刚果民主共和国

“拯救非洲”帮助受战争影响的年轻妇女和儿童

UNICEF Photo: Heal Africa, Goma
© UNICEF/HQ05-2181/ Pirozzi
联合国儿童基金会和“拯救非洲”合作,帮助刚果民主共和国受冲突影响的年轻妇女和儿童,那里因十多年的暴力冲突已经有500多万人死亡,无数人流离失所。

帕特里克.麦克考马克报道

刚果民主共和国戈马,2008年2月8日。戈马(北基伍省省会)爆发的派系间战争在过去十年里已造成数百万刚果人死亡,受伤和流离失所。最近国际红十字会的报告估计,自1998年冲突开始后,每个月有4万人死亡 — 其中大多数是妇女和儿童。

现在,戈马到处是流离失所家庭的临时营地,这些家庭带着对生存的渴望而不断祈祷和平与安全。联合国儿童基金会的世界上最大的人道主义行动设在这个地区,仅2007年就援助了近50万人。

在基伍省各地不断发生性暴力侵害事件。抢劫团伙从他们藏身的热带雨林的深处突然出现,疯狂地杀人和强奸,然后再次消失在雾色之中,连10岁的小女孩都成了他们的受害者。

“拯救非洲”帮助袭击的受害者

13岁的珂內乐(化名)静静地坐在一个由联合国儿童基金会支持的组织“拯救非洲”的诊所的空房间里。一天晚上她离开姑姑家去打水,结果被毒打和强奸了。她跑回姑姑家,对发生在她身上的事情羞愧万千,她什么也没说。当珂內乐怀孕很明显时,姑姑将她赶出了家门。

偶然间,珂內乐发现了“拯救非洲”,现在她和她的两个月的婴儿就住在这儿。

珂內乐精神上的创伤目前仍难以愈合 — 只有当她凝望她的孩子时,她的脸上才会露出轻松的微笑。该中心的许多被强奸的妇女拒绝接受遭强奸后所生的孩子,但珂內乐不是这样。她给小宝宝起了一个名字叫喜悦,这是她未来的唯一的光明。

“拯救非洲”将尽一切所能,帮助受到侵害的年轻女孩和妇女。该诊所有一个特殊的病房和专为患妇科瘘(一种因暴力强奸而导致的使人虚弱和痛苦的病)的妇女进行手术的手术室 。很多妇女因患妇科瘘而遭到村子的排斥,丈夫和家庭将她们逐出家门,带着她们的痛苦,孤独地在村庄和营地周围乞讨勉强为生。

一个由联合国儿童基金会和V-Day组织的国际活动的口号道出了事情的精髓:“停止强奸我们最伟大的资源,给刚果民主共和国的妇女和女孩力量。”

“拯救艺术”项目

联合国儿童基金会和“拯救非洲”共同在诊所组织了的“拯救艺术”项目。这个项目鼓励遭受强奸的妇女进行广泛的咨询,教妇女如何缝纫和设计手袋、皮包、丝巾和桌布。

通过联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴,比如像V-Day这样的慈善组织出售手工艺品,每出售一件工艺品,妇女就可得到1美元。“拯救艺术”的参与者希望扩大零售网络,适应不断上涨的购买工艺品的需求,来援助发展中国家。

“这个项目是医治过程中的一个重要部分,能使这些妇女重拾自尊、自信和收入。”一间诊所的辅导员说。


 

 

搜索

Congo, Democratic Republic of the

‘HEAL Africa’ helps war-affected young women and children

UNICEF Image: Heal Africa, Goma
© UNICEF/HQ05-2181/ Pirozzi
UNICEF and HEAL Africa are partnering to help conflict-affected young women and children in DR Congo, where a decade of violence has left over 5 million dead and an untold number displaced.

By Patrick McCormack

GOMA, Democratic Republic of the Congo, 8 February 2008 – Fighting between factions in Goma – the capital of North Kivu Province – has killed, injured and displaced millions of Congolese over the last decade. A recent International Red Cross report estimates that 40,000 people have died every month since conflict began in 1998 – most of them women and children.

Goma is now littered with makeshift camps of displaced families trying desperately to survive while praying for peace and security. This region is home to UNICEF’s largest humanitarian operation in the world, reaching nearly half a million people in 2007 alone.

There is chronic sexual violence throughout Kivu Province. Girls as young as 10 years of age have fallen victim to marauding factions that swoop in from the deep rainforest, engaging in killing and raping sprees before disappearing once again into the mist.
 
HEAL Africa helps victims of assault

Corneille (not her real name), 13, sits silently in a bare room in a clinic run by the UNICEF-supported organization, 'HEAL Africa'. She left an aunt’s house one evening to fetch water when she was attacked and raped. She crawled back to her aunt’s house and said nothing, ashamed of what had happened to her. When it became clear that Corneille was pregnant, her aunt threw her out.

By chance, Corneille found her way to HEAL Africa and it is here that she and her two-month year old baby now live.

Corneille is still severely affected – her face animated with a light smile only when she glances down at her baby. Many women at the centre reject children born out of rape, but Corneille has not. The baby, named Joy, represents the only brightness in her future.

HEAL Africa is doing all it can to help young girls and women victimized by assault. The clinic has a special ward and operating theatre specifically for women suffering from fistulas – a debilitating and painful condition that is a direct result of violent rape. Fistulas have left many women outcasts in their own villages, rejected by their husbands and families, and left alone with their pain as they scrap and beg around villages and camps.

The motto of an international campaign run by UNICEF and the global anti-violence movement, V-Day, says it all: “Stop raping our greatest resource. Power to women and girls in DRC.”

'Healing Arts' project

In conjunction with UNICEF, HEAL Africa also runs the ‘Healing Arts’ project from the clinic. This project encourages women who have suffered rape to go through extensive counselling; it also teaches them how to sew and design handbags, purses, scarves and table mats.

The handicrafts are sold through UNICEF partners, such as the V-Day organization, with the women receiving $1 for each item sold. The people behind Healing Arts hope to expand the retail network by riding a growing wave in sales of goods that assist developing countries.

“The project is an important part of the healing process,” said one clinic counsellor. “It begins to give back to these women some self-esteem, belief in themselves and an income.”


 

 

New enhanced search