刚果民主共和国

“V日”和联合国儿童基金会呼吁保护刚果民主共和国东部的妇女和女童

UNICEF Photo
© V-Day/Paula Allen
“V日”与联合国儿童基金会发起运动, 为刚果东部成千上万名被强奸或面临强奸威胁的妇女和女童寻求保护和正义.

埃米.伯奈特报道

2007年8月7日,美国纽约。著名剧作家和“V日”创办人伊芙.安斯勒强调妇女和女童所面临的暴力问题,她讲述了与刚果民主共和国妇女的直接接触,性暴力已经成为刚果战争的一种惯用武器。

安斯勒女士的观点出现在最新一期“魅力”杂志上。 这同时也标志着“停止强奸我们的最大资源”运动的启动。 此项结束对妇女和女童施暴的全球运动,由刚果民主共和国东部的妇女与联合国儿童基金会和“V日”发起。

该运动以“联合国抗击冲突中的性暴力行动”为名,由包括联合国儿童基金会在内的联合国的十个机构共同发起。

心理和情感创伤

联合国儿童基金会估计,自十多年前刚果民主共和国东部冲突开始以来,已经有成千上万的妇女和女童遭到强奸。 在世界其它冲突地区,性暴力被用于折磨和侮辱妇女和女童,摧毁无数家庭。

性暴力在给受害者造成严重心理影响的同时,还给幸存者遗留下生殖器损害、瘘管外伤和其它身体伤害,以及怀孕和通过性传染的疾病,包括艾滋病等伤害。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HQ05-2197/Pirozzi
在北基伍省戈马市,联合国儿童基金会协助的性暴力受害者中心,妇女们躺在床上。

由“V日”和联合国儿童基金会发起的这项运动,呼吁停止暴力,惩办那些施暴的罪犯。

剧作家挑战全球性问题

安斯勒女士是获奖戏剧“阴道的独白”的作者,创办“V日”,并通过该剧的效益筹款并宣传。 2007年,全球范围内举办了三千多个“V日”活动。

安斯勒女士在她的杂志故事中写道:“我访问刚果之前,已经开展了十年的“V日”活动,这是抗击对妇女和女童施暴的全球性运动。我已经去过世界上的强奸地雷区 - 如波斯尼亚、阿富汗和海地等国,强奸在这些国家被用作战争的一种武器。”

“但是,我从未感觉到像这里的这种阴森、恐怖,完全的性摧残,企图毁灭女性。” 她继续说:“这种暴力是对所有人的威胁;小女孩和老村妇都面临同样的危险。 说这是杀害女性并不过分,刚果妇女的未来面临严重威胁。”

文章中,安斯勒女士描述了她六月到布卡武市的攀兹医院访问的情景,联合国儿童基金会在该医院为遭受性暴力的妇女出资进行医疗、辅导以及其它的协助。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HQ05-1243/LeMoyne
一位在迈迈民兵部队遭受性虐待的少女,站在联合国儿童基金会支持戈马的一家医院门口,等待医生做身体检查。

努力制止威胁

联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼也到刚果民主共和国访问过,她说:“当你和这些妇女和女童交谈,听听她们的故事,你就会清楚她们身处怎样一个毁灭性的境地。”

“简单的日常工作,如打柴或取水都会使她们身处险境,”维尼曼主任说:“必须让她们生活在一个安全的环境。”

“V日”和联合国儿童基金会的运动呼吁采取措施,确保刚果国家部队和警察不要对妇女和女童施暴。 并且,强烈敦促全面执行和实施国家法律,保护并赋予妇女权利。

联合国儿童基金会相信,让妇女和女童感觉正义终将得到伸张,是推进该国疗伤进程的重要步骤。

然而,刚果民主共和国只是联合国儿童基金会致力于抗击对妇女和女童施暴的国家之一。在世界范围,还有武装组织利用强奸和其它形式的性暴力作为军事策略和索取战利品的手段。 对于联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴 - 包括“V日”- 解决这一危机的首要工作显而易见:防止性暴力,结束有罪不罚,并提供必要的卫生保健和社会服务,以帮助受害者恢复和重建自己的生活。


 

 

视频(英文)

2007 年8月7日:

联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼讲述与刚果东部的性暴力受害者的会面情景, 以及联合国儿童基金会在世界范围内制止性暴力的努力.

