst the activities of the global campaign is to support the reintegration of survivors back in their communities through ‘Joy Centres’ – facilities that provide psychological support and skill-building activities, which can lead to income generation for women.

Concrete measure needed

Such programmes are encouraging signs, yet they are just the first steps. Although the physical wounds may eventually heal, many women still suffer from the stigma of rape as well as the knowledge that the men who committed the crime are likely still out there.  

Moreover, cases of rape perpetrated by civilians outside of armed groups in DRC are also increasing.

The work of the humanitarian community in protecting women and girls from rape has been essential, but the problem will continue until there is the political will to bring the hostilities to an end. Thus, UNICEF applauds the new UN resolution on rape as a weapon of war and welcomes concrete follow-up measures to help women in DRC and other countries achieve safety and justice.

Across DRC, meanwhile, women are becoming activists, taking to the streets, organizing events and working to reclaim their lives.

 


 

 

Video

May 2008: UNICEF correspondent Tanya Turkovich reports on efforts to stop rape and heal survivors of violence in DR Congo.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search