科特迪瓦

联合国儿童基金会为由于科特迪瓦持续武装冲突而流离失所的民众空运紧急救援物资

UNICEF Photo
© IRIN/Nancy Palus/2011
一个儿童拿着食品供应票在迪埃奎的天主教堂 (Catholic Mission) 排队等候分发食物。

加勒.保森报道

科特迪瓦迪埃奎/马恩城,2011 年4月15日 –“迪埃奎 (Duékoué) 地处偏远的西部,我们要设法重新回到过去正常的生活。”39岁的伊布拉希姆说。他是一个八口之家的家长,他们一家在科特迪瓦西部的马恩 (Man) 城一处营地寻求庇护。

音频:现在收听

“我们慌忙地从家中逃离,食物还在火上,卡拉希尼柯夫自动步枪的开火声就在耳旁。我姐姐、我怀孕的妻子、我还有孩子们艰难地跋涉了25公里。”他指着三个小孩和两个大孩子补充道。“我们需要食物和医疗救助,我们需要活下去。”

形势依然严峻

在科特迪瓦西部地区和主要城市阿比让发生政治僵局和武装冲突四个月后,大选导致的冲突终于渐渐平息,科特迪瓦的局势正在逐渐恢复正常。

尽管洛朗.巴博已经被捕,科特迪瓦的人道主义现状依然不容乐观,约75万人为了躲避武装冲突离开了家园,15万人逃往邻国利比里亚。更为严峻的是,两周以来,有五百万民众在他们位于阿比让的家中孤立无援,几乎没有食物、水和任何药品。

在西部,像伊布拉希姆这样的人以及家庭的状况令人堪忧,特别是在马恩、吉格洛和达纳城市以及迪埃奎地区。在那里的27500人中,大部分是妇女和儿童,在天主教堂(Catholic Mission) 不到两个足球场大的营地中寻求庇护。“过度拥挤是最迫切需要解决的问题。”代表团负责人法兹.西普里安.阿后纳(Father Cyprien Ahoune) 说,他与联合国儿童基金会工作人员以及其他人道主义工作者一起负责对流离失所者的需求进行响应。

对于联合国儿童基金会来说,最紧迫的风险是麻疹和腹泻等流行病可能的蔓延。

“最近涌入的2万人使营地资源处于超负荷状态。尽管所有人道主义工作者正在努力工作,但仍然无法有效地满足干净的饮水和环境卫生设施的需求。现在迫切需要建立更多营地以改善人们的生活条件和防止疾病蔓延。”联合国儿童基金会的华盛顿官员巴齐尔.杰杰(Basile Djedjro)强调。

明显的紧张状况

联合国儿童基金会与合作伙伴们一起,每天向营地提供15万升洁净水,以保持最近建成的80个公共厕所的卫生。但是这个数字还远远不够。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Denmark/2011
联合国儿童基金会正在准备自武装冲突开始以来的首次空运。32 吨人道主义救援物资将于4 月16 日抵达阿比让等曾经卷入武装冲突的城市。

“为了达到最低的人道主义标准,我们还需要再提供两倍以上的水,并另外建造另外400余座公共厕所。”联合国儿童基金会负责中西非区域的华盛顿专员弗朗索瓦.比莱 (François Bellet) 解释说。

“我们目前的条件仅够容纳1千人,根据目前情况,最需要做的是将部分人员转移到其他营地。”法兹.西普里安表示。

只有少数人愿意返回自己的家。只要一提及一些地区仍然存在的不稳定局势以及明显的种族冲突,当地的民众还心有余悸。地方行政长官和其他当地政府人员已经设法找到了其他营地,联合国儿童基金会和其他非政府组织合作伙伴正在努力工作,以便为这些营地建立基本的服务设施。

联合国儿童基金会正在空运救援物资

另一个主要问题是提供医疗援助面临众多问题,包括由于局势不稳定而导致的药品短缺、许多医务人员无法工作、整个供应链已经断了。

“我的两个小孙子染上了重病,咳嗽、发烧,其中一个上周死在了营地中,”42 岁的爷爷特赫.菲.厄利斯特 (Tehe Fie Ernest) 喃喃地说,他坐在家中,看护着他另一个睡熟的孙子。“他非常虚弱,已经一星期没有吃东西了。我们收到了营地提供的药品,我希望他能尽快好起来。”

好消息是,连续数周以来,联合国儿童基金会终于第一次能够向这个国家空运救援物资,包括药品、营养品和教育用品、水和卫生设备等总计超过60吨。

“要让我们的帮助覆盖整个阿比让地区,实施起来仍然很困难,联合国儿童基金会正在不断扩大范围,向民众提供急需的救援物资。”联合国儿童基金会驻科特迪瓦代表埃尔韦.卢杜威克.德里斯 (Hervé Ludovic de Lys) 说。"

