多米尼加共和国

海地裔美国医生志愿到多米尼加共和国为海地灾民提供医疗援助

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HAITI/2010/Bakody
在多米尼加边境小镇希马尼的一座教堂,海地裔美国人伊冯娜.让.弗朗索瓦博士在这个为地震受伤灾民设立的临时医疗康复中心,担任志愿医务主任。

珍妮弗.巴可迪报道

多米尼加共和国希马尼,2010年2月4日 – 一座燕麦色的水泥教堂坐落在一条尘土飞扬的土路上,周围是一幢幢矮小的房屋、牧场和土院。教堂内,椅子被推靠到墙边,光滑的木质长椅一排排地摆放在远处;受伤的灾民躺在地板上的破旧床垫上休息。

 点击此处观看视频

传道士贝瑟尔浸信会(The Evangelista Bethel Baptist Church)已经变成了一个医疗康复中心。在海地1月12日地震中受伤的数百名儿童和成年人,待病情稳定之后来到这里复健休养。

来自纽约的志愿医生

位于多米尼加与海地边界的小镇希马尼,现在建立起许多临时设施。设在贝瑟尔浸信会的医疗康复中心是一个完全由志愿者管理的机构。地震发生几天之后,家住纽约的伊冯娜.让.弗朗索瓦(Yvonne Jean-Francois)博士以一名志愿者的身份,来到希马尼管理这个中心。

在联合国儿童基金会广播电台最近的电话采访中,弗朗索瓦表示,当她听说海地的救灾任务时,她毫不犹豫地报名参加了志愿医生的行列。

作为一名海地裔美国人,弗朗索瓦博士一直认为有必要时常回海地看看。不过,她说这次看到的却是以往无法想象的景像,她见到许多截肢、复杂骨折和其他严重的伤势。

在附近的医院接受手术的患者,来到贝瑟尔教堂进行康复治疗。他们中的许多人有可能遭受了彻底改变他们生活的永久性伤害。弗朗索瓦说:“这些患者中的大部分人——大约90%都成了残疾人。他们无法获得医疗服务和物理治疗,极有可能被送往难民营,我很不希望会是这样。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
在多米尼加共和国与海地边界小镇希马尼的一家医院,医务工作在为受伤的地震灾民准备药品。

对儿童的特别关注

弗朗索瓦说,教会里的儿童,尤其是幼儿,看起来特别害怕。为了保护和照顾这些年龄最小的病人,弗朗索瓦首先将他们与成人分开,然后找来一名儿科医生和一名护士,帮助喂他们吃饭,给他们洗澡,并与他们一起玩耍和说话。

在灾难之中,也有一些让人高兴的故事。

弗朗索瓦说:“一件令人高兴的事是,我们已经接生了三个新生儿,而且这些孩子还都比较健康。”弗朗索瓦讲到,一个婴儿的母亲受了伤;另一个新生儿在心理上受到创伤,但身体很好;还有一个婴儿没有受伤,但他父亲的双臂和双腿都打着石膏。”

对未来的忧虑

鉴于各个年龄段的地震幸存者所面临的不同问题,弗朗索瓦博士说,她很担心海地的未来。

UNICEF Photo
© World Food Programme/2010
在多米尼加共和国小镇希马尼的贝瑟尔浸信会外,一名海地女孩吃着由联合国儿童基金会和世界粮食计划署提供的高能量食品。这座教堂被临时用作提供医疗、营养和其他服务的中心。

弗朗索瓦说,她很难想象在今后的几周乃至几个月里,如何能够保护儿童免遭拐卖和剥削。她说:“街头到处都是孩子,现在非常容易对儿童下手,特别是有这么多的孤儿。”

联合国儿童基金会媒体干事丽贝卡.福特汉姆(Rebecca Fordham)同意弗朗索瓦的说法,要帮助海地重建得比以前更好,迫切需要建立强有力的儿童保护系统,以保护那些孤儿和失散儿童。福特汉姆说:“恢复工作始于儿童和他们的社区,只有在以儿童为中心的前提下重建,我们才能够建设出一个崭新的海地。”

“守护天使”

许多认识弗朗索瓦医生的人亲切地称她为海地灾民的“守护天使”。 然而,对弗朗索瓦来说,受地震影响的海地儿童显然需要更多的守护者,以确保他们拥有一个更加美好的未来。

她补充说:“我是医生,所能提供的也仅局限于医护工作。”

但是,海地儿童现在需要的,还有很多,很多。


 

 

音频(英文)

伊冯娜.让.弗朗索瓦博士谈自己为海地灾民志愿提供医疗服务的经历。
 音频 播放

搜索

At a glance: Dominican Republic

Haitian-American doctor cares for families evacuated to Dominican Republic

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HAITI/2010/Bakody
Dr. Yvonne Jean-Francois, a Haitian-American, has been volunteering as the medical director of a makeshift facility set up for injured earthquake survivors at a church in the Dominican border town of Jimani.

