刚果民主共和国

在刚果民主共和国,通过心理辅导和教育抚平战争带来的无形创伤

UNICEF Photo: DR Congo, counselling and education
© UNICEF/2008
刚果民主共和国戈马外的恩雅布云宇小学的儿童。在那里大多数学生都来自由于冲突而流离失所的家庭。

刚果民主共和国戈马,2008年3月11日。炮弹击中了13岁的莫卡家时,他和家人正躲在家中。“炮弹击中了我的爷爷和我的弟弟,”他说。“我们眼睁睁地看着他们被炮弹击中,焚烧致死。”

去年9月,反政府武装和政府军间爆发的冲突席卷了他们的村庄,莫卡和他的家人随着近50万来自刚果民主共和国北基伍省的流离失所的人一起逃离了家园。但即使是在逃亡的途中,暴力还是紧随着莫卡一家。

“我亲眼目睹了人们的内脏被子弹炸开了,”他回忆道。“他们当着我们的面杀人。我们到哪儿,他们也到哪儿,他们故意地向人群扫射,滥杀无辜。每当我想起当时的情景,我就会痛哭。”

今天,莫卡生活在北基伍省首府戈马的刚果流离失所者营地中的一个。他们一家匆忙逃离家园时没带任何物品。莫卡仅有的一件衬衫 — 紫色的短袖T-恤衫 — 上面染了许多黑色的污渍,橄榄绿短裤的裤兜也破了。

‘每个人都有一个故事’

但最近,莫卡的生活出现了转机。每天早上,莫卡和其他约650名流离失所的儿童到村子附近的恩雅布云宇小学上学。“学校的学习帮我忘记那些不愉快的事情,”他说。

UNICEF Photo: DR Congo, counselling and education
© UNICEF/2008
心理咨询员艾芙琳.琦麦玛照看在恩雅布云宇小学的约650名流离失所的学生。

流离失所学生的大量入学迫使恩雅布云宇小学的学生每天分两批上课。这也迫使教师必须学会应对数以百计的经历过暴力冲突,常常深受这些经历影响的儿童。

“600多名儿童 — 600多个故事,”刚果民主共和国的非政府组织“阿法.乌居维”在莫卡的学校担任心理咨询员的艾芙琳说。

压力的表现

每天艾芙琳都会关注学生们承受压力的现象。“我们注意到,他们中的大部分人因为觉得还会再搬到另外的地方,所以他们不参加任何活动。”她说。“处于困境的儿童不和别人玩耍。有的睡觉,有的拒绝交谈,有的会无故出汗。”

艾芙琳和这些儿童一个一个地单独交流他们的问题。“这很不容易,他们的改变不是很快,而是一点点的,随着你和儿童的接近越频繁,你们的交谈也会越多,这样就会有些改变。”

心理咨询员注意到自从莫卡上学之后他已经有了变化。他说对所目睹的事情的回忆仍时时困扰着他,但是他的老师和在学校结识的新朋友 — 其中大多数人都有和他相同的故事 — 帮他忘记了那些不愉快。

UNICEF Photo: DR Congo, counselling and education
© UNICEF/2008
13岁的莫卡在刚果民主共和国发生的暴力冲突中失去了兄弟和爷爷,他现在正在恩雅布云宇小学上学。

联合国儿童基金会在整个北基伍省的50多所学校支持了类似的心理辅导项目,在那里只有约半数的儿童能入学就读。

心理辅导对教育来说是必不可少的

尽管最近签署了和平协议,战斗仍在北基伍省持续,刚果流离失所的人对是否回家仍犹豫不决,这就使得儿童的教育问题成为联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴关注的主要问题。

联合国儿童基金会教育专家青木纱世说,心理辅导对经历过冲突的儿童来说是必不可少的。

“暴力,贫困,文化 — 儿童辍学的原因有很多,”青木女士说。甚至当儿童去上学,她补充道,“由于心理压力儿童也无法专心学习。”

帮助儿童战胜自己的创伤,“是一个非常缓慢的过程,”青木女士指出。“但我觉得为了给儿童学习提供一个更加和平的环境,在今后的几年中我们必须这样做。”


 

 

音频(英文)

2008年2月:
联合国儿童基金会广播报道刚果民主共和国因战争而流离失所的儿童挣扎着返回学校。
 音频 试听  

2008年2月:
在刚果戈马的联合国儿童基金会教育专家青木纱世解释心理创伤如何影响教育。
 音频 试听

搜索

Congo, Democratic Republic of the

In DR Congo, counselling and education heal the invisible wounds of war

UNICEF Image: DR Congo, counselling and education
© UNICEF/2008
Children at Nyabyunyu Primary School outside Goma, DR Congo, where a majority of the students are from families displaced by conflict.

