刚果民主共和国

帮助刚果民主共和国前儿童兵为未来播种

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
西蒙(化名)在他被刚果民主共和国的武装部队从家里的园子劫走多年之后才又发现自己的园艺才能。

班特.约根.波尔姆特报道

在联合国发表关于武装冲突对儿童影响问题的格拉萨.马歇尔里程碑报告十年之后,冲突的内含已经发生了巨大变化。为在接下来的十年中解决这个问题,现在正在对马歇尔报告进行策略性的重新探讨。以下是证明“马歇尔加十”重要性的系列报道之首篇。

刚果民主共和国戈马,2007年10月2日。15岁的西蒙一直喜欢在他家位于刚果东部马西西领地的农田里种地。 然而,在十岁的时候,他被名为刚果民主联盟的武装部队强迫招募。 他在前线作战几年,为了生存还曾被迫抢劫一些村庄。

在几次逃跑失败后,西蒙(化名)设法得到了联合国儿童基金会支持的名为CTO的过度中心的庇护,CTO中心帮助与军队有关的儿童重新融入社会。 该中心有30名教师、导师、辅导员和管理员,致力于帮助这些儿童与他们的家人和社区重聚。

西蒙与来自很多不同军队的70多名孩子在中心一起学习了六个月的读、写、做木工活及种菜的本领。 他还学习如何在社会中正常生活,并且和曾经在战场上互为敌人的孩子们相处。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
西蒙已经与家人团聚,而且成为一名木工学徒,但是被武装组织重新招募的危险使许多其他儿童兵不能重返家乡。

帮助整个社区

儿童被重新招募是在刚果的人道主义组织最担心的问题。 近年来,联合国儿童基金会在致力于消除招募和利用青少年受害者,以及遵守今年被60多个国家采纳的“巴黎原则”方面发挥了重要作用。

到目前为止,刚果有八千多名儿童离开武装组织,在像CTO这样的项目的帮助下重返社会。

然而,在最近对格拉萨.马谢尔关于武装冲突对儿童影响的著名研究的重新探讨显示,成功地使儿童兵恢复并融入社会需要更多的工作。

联合国秘书长关于儿童与武装冲突问题的特别代表雷赫卡.库马拉斯瓦米说:“ 你是在与接纳前儿童兵的整个系统工作。 只是给他们钱或教授技能是行不通的,这是一项社区建设工作。 ”她补充说,通过教育并为前儿童兵提供生计,“你不仅帮助了孩子,而且帮助了这个孩子要去的社区。”

一个微妙的团聚

西蒙结束了在CTO中心的学习之后,联合国儿童基金会将他带回家乡,与家人团聚。 他的父母高兴极了,他们本以为他已经死了。 现在,西蒙在他父亲的农田里工作,并且开始成为一名木工学徒。

在西蒙父母感谢儿子回到自己身边的同时,他们也担心他的安全。 最近,刚果民主联盟又到他们村掠走一些男孩。 单在过去的几个星期中,刚果最动荡的地区就有数百名青少年被招募或重新招募入伍。

情况非常糟糕以致于联合国儿童基金会已经临时停止安排家在持续发生战斗和儿童频被招募的村庄的前儿童兵重返家园。


 

 

视频(英文)

2007年10月2日:联合国儿童基金会通讯员伊丽莎白. 克穆讲述刚果民主共和国的一位前儿童兵和他重返家园的故事。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Congo, Democratic Republic of the

Helping former soldiers plant seeds for the future in DR Congo

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Simon (not his real name) has rediscovered his horticultural talents years after he was abducted from his family’s garden by a militia in DR Congo.

By Bent Jorgen Perlmutt

A decade after the United Nations issued Graça Machel’s landmark report on children affected by armed conflict, the context of conflict has changed dramatically. A strategic review of the Machel report is now under way to address this issue for the next 10 years. Here is the first in a series of stories testifying to the importance of that review, ‘Machel Plus 10’.

GOMA, Democratic Republic of the Congo, 2 October 2007 – Simon, 15, always loved to garden on his family’s farm in the Masisi territory of eastern DR Congo. At age 10, however, he was forcibly abducted by the Rassemblement Congolais pour la Démocratie (RCD) militia, and for several years he fought on the front lines in many battles and was forced to loot villages in order to survive.

After several unsuccessful attempts to escape, Simon (not his real name) managed to find refuge at the UNICEF-supported Centre de Transit et Orientation (CTO), a reintegration centre for children associated with armed forces. Staffed by about 30 teachers, mentors, counsellors and administrators, CTO works to reunite these children with their families and communities.

At the centre, Simon joined some 70 other children from many different militias and spent six months learning how to read, write, do carpentry and cultivate vegetables. He also learned how to live normally in society and get along with children who he had formerly been fighting on the battlefield.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Although Simon has been reunited with his family and apprenticed to a carpenter, the risk of re-recruitment by armed groups has kept many other child soldiers from returning to their families.

Help for whole communities

Child recruitment is a major concern for humanitarian groups in DR Congo. In recent years UNICEF has played a key role in working to abolish the practice and focus resources on the young victims, in keeping with the ‘Paris Principles’ adopted by more than 60 countries this year.

To date, more than 8,000 children in DR Congo have been removed from militia groups and reintegrated into society with the help of programmes such as CTO.

But as a recent review of the landmark Graça Machel study on the impact of armed conflict on children shows, successful rehabilitation and reintegration of child soldiers requires more work.

“You work with the whole system to integrate children. Just giving them cash or education skills won’t work. It’s a community-building process,” says the Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Children and Armed Conflict, Radhika Coomaraswamy. By educating and providing livelihoods to former child soldiers, “you have not only helped the child, but the community to which the child is going,” she adds.

A tenuous reunion

After Simon’s time at CTO, UNICEF brought him back to his village and reunited him with his family. His parents were overjoyed because they thought he had been killed. He now works with his father on their farm and has started apprenticing with a local carpenter.

While Simon’s parents are grateful to have their son back, they fear for his safety, as the RCD has recently been entering their village again and kidnapping young boys. In the past few weeks alone, hundreds of youths have been recruited or re-recruited in the most volatile parts of the country.

The situation has become so grave, in fact, that UNICEF has temporarily stopped reuniting children with their families in villages where there is ongoing fighting and active child recruitment.


 

 

Video

2 October 2007:
UNICEF correspondent Elizabeth Kiem tells the story of a former child soldier and his journey home in the Democratic Republic of the Congo.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search