 视频 高速 | 低速

视频(英文)

2007年8月6日:

儿童保护官员帕米拉.史夫曼对在刚果民主共和国泛滥的针对妇女和女童所实施的性暴力问题发表看法.

 视频 高速 | 低速

搜索

Congo, Democratic Republic of the

V-Day and UNICEF urge protection for women and girls in eastern DR Congo

UNICEF Image
© V-Day/Paula Allen
The V-Day and UNICEF campaign seeks protection and justice for hundreds of thousands of women and girls who have been raped or are at risk in eastern DR Congo.

By Amy Bennett

NEW YORK, USA, 6 August 2007 – Highlighting the issue of violence against women and girls, renowned US playwright and ‘V-Day’ founder Eve Ensler has chronicled her firsthand encounters with women in eastern Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), where sexual violence has become a routine weapon of war.

Ms. Ensler’s account appears in the new issue of Glamour Magazine. It also marks the launch of ‘Stop Raping our Greatest Resource’ – a campaign initiated by the women of eastern DRC along with UNICEF and V-Day, a global movement to end violence against women and girls.

The campaign is being conducted on behalf of UN Action Against Sexual Violence in Conflict, a joint initiative of 10 UN agencies, including UNICEF.

Physical and emotional wounds

UNICEF estimates that hundreds of thousands of women and girls have been raped since the conflict began in eastern DRC more than a decade ago. As in other conflict zones around the world, sexual violence there has been used to torture and humiliate women and girls, and to destroy families.

In addition to its severe psychological impact, sexual violence leaves many survivors with genital lesions, traumatic fistulae and other physical wounds, as well as unwanted pregnancies and sexually transmitted infections, including HIV.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ05-2197/Pirozzi
Women lie on beds under a tent at a UNICEF-assisted centre for victims of sexual violence in Goma, North Kivu Province.

The campaign launched by V-Day and UNICEF calls for halting the violence and ending impunity for those who commit such atrocities.

Playwright takes on a global problem

Ms. Ensler, author of the award-winning play ‘The Vagina Monologues’, founded V-Day to raise funds and awareness through benefit productions of the play. In 2007, more than 3,000 V-Day events took place worldwide.

“Before I went to the Congo, I’d spent the past 10 years working on V-Day, the global movement to end violence against women and girls,” Ms. Ensler writes in her magazine story. “I’d travelled to the rape mines of the world – places like Bosnia, Afghanistan and Haiti, where rape has been used as a tool of war.

“But nothing I ever experienced felt as ghastly, terrifying and complete as the sexual torture and attempted destruction of the female species here,” she continues. “The violence is a threat to all; young girls and village elders alike are at risk. It is not too strong to call this a femicide, to say that the future of the Congo’s women is in serious jeopardy.”

In the article, Ms. Ensler goes on to describes her June visit to Panzi Hospital in Bukavu, where UNICEF funds medical assistance, counselling and other support for women who have endured sexual violence.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ05-1243/LeMoyne
A teenage girl who suffered sexual abuse in the Mai Mai militia stands in the doorway of a UNICEF-supported hospital in Goma, waiting to be examined by doctors.

Working to end the danger

“When you have spoken to these women and girls, and listened to their stories, you clearly understand just how devastating their circumstances are,” says UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman, who has also travelled to eastern DRC.

“Simple, everyday tasks, like gathering wood or fetching water, expose them to grave danger,” adds Ms. Veneman. “They must be allowed to live in a secure environment.”

The V-Day and UNICEF campaign calls for measures to ensure that state-armed forces and police do not perpetrate sexual violence against women and girls in DRC. And it urges the full implementation and enforcement of national laws that protect and empower women.

Giving women and girls a sense that justice will be done is an important step in advancing the nation’s healing process, UNICEF believes.

However, DRC is just one of the countries where UNICEF is working to end violence against women and girls. Across the globe, armed groups use rape and other forms of sexual violence as both a military tactic and a means to claim spoils of war. For UNICEF and its partners – including V-Day – the priorities for addressing this crisis are clear: Prevent sexual violence, end impunity and provide the necessary health and social services to help victims recover and rebuild their lives.


 

 

Video


7 August 2007:
UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman speaks about meeting with victims of sexual violence in eastern DR Congo, and UNICEF's efforts to stop sexual violence worldwide.
 VIDEO  high | low

Video


6 August 2007:
Child Protection Officer Pamela Shifman explains the problem of sexual violence against women and girls in the Democratic Republic of the Congo.
 VIDEO  high | low

Children caught in war

New enhanced search