哥斯达黎加

议员们采取行动着手解决拉丁美洲和加勒比海地区的儿童暴力问题

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video/2009
在哥斯达黎加的哈里洛,孩子们和社区警察一起参加体育活动。这是联合国儿童基金会支持的一个防止暴力项目。

哥斯达黎加圣何塞,2009年9月4日 – 来自14个拉美国家的30多位议员上周聚集在哥斯达黎加的圣何塞,讨论各国议会应在打击暴力侵害儿童问题上所起的作用。暴力侵害儿童问题是该区域最严重的一个社会问题。

 点击此处观看视频

各国议会联盟(IPU)秘书长安德斯.约翰松(Anders Johnsson)说:“我们必须充分利用我们的立法能力, 我们可以而且必须确保我们的社会建立起有效的法律和运作的机构,使儿童能够享有一个没有暴力的环境。”

对儿童至关重要的合作伙伴

在动员议员制定鼓励儿童发展的政策方面,各国议会联盟是联合国儿童基金会的一个至关重要的合作伙伴。

拉丁美洲和加勒比海地区是全世界最暴力的一个地区,儿童和青少年也不能幸免。该地区每年有600万15岁以下的儿童在世界各地遭受虐待和忽视。

拉丁美洲各地凶杀案发生率最高的是年龄在15至19岁之间的青少年。 在这个地区只有几个国家禁止学校体罚学生。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Costa Rica/2009
智利参议员胡安.帕伯罗.莱特列尔(Juan Pablo Letelier )在哥斯达黎加的圣何塞与一名儿童一起跳绳。在联合国儿童基金会支持的项目中,青少年和警察一起进行娱乐活动。

消除暴力

议员们就范围广泛的一系列行动达成了一致,以帮助防止并消除该区域针对儿童的暴力问题。例如,采用禁止所有儿童暴力的立法;以及为解决这一问题而配置安排更多的资源。

议员们还同意设法确保这些国家在实施的过程中,体现《联合国秘书长关于暴力侵害儿童问题的研究》中的建议。

另一个关键问题是需要儿童的返馈意见和儿童自己的想法。。

联合国儿童基金会驻哥斯达黎加代表卡斯塔.瑞卡.塞加.托罗(Costa Rica Seija Toro)说:“让孩子们参与制定和实施防止暴力的政策非常重要,他们的参与将是长期成功的基础。”

体育和娱乐

立法者们参观了联合国儿童基金会支持的儿童友好县的倡议活动,这些活动是针对经常受暴力伤害的弱势儿童。他们目睹了儿童和社区警察参与体育及康乐活动,这可以帮助防止暴力问题。

玻利维亚众议院议长埃德蒙都.诺韦罗.阿吉拉尔(Edmundo Novillo Aguilar)说:“让儿童和警察在有趣的活动形式中互动,能够建立彼此的信任,并使社区更加安全。孩子们学到团队精神和尊重的价值,这将有助于我们为他们的人生做好准备。”


 

 

视频(英文)

2009年8月27日:联合国儿童基金会记者爱杜尔都.库尔报道制止拉美暴力侵害儿童的工作。
 视频   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

相关链接

议员们为母亲和孩子们带来改变
 视频

搜索

At a glance: Costa Rica

Parliamentarians act on violence against children in Latin America and the Caribbean

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Children playing sports with community police as part of a UNICEF-supported violence-prevention programme in Hatillo, Costa Rica.

SAN JOSE, Cost Rica, 4 September 2009 – More than 30 parliamentarians from 14 Latin American countries gathered this past week in San Jose, Costa Rica, to discuss the role of parliaments in combating one of the region’s most serious social problems – violence against children.

VIDEO: Watch now

“We have to make good use of our capacity to legislate and hold government and public authorities to account,” said Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU) Secretary-General Anders Johnsson. “We can and must make sure that our societies have effective laws and functioning institutions in place so that every child can enjoy an environment that is free of violence.”

A critical partner for children

The IPU is a critical UNICEF partner in mobilizing parliamentarians to create policies that encourage children’s development.

Latin America and the Caribbean are among the most violence-plagued areas in the world, and children and adolescents are not spared. Every year in the region, 6 million children under the age of 15 suffer abuse and neglect.

Across Latin America, the highest homicide rate is among 15 to 19-year-olds. Only a limited number of countries in the region have banned corporal punishment in schools.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Costa Rica/2009
Chilean Senator Juan Pablo Letelier jumps rope with a child at a UNICEF-supported programme in San Jose, Costa Rica, where young people and police participate in recreational activities together.

Preventing violence

The parliamentarians agreed on wide-ranging actions to help prevent and eliminate violence against children in the region – from adopting legislation that prohibits such violence to allocating more resources toward solving the problem.

Parliamentarians also agreed to try to ensure that countries implement recommendations laid out in the UN Secretary General’s Study on Violence Against Children.

Another key point is the need for feedback and ideas from children themselves.

“It’s important that children participate in creating and implementing violence-prevention policies,” said UNICEF Representative in Costa Rica Seija Toro. Their participation is essential for long-term success.”

‘Teamwork and respect’

The lawmakers visited a UNICEF-supported ‘Child Friendly Counties’ initiative that targets vulnerable children who are often victims of violence. They saw firsthand how sport and recreation activities that involve children and community police can help prevent violence.

“Having children and police interact in fun ways builds trust and makes the community safer,” said the President of the Chamber of Deputies of Bolivia, Edmundo Novillo Aguilar. “The children learn values of teamwork and respect, which help us prepare them for life.”


 

 

Video

27 August 2009:
UNICEF correspondent Eduardo Cure reports on efforts to stop violence against children in Latin America.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search