丹麦

儿童气候论坛在丹麦开幕

UNICEF Photo
© Pryner Andersen Jonas
参加儿童气候论坛的一位小代表把她的“手”放到一个写满各位代表名字的巨大地球模型上。

里卡多.皮勒斯报道

丹麦哥本哈根,2009年11月30日 – 12月7日到18日,哥本哈根将迎来前来参加联合国气候变化大会的各国领导人和代表团。而在此之前,一群来自44个不同国家的年轻人已经开始在这里探讨我们星球的未来。

 点击此处观看视频

由联合国儿童基金会和哥本哈根市联合主办的儿童气候论坛于11月28日在丹麦首都的市政厅开幕,来自中国、孟加拉、基里巴斯和尼日利亚的160名儿童参加了论坛。

在一小时的开幕式上,小代表们观看了音乐表演并展开了互动讨论。论坛的开幕式传达了这样一条信息:年轻人十分重视气候变化问题并正采取行动提高全球意识。

联合国儿童基金会丹麦国家委员会的捐赠者之一、论坛特邀发言嘉宾弗雷德里克斯堡伯爵亚历山德拉.克里斯蒂娜说:“我们不能接受目前的现状。我们必须坚定不移地斗争,即使我们的对手的势力如此强大,以至于它可以影响风、海洋和季节。它就是气候变化。气候变化是我们造成的,现在我们有责任遏制它。”

伯爵还补充说,人类可能会因问题的严重性而受到挫败,但是重要的是不能失去希望。她说:“我们必须积极地思考,我们也必须鼓励他人和我们一道采取积极的行动。”

交换想法

对儿童代表们来说,这一天开始得很早。上午九点,他们组织的一个展览在大厅开幕。展览体现了他们关于气候变化问题的主要担忧和建议。展览向公众开放,因此吸引了很多恰巧经过哥本哈根市中心市政大厅的好奇民众的关注。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Denmark/2009/Pires
在排练论坛官方歌曲《这是我的世界》之前,来自44个国家的儿童代表们在哥本哈根市政厅拍摄集体照。

15岁的马尔代夫代表阿克宪姆.穆蒙(Axam Maumoon)说:“我希望人们能够听到我们的心声,因为我们是最先受到气候变化影响的国家之一。我们希望能够告诉我们的后代我们为他们保护了地球。”

在布置完展览后,所有儿童代表们第一次聚集在全会厅,这是一个可以建于1905年9月的精致美丽的房间。协调员和儿童代表们交换了彼此的第一印象和想法,为论坛开幕式做准备。

开场致辞结束后,儿童代表们在大厅里开始了自由讨论。他们根据自己国家的情况讨论气候变化问题。

阿克宪姆跟来自丹麦代表团的15岁的丹尼尔.克里斯滕森(Daniel Christensen)说:“请让你的国家帮帮我们。如果海平面开始上升,那么马尔代夫将会受到严重的影响。”丹尼尔回答说:“我们会尽我们的所能支持你们。”

儿童权利与气候变化相结合

在全会讨论儿童气候论坛与哥本哈根联合国气候变化大会的主要协同合作之前,进行了分组讨论。所有的代表分成六组,每组包括30人左右,讨论的主题是上周刚刚庆祝了20周年纪念的《儿童权利公约》。

对很多青少年代表来说,气候变化与权利之间的联系是显而易见的。如果他们被迫生活在一个环境受到破坏的星球上,那么大多数的儿童青少年将无法充分享受生活,因为对他们健康和幸福的威胁将会不断增多。

来自肯尼亚的15岁女生劳琳.欧尤达(Laurine Oyodah)说:“在我的国家,气候变化导致食品和水资源短缺。举例来说,如果喝不到水,很多儿童将无法上学,因为他们需要到处找水,以至于没有时间学习。”

一些成年人还不知道这些儿童们已经清楚看到并了解到的问题。他们继续在全球通过不同的方式破坏地球。但是,有了丹麦论坛青少年代表所表达的承诺,希望保护环境将不再被视为是一种选择,而是一种至关重要的需要以及关乎生存的议题。


