科特迪瓦

联合国儿童基金会为由于冲突而流离失所的家庭空运的第一批物资到达科特迪瓦

美国纽约,2011年4月18日 – 长达四个月的冲突过后,科特迪瓦政坛动荡的阴霾终于逐渐散去。自去年十一月总统大选导致危机以来,联合国儿童基金会在本周末第一次能够向该国家空运医疗、营养、教育、饮用水和卫生相关的物资。

2011年4月16日:联合国儿童基金会记者克里斯.奈尔斯 (Chris Niles) 报道,人道主义援助物资已空运到国内发生冲突的科特迪瓦。  在Realplayer中播放

 

多架专用货机于 4 月 16 日分别安全抵达科特迪瓦首都阿比让、西部地区以及中部地区布瓦凯。

“要让我们的帮助覆盖整个阿比让地区,实施起来仍然很困难,联合国儿童基金会正在不断扩大范围,向民众提供急需的救援物资。”联合国儿童基金会驻科特迪瓦代表埃尔韦.卢杜威克.德里斯(Hervé Ludovic de Lys) 说。

直到今天,科特迪瓦国内的冲突导致人道主义机构向流离失所的儿童和家庭提供急需的日常必需品依然很困难。就在不久前,有工作人员被困在联合国儿童基金会办事处长达 12 天。当他们终于可以在一个仓库着手发放救援物资时,却亲眼目睹了三个人被杀害。

食物和饮用水严重短缺

危机导致科特迪瓦的医疗和卫生设施被毁坏,继而出现另一个严重问题 - 疾病的蔓延。“爆发麻疹的风险很大,在科特迪瓦南部地区已经报告了三例脊髓灰质炎病例。形势非常令人担忧。”联合国儿童基金会紧急联络专家加勒.保森(Gaelle Bausson) 说。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Côte d'Ivoire/2011/Gouegnon
共计30 多吨的空运紧急救援物资箱在科特迪瓦的阿比让卸货,为流离失所的儿童和家庭提供急需的日常必需品。

此外,在一些地区,发生了哄抢基本药品事件。联合国儿童基金会已为阿比让的8000名患者发放了基本药品,还为营养不足的儿童发放了饼干。

联合国儿童基金会与其合作伙伴同时还在加紧为水处理厂遭毁坏的地区提供安全的饮用水。援助组织正在与政府部门合作,共同努力利用发电机来恢复水处理厂的正常运行,同时向公众宣传如何让未处理的水喝起来相对安全。

物资流通不便使救援过程异常艰难,但不安全的水源则是一个严重的威胁,尤其针对儿童。

满足流离失所的民众的需求

同时,冲突导致数十万民众无家可归。其中一部分人逃到邻国利比里亚,大部分则滞留在科特迪瓦境内的营地。位于科特迪瓦西部城镇迪埃奎的天主堂(Catholic Mission) 营地目前是27000余名流离失所的难民的临时家园。这个营地需要大量物资。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Côte d'Ivoire/2011/Gouegnon
联合国儿童基金会工作人员在科特迪瓦的利克斯.乌弗埃-博瓦尼(Felix Houphouet Boigny) 机场清点医疗物资清单。

保森女士说:“食物、饮用水以及环境卫生设施严重短缺。尽管多个人道主义组织已经付出极大努力来提供帮助,也只解决了 37% 的需求。”

41 岁的巴林.波纳.西多妮 (Bah Bonao Sidonie) 住进营地已有三个星期了。她的儿子因患腹泻不治身亡,而她的三个兄弟也死在了冲突战争中。

“我没有一点点力气哀悼儿子的离去。我甚至哭不出来,因为我的胃已经饿空了。没有水喝,也没有东西吃。”她说。

 


 

 

搜索

Côte d'Ivoire

UNICEF unloads first supplies for families displaced by conflict in Côte d'Ivoire

NEW YORK, USA, 18 April 2011 – After four months of conflict, the dark clouds of political uncertainty are slowly clearing in Côte d’Ivoire. For the first time since the crisis began following presidential elections there last November, UNICEF was able to airlift medical, nutrition, education, water and sanitation supplies to the country this weekend.

VIDEO: 16 April 2011 - UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports on the arrival of humanitarian supplies that have been airlifted to conflict-stricken Côte d'Ivoire.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Chartered cargo planes reached the Ivorian capital, Abidjan, as well as Man in the west and Bouake in the country’s central region, on 16 April.

“It remains difficult for our teams to circulate in Abidjan, but UNICEF is slowly but steadily reaching out to the people to deliver much-needed aid,” said UNICEF Designated Representative in Côte d’Ivoire Hervé Ludovic de Lys.

Until now, the violence in Côte d’Ivoire has made it almost impossible for humanitarian agencies to provide basic necessities to displaced children and families in desperate need. At one point recently, staff members were trapped in the UNICEF office for 12 days. When they finally emerged to distribute aid from a warehouse, they witnessed three people being killed.

Severe food and water shortage

With the country’s health and sanitation infrastructure crumbling due to the crisis, the spread of disease is another serious threat. “There is a high risk of measles outbreak, and there have been three cases of polio in the south of the country already. The situation is extremely worrying,” said UNICEF Emergency Communications Specialist Gaelle Bausson.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Côte d'Ivoire/2011/Gouegnon
Boxes that are among more than 30 tonnes of airlifted emergency aid are off-loaded in Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire, to help provide basic necessities for displaced children and families in desperate need.

Moreover, supplies of essential medicines have been looted in a number of places. UNICEF has distributed essential drugs for an initial 8,000 patients in Abidjan, along with biscuits to treat children suffering from malnutrition.

UNICEF and its partners have also been rushing to provide safe water in areas where treatment plants have broken down. Aid organizations are working with the government to restore water treatment by using generators, as well as informing the public about how to make untreated water safe to drink.

Logistics have made this process very difficult, however, and unsafe water is a grave danger – especially for young children.

Meeting needs of the displaced

Meanwhile, hundreds of thousands of people remain displaced by the conflict. While many fled to neighbouring Liberia, the majority have sought shelter in camps inside Côte D’Ivoire. The Catholic Mission camp in the western Ivorian town of Duékoué, for example, is now home to more than 27,000 people who were forced to leave their villages. And needs at the camp are overwhelming.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Côte d'Ivoire/2011/Gouegnon
UNICEF worker checks inventory of medical supplies at Felix Houphouet Boigny airport in Côte d'Ivoire.

“There is shortage of food and water and sanitation,” said Ms. Bausson. “Even with a big effort from all humanitarian organizations, only 37 per cent of the needs are covered.”

Bah Bonao Sidonie, 41, has been living at the camp for the last three weeks. She lost her son to diarrhoeal disease, and three of her brothers have died in the fighting.

“I couldn’t even mourn my son’s loss,” she said. “I couldn’t even cry because I had nothing in my stomach. There is no water to drink or food to eat.”


 

 

New enhanced search