By Jennifer Bakody

JIMANI, Dominican Republic, 4 February 2010 – Down a dusty dirt road, amidst small houses, grazing goats and dirt yards, there’s an oatmeal-coloured cement church. Inside, the chairs are pushed back to the walls, the polished wooden pews are lined up in rows at the far side, and people are resting on ragged mattresses on the floor.

AUDIO: Listen now

The Evangelista Bethel Baptist Church has transformed itself into a medical step-down centre – which means that once their conditions have stabilized, hundreds of children and adults injured in Haiti’s 12 January earthquake come here to recuperate.

Volunteer doctor from New York
Like other makeshift facilities now operating in Jimani, a small town located on the Dominican border with Haiti, the one set up at the Bethel church is run entirely by volunteers. In the days just after the earthquake, one of those volunteers, Dr. Yvonne Jean-Francois, caught a flight from her home in New York and made her way to Jimani to manage the facility.

In a recent telephone interview with UNICEF Radio, she said she didn’t think twice when asked to sign on.

As a Haitian-American, Dr. Jean-Francois has always felt the need to come back to Haiti from time to time. On this trip, however, she has witnessed scenes she never expected to see, including many amputations, complicated fractures and other grave injuries.

The patients treated at the Bethel church are recovering from surgeries at a nearby hospital. Many of them have potentially life-changing injuries. “Most of these patients – a good 90 per cent of them – are disabled,” said Dr. Jean-Francois. “They have no access to medical care and they have no access to physical therapy,” she added. “I’m not very happy that most likely, they’re going to go to a camp.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Members of the medical staff at a hospital in Jimani, just inside the Dominican Republic’s border with Haiti, prepare medicines for injured survivors of the earthquake.

Special care for children
The children at the church, and toddlers in particular, seem especially fearful, said Dr. Jean-Francois. To help protect and care for the youngest patients, she first separated them from the adults and then found a paediatrician and a nurse to help feed them, bathe them, and play and talk with them.

And in the midst of crisis, there are some positive stories to tell.

“One good thing is that we’ve had three newborns, and these kids are relatively healthy,” said Dr. Jean-Francois. She explained that one of the infants’ mothers is injured, the second is psychologically scarred but physically well, and the third is unhurt – though the third baby’s father has casts on legs and his arms.

Concerns about the future
Given the conditions facing earthquake survivors of all ages, Dr. Jean-Francois said she was worried about Haiti’s future.

“Haitians have lost a major portion of their workforce,” she lamented, “and that’s a problem.... Haitians are very much about work. If they’re disabled, they can’t work. What happens to your society?”

Dr. Jean-Francois also finds it hard to imagine how children can remain safe from trafficking and exploitation in the weeks and months ahead. “It’s just kids on the streets,” she said. “It’s much easier now for people to access children, especially because there are so many orphans.”

UNICEF Media Officer Rebecca Fordham agreed with Dr. Jean-Francois that strong child-protection systems for orphaned and separated children are urgently needed to help Haiti build back better than before. “Recovery starts with children and their communities, and only with children at the centre of the reconstruction effort can we build a new Haiti,” said Ms. Fordham.

UNICEF Image
© World Food Programme/2010
Outside the Bethel Baptist Church in Jimani, Dominican Republic, a Haitian girl snacks on high-energy food supplied by UNICEF and the World Food Programme. The church is a temporary site for medical, nutritional and other services.

A ‘guardian angel’
Many who have come to know Dr. Jean-Francois affectionately call her a ‘guardian angel’ of Haitian earthquake victims. For her, however, it’s clear that quake-affected children need a lot of other guardians to ensure a better future.

“I’m a physician, so I’m sort of restricted to medical care,” she said, adding that Haiti requires much more than that right now.


 

 

Audio

26 January 2010: Haitian-American Dr. Yvonne Jean-Francois talks about providing medical care for children and families injured in the 12 January earthquake in Haiti.
 AUDIO  listen

New enhanced search