如需更多信息、报道或其他材料,请访问“青少年与气候”全球网站
www.uniteforclimate.org


 

 

视频(英文)

由联合国儿童基金会和哥本哈根市联合主办的儿童气候论坛于11月28日在丹麦首都的市政厅开幕,来自中国、孟加拉、基里巴斯和尼日利亚的160名儿童参加了论坛。
 视频  |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

相关链接

搜索

At a glance: Denmark

Children’s Climate Forum opens in Denmark

UNICEF Image
© Pryner Andersen Jonas
A Children’s Climate Forum Ambassador adds her ‘hand’ to a giant globe bearing the names of fellow delegates.

By Ricardo Pires

COPENHAGEN, Denmark, 30 November 2009 – As Copenhagen gets ready to receive world leaders and delegations for the United Nations Climate Change Conference (COP15), from 7 to 18 December, a group of young people from 44 different countries has already started to debate the future of our planet.

Organized by UNICEF and the City of Copenhagen, the Children’s Climate Forum began on 28 November at the capital’s City Hall with 160 children from countries as varied as China, Bangladesh, Kiribati and Nigeria.

The one-hour opening ceremony, enriched by musical performances and interaction between all participants, convened with one main message: young people are taking the issue of climate change seriously and are taking action to increase global awareness.

“We must not accept the way things are,” said Countess Alexandra Christina of Frederiksborg, a patron of the UNICEF National Committee for Denmark and one of the invited speakers at the Forum. “We must stay and fight, even if the forces we are fighting are so great that they have powers to affect the winds, the waters, and the seasons. They are the forces of Climate Change. We created them ourselves, and now it is our responsibility to leash them.”

The Countess added that, while we may get discouraged by the magnitude of the problem, it is important to not lose hope. “We must think positively, and we must encourage others to take positive action along with us,” she said.

Exchange of ideas

The day started early for the child delegates. At nine in the morning, an exhibition they had helped produce opened in the main hall. It depicted their main concerns and recommendations regarding the issue of climate change. The display, open to the general public, attracted a lot of curious eyes that happened to be passing by the City Hall area in the heart of Copenhagen.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Denmark/2009/Pires
Climate Ambassadors from 44 countries gather for a group photo at Copenhagen City Hall before rehearsing ‘It’s My World’, the official song of the Forum.

“I expect us to be heard as one of the first countries to be affected by climate change,” said 15-year-old Mohamed Axam Maumoon, from the Maldivian delegation. “We want to be able to tell our children that we preserved the planet for them.”

After setting up the exhibition, all the children got together for the first time at the plenary hall, a charming room dating to September 1905. Facilitators and child delegates exchanged first impressions and ideas, breaking to prepare for the opening session.

Once the initial remarks and speeches were finished, a discussion began in the main hall, with all child delegates freely inviting each other to discuss climate issues related to their specific countries.

“Please ask your country to help us out. The Maldives will be very affected if the oceans start to rise,” Mohamed said to 15-year-old Daniel Christensen, from the Danish delegation. “We’ll do our best to support you,” Daniel replied. 

Linking child rights to climate change

Later in the afternoon, before the plenary session to discuss the main synergies between the Children’s Climate Forum and the upcoming COP15, all delegates broke into six groups - of about 30 children each - to talk about the Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC), which celebrated its 20th anniversary last week.

For many youth delegates the correlation between climate change and child rights was obvious. If they are forced to live in an environmentally compromised planet, most children won’t be able to enjoy their lives fully, since threats to their health and wellbeing will increase.

“Climate change causes food and water shortage in my country,” said 15-year-old Laurine Oyodah, from Kenya. “With nothing to drink, for example, many children don’t go to school because they need to search for water and have no time to study.”

What these children see and understand so clearly has yet to be grasped by some adults, who persist in damaging the planet in many contexts around the world. But with the commitment demonstrated by the young delegates attending the Forum in Denmark, it is hoped that protecting the environment will no longer be seen as just an option, but as a vital need and a matter of survival.
 
For more information, stories, and other materials, please visit the global website on youth and climate www.uniteforclimate.org


 

 

CRC @ 20

New enhanced search