科特迪瓦

支持受冲突影响的科特迪瓦年轻人重新融入社会

UNICEF Photo: Côte d’Ivoire, children affected by conflict
© UNICEF Côte d’Ivoire/2007/Westerbeek
联合国儿童基金会驻科特迪瓦办事处及其合作伙伴所支持的计划帮助菲罗曼接受了基础教育和职业培训。

萨莎.外斯特布力克报道

2007年7月6日,科特迪瓦格奈坎奏。在一个离利比里亚边境2公里的小村庄,格奈坎奏,年轻的菲罗曼正在学习成为一位女裁缝。她正聚精会神的量布料来做一条裙子。但几年前,她的生活却和现在完全不一样。

2002年,在一场利比里亚和塞拉利昂的军阀和战士参与的冲突中,叛军控制了科特迪瓦的北部地区。当叛军来到格奈坎奏的时候,菲罗曼只有13岁,她的父亲是当时遇害人之一。

被虏和逃脱

她回忆道:“听到枪声的时候,我在学校。我们全都跑去躲在灌木丛中。”但是她很快就被发现,她腿部中枪,然后被带去利比里亚为15个战士做饭。

在她躲在灌木丛里的时候,菲罗曼怀孕了。她刚生完孩子两个月,新生儿就夭折了。菲罗曼最终和另外一个同村的女孩西维亚逃了出来。

菲罗曼说:“我们村里被虏走的十个女孩都回了家,可是,有的男孩就再没有见到过了。”

UNICEF Photo: Côte d’Ivoire, children affected by conflict
© UNICEF Côte d’Ivoire/2007/Westerbeek
受冲突影响的科特迪瓦儿童仍挣扎着重新融入社会。

重新融入社会的挣扎

成千上万的儿童因科特迪瓦的冲突局势受到了精神创伤而觉得难于重新融入他们的社区。欧洲委员会人道主义援助部门已经向超过1,500名曾与该国武装组织有关的儿童提供资助。

联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴,如地方非政府组织 - 泛美卫生组织,向这些年轻人提供必要的卫生保健和社会心理上的支持。另外,一个联合国儿童基金会支持的项目为这些儿童提供培养职业技能和接收基础教育的机会。

菲罗曼从去年开始学习缝纫。她的朋友西维亚,现年18岁,已经报名加入了一个养鱼项目。她们两个还参加了专门的课程,学习经营生意所需的基本读写和计算的技能。和其他许多年轻人一样,她们还在挣扎着重新回到正常的生活。

UNICEF Photo: Côte d’Ivoire, children affected by conflict
© UNICEF Côte d’Ivoire/2007/Westerbeek
西维亚正在学习养鱼并希望能有一天经营自己的生意。

我全部的希望

 “我觉得我的脑子还没有从我所看到的那么多死亡和破坏中回过神来,”西维亚羞涩地解释道。“当我从灌木丛中回来的时候,我丈夫已经抛弃了我,留下我一个人照顾我们的孩子。他很怕我。”

西维亚仍然感到很难与身边的人沟通,不过她还在继续接受帮助。泛美卫生组织的项目努力为孩子们创造一个让他们感到安全、感到他们有价值和受赏识的环境。

“我很高兴能够学习技能,也非常感激能有这样的机会,”西维亚说。“我希望五年后,你能看到我在一间店里卖鱼,即使只是沙丁鱼。这间店会有一个大大的牌子:‘西维亚的店’这就是我全部的希望。”


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会的萨莎.外斯特布力克报道在科特迪瓦受冲突影响的儿童如何重新融入社会。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

欧洲共同体人道主义办事处与联合国儿童基金会合作伙伴关系

欧洲共同体人道主义办事处网站(英文)
(外部链接,在新窗口中打开)

搜索

Côte d'Ivoire

Support for the reintegration of young Ivoirians affected by conflict

UNICEF Image: Côte d’Ivoire, children affected by conflict
© UNICEF Côte d’Ivoire/2007/Westerbeek
Philomène receives basic education and vocational training thanks to programmes supported by UNICEF Côte d’Ivoire and its partners.

By Sacha Westerbeek

GNAKANZOU, Côte d’Ivoire, 6 July 2007 – In Gnakanzou, a small village about 2 km from the Liberian border, young Philomène is learning to become a seamstress. With full concentration, she is measuring cloth which she will make into a skirt. Several years ago, however, her life was very different.

In 2002, rebel forces seized the northern half of Côte d’Ivoire in a conflict that drew in warlords and fighters from Liberia and Sierra Leone. Philomène was 13 years old when the rebels came to Gnakanzou. Her father was among those killed.

Abduction and escape

“I heard shooting when I was at school. We all went into hiding in the bush,” she recalls, adding that she was soon found, shot in the leg and taken to Liberia, where she had to cook for a group of 15 fighters.

During her stay in the bush, Philomène became pregnant. Two months after she gave birth, the newborn died. Eventually, Philomène escaped along with Sylvie, a girl from her village.

“All 10 girls who had been abducted from our village returned home,” Philomène says. “However, some of the boys have never been seen again.”

UNICEF Image: Côte d’Ivoire, children affected by conflict
© UNICEF Côte d’Ivoire/2007/Westerbeek
Ivoirian children affected by conflict still struggle to reintegrate into their communities.

The struggle to reintegrate

Thousands of children have been traumatized by conflict in Côte d’Ivoire and have difficulty reintegrating into their communities. The European Commission’s Humanitarian Aid Department has provided funding to assist over 1,500 children formerly associated with armed groups in the country.

UNICEF and partners such as PAHO, a local non-governmental organization, are providing these youths with much-needed health care and psychosocial support. In addition, a UNICEF-supported programme provides an opportunity for children to develop vocational skills and receive a basic education.

Last year, Philomène began to study tailoring. Her friend Sylvie, now 18, has enrolled in a fish-breeding project. Both girls attend specialized classes where they learn basic literacy and numeracy skills that will be useful for doing business. Like so many others here, they continue their struggle to return to normal life.

UNICEF Image: Côte d’Ivoire, children affected by conflict
© UNICEF Côte d’Ivoire/2007/Westerbeek
Sylvie is learning fish breeding and hopes to run her own business some day.

‘All I hope for’ 

“I feel that my head is still not in place, as I have seen too much death and destruction,” Sylvie explains shyly. “When I came back from the bush, my husband had abandoned me, leaving me to care for our child. He was afraid of me.”

Sylvie still has difficulty communicating with those close to her, but she continues to receive help. The PAHO project seeks to create an environment where children feel safe, valued and appreciated for who they are.

“I am so happy to learn a skill, and I am very grateful for this opportunity,” says Sylvie. “I hope that in five years time, you will find me in a shop, selling fish – even if they are only sardines. The shop will have a big sign: ‘Sylvie’s Boutique.’ That is all I hope for.”


 

 

Video

UNICEF’s Sacha Westerbeek reports on children affected by conflict in Côte d’Ivoire and their reintegration into society.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search