丹麦

联合国气候变化会议召开

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Denmark/2009/Aaen
在于哥本哈根举办的联合国气候变化会议上,联合国儿童基金会亲善大使安琪莉.克琪蒂欧(左)与来自八个国家的年轻的联合国儿童基金会“气候大使”共同讨论“音乐与搭建桥梁”。

凯特.多诺万报道

丹麦哥本哈根,2009年12月7日 – 在2009年联合国气候变化会议正式拉开帷幕之际,8名年龄在14至17岁之间的新任联合国儿童基金会“气候大使”,就音乐如何跨越年代和文化的鸿沟帮助阻止气候变化展开了对话。

他们的特殊嘉宾,是两位知名的音乐人安琪莉.克琪蒂欧(Angélique Kidjo)和安谷(Anggun)。她们分别是联合国儿童基金会和粮农组织的亲善大使。

克琪蒂欧士说:“音乐是全球通用的语言,而环境也是人类共同生存的地方。我曾带着我的音乐周游了世界,我也看到了音乐团结全人类的力量 ,无论我们的语言、肤色和文化是什么。”

保护地球

克琪蒂欧认为在与气候变化抗争的过程中迫切需要更多的盟友,这得到了几个年轻人的赞同。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Denmark/2009/Aaen
粮农组织总干事雅克.迪乌夫(左)、联合国儿童基金会亲善大使安琪莉.克琪蒂欧(左三)和粮农组织亲善大使安谷(左五)与联合国儿童基金会气候大使同在哥本哈根的新闻发布会上。

来自赞比亚的17岁的孔德万尼.班达(Kondwani Banda)说: “我认为儿童气候论坛帮助搭建了一些桥梁。等我回去后,我要让娱乐界的人士、我的朋友和家人参与进来,这样我们才能一起与气候变化做斗争。”

孔德万尼所说的儿童论坛于上周在哥本哈根召开。在论坛上,大约160名来自44个国家的年轻人探讨并最终确定了一个保护地球不受气候变化影响的气候宣言。

与此同时,他们还更深一步地理解了气候问题以及在地方层面做出改变所产生的实际意义。他们还建立了一个社交网络,从而更好地与彼此进行联系并分享经验。

卓有成就的青少年活动家

粮农组织的总干事雅克迪.乌夫(Jacques Diouf)在今天的新闻发布会上强调,年轻人是当地社区发生改变的动力。

气候大使们在他们各自的国家都是卓有成就的活动家。除了孔德万尼以外,今天早上专家小组的青少年成员还包括孟加拉的15岁的托里奎尔.穆明(Toriqul Momen)、玻利维亚的17岁的达尔文.佩尼亚(Darwin Peña)、海地的16岁的玛丽.莫伊兹.路易斯安(Marie Moïse Louissaint)、肯尼亚的15岁的劳伦.欧尤达、马尔代夫的15岁的阿克夏木.穆蒙(Axam Maumoon)、塞内加尔的17岁的卡迪迪亚图.迪奥普(Khadidiatou Diop),以及南非的16岁的辛迪.马克乌贝迪(Cindy Makhubedi)。
 
克琪蒂欧女士说:“你环顾四周,然后在自己的国家看到了发生的变化……一些东西因为气候变化而消失了。我们要通过向人们展示这些变化来触动他们。通过真实的例子,我们将能改变他们的想法。”


 

 
搜索

At a glance: Denmark

At Copenhagen conference, using music to combat climate change

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Denmark/2009/Donovan
At the United Nations Climate Change Conference in Copenhagen, FAO Goodwill Ambassador Anggun (left) and UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Angélique Kidjo join young UNICEF Climate Ambassadors from eight countries to discuss 'Music and Building Bridges'.

By Kate Donovan

COPENHAGEN, Denmark, 7 December 2009 – As the United Nations Climate Change Conference 2009 formally opened here today, eight newly named UNICEF 'Climate Ambassadors', aged 14 to 17, launched a dialogue on how music bridges generational and cultural divides in the fight to stop climate change.

Their special guests were two renowned musicians, Angélique Kidjo and Anggun, Goodwill Ambassadors from UNICEF and the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), respectively.

"Music is a universal language, and the environment is a universal place for every human being," said Ms. Kidjo. "I've travelled around the world with my music and I've seen the power of music bringing everybody together despite language, color – despite the culture where we come from."

Protecting the planet

Several of the young people agreed with Ms. Kidjo about the urgent need for more allies in the climate change struggle.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Denmark/2009/Aaen
FAO Director-General Jacques Diouf (far left), UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Angélique Kidjo (third from left) and FAO Goodwill Ambassador Anggun (fifth from left) join UNICEF Climate Ambassadors at a news conference in Copenhagen.

Mohamed Axam Maumoonax"I believe that some bridges have been built through the Children's Climate Forum. When I get back home, I will ensure that I engage entertainers, my friends and my family so that we can engage in the fight," said Kondwani Banda, 17, of Zambia.

The children's forum mentioned by Kondwani was held in Copenhagen last week. At the forum, about 160 young people from 44 countries negotiated and finalized a Climate Declaration on protecting the planet from the impact of climate change.

In the process, they deepened their knowledge of climate issues and practical applications for making real change at the local level. They also established a social network to better stay in touch and share lessons with each other.

Accomplished youth activists

FAO Director-General Jacques Diouf noted at today's news conference that young people are the motivators of change in their local communities.

For their part, the Climate Ambassadors are all accomplished activists in their home countries. In addition to Kondwani, youth participants in this morning's panel included Toriqul Momen, 15, of Bangladesh; Darwin Peña, 17, of Bolivia; Marie Moïse Louissaint, 16, of Haiti; Lourine Oyodah, 15, of Kenya; Mohamed Axam Maumoon, 15, of the Maldives; Khadidiatou Diop, 17, of Senegal; and Cindy Makhubedi, 16, of South Africa.
 
"You go around and you look in your country at things that have changed and ... disappeared because of climate change," said Ms. Kidjo. "We are going to touch people by showing them this. By example, we are going to change their minds."


 

 

Video

Children's lives are disproportionately affected by climate change, but children are also our best hope for stopping it.
 VIDEO  high | low

New enhanced search