多架货运专机于4月16日分别安全抵达科特迪瓦首都阿比让、西部地区以及中部地区布瓦凯。


 


 

 

音频

2011年4月14日: 联合国儿童基金会紧急联络专家加勒.保森(Gaelle Bausson) 谈论科特迪瓦西部不断涌现的人道主义危机及在为受到最严重影响的家庭和儿童运送紧急救援物资过程中碰到的重重困难。

音频收听

搜索

Côte d'Ivoire

UNICEF airlifts emergency aid for those displaced by the conflict in Côte d’Ivoire

UNICEF Image
© IRIN/Nancy Palus/2011
A child holds his food coupon in the line for meal distribution at the Catholic Mission in Duékoué.

By Gaelle Bausson

DUÉKOUÉ / MAN, Côte d’Ivoire, 15 April 2011 – “Duékoué is the wild west, we need to find our way back to normal,” said Ibrahim, 39, head of an extended family of eight who found shelter at one of the sites for displaced people in the city of Man in western Côte d’Ivoire.

AUDIO: Listen now

“We have fled from our homes leaving our meal on the fire, Kalashnikovs were firing. We walked for 25 kilometers, my sister, my pregnant wife and I with all those kids,” he adds pointing at three young children and two adolescents. “We need food and health care, we need to get on with our lives.” 

Situation remains dire

After four months of political stalemate and battles in the West and the country’s main city Abidjan, the dark clouds of post electoral violence and fighting are slowly parting, making way for a path to recovery in Côte d’Ivoire.

Despite the capture of Laurent Gbagbo, the humanitarian situation remains deeply troubling as approximately 750,000 people have fled their homes in fear of violence and 150,000 have left to neighboring Liberia. Adding to an already dire scenario, five million people have been stranded in their homes in the last two weeks in Abidjan, with little or no access to food, water and health care.

In the West, the situation of displaced people like Ibrahim and his family is worrying, particularly in the cities of Man, Guiglo and Danane and especially in Duékoué. There, 27,500 people, mostly women and children, are sheltered on a site at the Catholic Mission that is not bigger than two soccer stadiums. “Overcrowding is the most pressing issue,” said Father Cyprien Ahoune who heads the mission and work with UNICEF and other humanitarian actors to respond to the needs of the displaced.

For UNICEF, the most pressing risk is epidemics like measles and diarrheal diseases.

“The recent influx of 20,000 new arrivals has strained the resources at the camp beyond limits. Despite the hard work of all humanitarian actors, clean water and sanitation needs are not covered appropriately and it’s urgent to set up other sites to improve living conditions and prevent epidemics,” stressed Basile Djedjro, WASH Officer for UNICEF.

Palpable tension

UNICEF and partners are working to provide 150,000 liters of clean water every day to the camp, in order to maintain the 80 latrines that have been constructed to date - but much more is needed.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Denmark/2011
UNICEF prepares for its first airlift since the fighting begun. 32 metric tons of humanitarian supplies will land in embattled cities like Abidjan on the 16th of April.

“To respect the minimum humanitarian standards, we need to provide around two times more water and build more than 400 other latrines,” explained François Bellet, Regional WASH Specialist for UNICEF in West and Central Africa.

“We could manage with 1,000 people, but as it is, the most pressing is to relocate people in other sites,” said Father Cyprien.

Only a few are ready to return to their homes and wary of the insecurity that still remains in some areas and of the inter-ethnic tensions that are palpable as soon as you discuss with the people of the region. The Prefect and other local authorities have identified other sites and UNICEF and partner NGOS are hard at work to set up basic services on these.

UNICEF airlifting supplies

Another major concern is providing health care in a context of shortage of medicine, many medical staff not reporting to work and a broken supply chain due to insecurity.

“My twin grandsons have fallen sick with cough and fever and one of them died here at the camp last week,” said Tehe Fie Ernest, 42, the grandfather, sitting in the middle of his family and watching over his other grandson, asleep. “He has been very weak and has not been eating for a week, but we received medicine at the camp and I hope he’s going to be better.”

The good news is that for the first time in weeks, UNICEF will be able to airlift over 60 tons of medical, nutrition, education, water and sanitation supplies to the country.

“It remains difficult for our teams to circulate in Abidjan but UNICEF is slowly but steadily reaching out to the people to deliver much needed aid,” said Hervé Ludovic de Lys, UNICEF Designated Representative in Côte d’Ivoire.

The chartered cargo planes are set to reach Abidjan, Man in the west of the country and Bouake in the center on the 16th of April.


 

 

Audio

14 April 2011: UNICEF Emergency Communications Specialist Gaelle Bausson talks about the growing humanitarian crisis in western Côte d’Ivoire and the struggle to reach the worst-affected children and families with aid.
AUDIO listen

New enhanced search