刚果民主共和国

北基伍流离失所的儿童尤其容易患病及被军队重新招募

UNICEF Photo: DR Congo, displaced and vulnerable children
© UNICEF DR Congo/2007/ Harneis
北基伍省首府戈马城外牧甘伽营地的孩子们。 儿童在冲突中很容易被民兵队伍强迫招募。

兰.柴维尼报道

刚果民主共和国北基伍2007年9月18日。这是刚国民主共和国人民所经历的最艰难的一个时期。 自从2006年11月以来,已经有30至35万人流离失所。 在最近的几个星期里,情况从糟糕演变成恶化,北基伍周围又有大约6万人背井离乡。 在这种不稳定的局势下,儿童尤其容易受到剥削。

联合国儿童基金会驻刚果民主共和国现场运营主任胡利恩.哈内斯说:“与父母分离的儿童经常面临威胁。 然后这些自发建立起来的难民营就会引发麻疹、霍乱以及武装队伍招募儿童兵等问题。”

强迫招募儿童兵导致许多问题。 违背儿童的意愿,儿童兵被强征入伍做后勤人员或战士;女孩被性剥削。 当然,在战斗中还有很大的受伤和死亡的危险。

重新被招入伍

哈内斯先生说:“我们接到一个报告,在这个国家的东北部,有54名招募儿童兵的案例;我们听说,在西部所有15岁以上的男性都被强迫入伍。 在最近的几个星期内,我们认为已经有几百名儿童被征入民兵队伍,这使儿童兵案例远远超过一千个。”

八千多名儿童兵已经脱离军队。这些过去的儿童兵多数都回到他们的家乡。 然而,哈内斯先生说,很多过去的儿童兵的故事并没有就此停止。 许多人被重新招募入伍或者成为土匪。

“最终,他们会离开武装组织。 但是他们将面临与社区疏离的问题。 这些孩子没有受过教育,他们的技能也不适合社会生活。”

UNICEF Photo: DR Congo, displaced and vulnerable children
© UNICEF DR Congo/2007/ Harneis
麻疹可能是危机中对儿童的最大杀手。 拥挤的营地有许多没有注射过疫苗的儿童,他们很容易受到突如其来的疫情的伤害。

为解决这些问题,联合国儿童基金会支持为那些已经回到社区的5500名前儿童兵提供全面重返社会计划。 遗憾的是,因为现在的激烈冲突,北基伍的很多地区太不安全,无法实施这项计划。

同时,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴还为最近流离失所而住在简易棚里的人们加紧提供急需的疫苗、营养补充剂、饮用水、卫生设施和临时住所等。

“一定要找到和平的办法”

然而,目前还不可能确定有多少儿童在离开军队后,又面临被重新招募的危险。

哈内斯先生说:“最近几个星期已经有几百名儿童被征入伍。 他们中有多少是被重新招募的呢? 我们无法进入那些地区,所以, 现在还不能确切知道这些新兵的来源。 但我们清楚知道的是该地区有5500名儿童曾经在武装组织里 - 他们都有被重新招募的危险。”

哈内斯先生说,考虑到目前该国的不稳定局势,至少联合国儿童基金会与其合作伙伴在这些地区还可以努力提供保健、饮水、卫生设施和保护。

哈内斯先生说:“对北基伍最重要的是和平与安全。 只要这里有武装部队存在,就会有疾病和招募儿童兵的威胁。 需要一个政治解决方案。 对这里所发生的事,必须找到一个和平的和外交的解决方案。”


 

 

音频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会驻刚果民主共和国现场运营主任胡利恩.哈内斯向联合国儿童基金会广播电台讲述这个充满冲突的国家的儿童所面临的最新处境。

 音频 试听

联合国儿童基金会广播

搜索

Congo, Democratic Republic of the

Displaced children especially vulnerable to illness and military re-recruitment in North Kivu

UNICEF Image: DR Congo, displaced and vulnerable children
© UNICEF DR Congo/2007/ Harneis
Children in the Mugunga camp outside Goma in North Kivu. During conflict, children are very vulnerable to forced recruitment by militias.

By Blue Chevigny

NORTH KIVU, Democratic Republic of the Congo, 18 September 2007 – This is an era of extreme difficulty for the people of DR Congo. Between 300,000 to 350,000 people have been displaced since November 2006. In the last few weeks, the situation has gone from bad to worse with approximately 60,000 people newly displaced from their homes around North Kivu. In unstable circumstances like these, children are especially vulnerable to exploitation. 

“Separation of children from the parents always puts children at risk,” says UNICEF’s Chief of Field Operations for DR Congo Julien Harneis. “Then you’ve got the creation of spontaneous camps, which leads to measles, cholera and the recruitment of children into armed groups.”

The challenges posed by forced child recruitment are vast. Children are taken by militias against their will and used as porters and fighters or, in the case of girls, for sexual exploitation. There is also great risk, of course, of injury and death from violence and battle.

Falling prey to re-recruitment 
 
 “We have a report of 54 cases of children recruited northeast of here and to the west we’ve heard that there’s forced recruitment of all males over the age of fifteen,” says Mr. Harneis. “In the last couple of weeks, we believe that hundreds of children have been recruited into militias, which brings the total number of cases to well over a thousand.”

Upwards of 8,000 children have been separated from militias. In most cases, these former child soldiers are returned to their communities of origin. However, Mr. Harneis says, for many ex-soldiers the story does not end there. Many fall prey to re-recruitment or banditry.

“Eventually, they will get separated from the armed groups.  But then they face issues related to alienation from their community. These children haven’t been educated and their skills aren’t appropriate to civilian life.” 

UNICEF Image: DR Congo, displaced and vulnerable children
© UNICEF DR Congo/2007/ Harneis
Measles is possibly the biggest killer of children in emergencies. Crowded camps with many children not vaccinated are very vulnerable to sudden epidemics.

UNICEF is addressing these problems by supporting a comprehensive reintegration programme for 5,500 former child soldiers who’ve already returned to their community. Unfortunately, due to current intense fighting, the environment is too insecure in many parts of North Kivu to implement the programme.

The organization and its partners are also stepping up efforts to provide much needed vaccinations, nutritional supplements, water and sanitation aids and shelter to the newly displaced people now living in camps and makeshift shelters. 

‘A peaceful solution must be found’

Unfortunately, it is currently impossible to be sure how many children are at risk for being re-recruited once they are removed from the armed groups.

“Several hundred children have been recruited in the last couple of weeks,” says Mr. Harneis.  “How many of them have been re-recruited? We don’t have access to these areas, so we cannot ascertain at the moment the exact origin of these recruits. What we do know is that about 5,500 children in the area have previously been in armed groups – and they are all at risk for re-recruitment.”

The bottom line, Mr. Harneis says, is that the hard work of UNICEF and its partners in areas such as health, water and sanitation and protection, can only reach so far considering the current instability in the country. 

“The most important thing for North Kivu is peace and security," says Mr. Harneis. "As long as there are armed groups here there’s going to be risk of disease and recruitment of children. There needs to be a political solution. A peaceful and diplomatic solution must be found to what’s going on here.”


 

 

Audio

UNICEF Chief of Field Operations in DR Congo Julien Harneis gives UNICEF Radio an up to date assessment of the situation for vulnerable children in the conflict-ridden country.
AUDIO listen

UNICEF radio

New enhanced search