GOMA, Democratic Republic of the Congo, 11 March 2008 – Moka, 13, was hiding at home with his family when the mortar landed. “It killed my grandfather and my younger brother,” he says. “We saw them dead, blown up, burnt.”

Last September, as fighting between rebels and government troops engulfed their village, Moka and his family fled, joining the nearly half-million Congolese from North Kivu province who have been displaced from their homes in the last year. But even in flight, the violence followed Moka’s family.

“I saw people with their insides opened up by bullets,” he remembers. “They killed people right in front of us. One time, they came to where we were and fired into the crowd on purpose, killing people. When I think of it, I always cry.”

Today, Moka lives in one of the many camps for displaced Congolese just outside Goma, the capital of North Kivu. His family left everything behind in their rush to escape. Moka’s only shirt – purple and short-sleeved – is covered in black dirt; his olive shorts are torn at the pockets.

‘Each one has a story’

But recently, Moka’s life has taken a turn for the better. Each morning, Moka joins some 650 other displaced children at the Nyabyunyu Primary School in a nearby village. “School is what helps me forget,” he says.

UNICEF Image: DR Congo, counselling and education
© UNICEF/2008
Psychosocial counsellor Evelyne Kimema looks after the 650 displaced students at Nyabyunyu Primary School.

Due to the influx of displaced students, the Nyabyunyu school to run two sessions per day. Its teachers have had to learn how to deal with hundreds of children who have lived through violent conflict and are often deeply affected by that experience.

“More than 600 children – more than 600 stories,” says Evelyne Kimema, a psychosocial counsellor who is based at Moka’s school with the Congolese non-governmental organization Alpha Ujuvi.

Signs of stress

Each day, Ms. Kimema watches the students for signs of stress. “We notice it most during recess, because they’re supposed to be moving,” she says. “There will be a child who’s in the corner, who’s not playing with the others. Others will be sleeping, another won’t talk, another will be sweating, although he won’t be running around at all.”

Ms. Kimema takes these children aside one by one to talk to them about their problems. “It’s difficult – they don’t change quickly,” she says. “But little by little, the more you approach a child, the more you talk to him, the change will come.”

The counsellor has seen Moka blossom since he started at the school. He says the memories of all that he has seen still haunt him, but his teachers and the new friends he has made at school – most of whom have stories just like his – help him forget.

UNICEF Image: DR Congo, counselling and education
© UNICEF/2008
Moka, 13, who lost a brother and grandfather to the violence in DR Congo, now attends the Nyabyunyu school.

UNICEF supports similar counselling programmes in more than 50 schools throughout North Kivu, where only about half the child population currently attends school.

Counselling essential for education

In spite of a recent peace accord, fighting continues in North Kivu, and displaced Congolese have been hesitant to return home, making children’s education a major concern for UNICEF and its partners.

UNICEF Education Specialist Sayo Aoki says psychosocial counselling is essential for children who have experienced conflict.

“The violence, the poverty, the culture – there are many reasons why children are not going to school,” says Ms. Aoki. And even when the children do go to school, she adds, “a child cannot focus because of the psychosocial stress.”

Helping children through their trauma “is a very slow process,” notes Ms. Aoki. “But I think this is something we have to do for the next years to come so that we can provide a more peaceful environment for children to study.”

 


 

 

Audio

February 2008:
UNICEF Radio reports on the struggle of children displaced by war in DR Congo to find their place at school.
AUDIO listen

February 2008:
UNICEF Education Specialist Sayo Aoki in Goma, DR Congo, explains how psychological trauma impedes education.
AUDIO listen
New enhanced search