刚果

非洲儿童日:挽救生命,为刚果原著儿童的权利而战

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Congo/2009/Williams
10岁的阿尔贝特为治疗雅司病接受青霉素注射。雅司病是一种接触性传染的皮肤病,已在世界上的大多数地区消失,但在森林里居住的社区中,该病还很常见。

杉萨.布洛门报道

每年的6月16日被定为非洲儿童日,该纪念日由“非洲统一组织”于1991年发起。今年的主题是“适合儿童生存的非洲:呼吁加快促进儿童生存的行动”。以下是关于这一主题的相关报道之一 。

刚果莫斯克村,2009年6月15日 -  上午,联合国难民署的一艘木制机动船停泊在班吉河的码头,船上的乘客是一支流动卫生队,卫生工作者们爬上陡峭的河堤。来自“非洲医生”组织的医生和天主教的传教士历经五个小时的行程来到莫斯克村,这个坐落在森林边上的小村庄。

卫生工作者们前来访问巴卡族,即非洲中部的森林里的15个原著民族之一。 就像刚果民主共和国的很多其他原著民一样,巴卡族基本没有医院和诊所。来访的医生向他们提供了至关重要的保健服务,例如帮助他们进行出生登记。

歌舞迎接

土著社区的人们很高兴能获得卫生队带来的疫苗、治疗和药品,巴卡人用音乐和歌唱来迎接医疗队。随着越来越多的人加入舞蹈行列,鼓点也越来越快。从灌木丛中走出来,祝福这些卫生工作者。这个“神”从头到脚都盖着芦苇杆,在土坯房周围的空地上跳跃。孩子们跟在其后,兴奋地喊叫着。

虽然天气炎热,庆祝活动仍在以疯狂的节奏进行着。巴卡是以打猎为生的15个土著民族之一,他们集中在非洲中部的森林里,以热爱音乐和身体的耐力及旺盛精力著称。

巴卡人用音乐和歌唱来迎接医疗队。一个打扮成森林之神“公吉(Jongi)”的舞者从灌木丛里出现,他从头到脚都盖着芦苇杆,在土坯房周围的空地上跳跃。

随着越来越多的人加入舞蹈行列,鼓点也越来越快。最终,音乐和舞蹈慢慢结束,社区居民聚集起来等待接受重要的保健服务。

修女安丝利亚(Sister Ancilla)是一位尼日利亚尼姑,还是受过培训的护士。她已经在这个国家工作了两年。她深信,流动卫生队在班吉河沿岸上下移动工作为原著儿童提供服务,这对儿童的福祉至关重要。 

对于10岁的阿尔贝特.曼伽玛来说,为他注射青霉素时的疼痛很快会被忘记。他患有雅司病,这是一种极易感染的皮肤传染病。在世界上的许多地区都根除了这种病,但在居住于森林里的社区,这种病还是很常见。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Congo/2009/Williams
森林之神“公吉(Jongi)”欢迎流动卫生队来到莫斯克村,该村位于刚果北部利夸拉省的偏远地区。

 “这项工作对他们非常重要,因为如果你忽略他们,抛弃他们,许多儿童将会死掉。”

可医治的疾病

10岁的阿尔贝特.曼伽玛(Albert Mangamma)患有雅司病,这是一种极易感染的、罕见的皮肤传染病。但对于住在森林里的居民来说,这种病还是很常见。很多常见的热带皮肤病,如雅司病和麻风病,可以很容易地用青霉素治疗。

修女安丝利亚说:“父母都非常明白治疗的重要性,但孩子们并不理解。所以,要给他们打针时,他们就开始哭。”

与刚果全国的平均数相比,原著民的死亡率比较高,疟疾和麻疹也很常见。

困难是缺乏卫生设施,并且难以获得治疗。对刚果原著民的歧视也是根深蒂固的。 

出生登记保障权利

来自刚果非政府组织“非洲医生”的鲁芬.玛弗塔(Rufin Mafouta)医生坐在树荫下摆放的桌子旁,耐心地与家长交谈,填写出生登记表。

玛弗塔医生说:“出生登记是为了保障这些儿童的权利,因为它能给他们国籍、上学的权利、获得其他社会服务的权利,同时赋予儿童合法的公民地位。所以说,出生登记很重要。”

玛弗塔医生的团队有20人,他负责该省的三个区。这是推动原著民获得公民平等权利的关键一步。

避免被边缘化

移动卫生诊所及出生登记项目是由政府批准的更大范围的国家计划的一部分,该计划还受到了联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴的支持,以帮助这些原著社区克服边缘化问题。

目前,一项规定原著民权利的法律草案正待获刚果议会的批准。

对村长安托尼.布旺(Antoine Bwange)来说,保持住他们的传统是非常重要的。他希望他的儿子们了解森林的方式。他想让他们知道他们居住地的天然智慧,并尊重自然赐予的礼物。然而,他也希望他的孩子们能够探索外面的世界。

他说:“我不希望他们丢掉森林文化,我会继续教育我的孩子们。”


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会的杉萨.布洛门报道刚果偏远村庄的儿童保护工作。
 视频 高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

At a glance: Congo

Day of the African Child: Saving lives and fighting for the rights of indigenous children

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Congo/2009/Williams
Ten year old Albert is given an injection of penicillin to treat yaws, a contagious skin disease that has been eradicated in much of the world, but common amongst forest dwelling communities.

By Shantha Bloemen

The Day of the African Child has been marked on 16 June every year since 1991, when it was first initiated by the Organization of African Unity. This year’s theme is 'Africa Fit for Children:  A Call for Accelerated Action Towards Child Survival'. This is one in a series of stories on the theme.

MOSCOW VILLAGE, Republic of Congo, 15 June 2009 – It is mid-morning, when a UN Refugee Agency boat docks along the Bangui River. The passengers – a team of mobile health workers – climb up the steep bank. Physicians from ‘Doctors for Africa’ and other volunteers have travelled five hours to Moscow, a small village on the edge of the forest.

The health workers have come to visit the Baka, one of 15 indigenous ethnic groups in the forests of central Africa. For the Baka, like many indigenous people in the Republic of Congo, access to hospitals and clinics is practically non-existent. The visiting doctors offer vital health interventions, as well as access to birth registration.

Greeted with music and dance

The health workers are greeted with music and singing.  A dancer dressed as a ‘Jongi’ – a magical spirit from the forest – appears from the bushes, covered from head to toe in dried reeds and dances in the open space around their mud brick homes.

The drumming picks up pace, as more and more people join in the festivities. But eventually, the celebration dies down, and the community gathers for important health interventions.

Sister Ancilla is a Nigerian nun who is also trained as a nurse. She has worked in the country for two years.  She believes that the work of the mobile teams that move up and down the river providing services to indigenous children is critical. 

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Congo/2009/Williams
A villager dressed as a ‘Jongi’, or forest spirit, arrives to welcome the team of mobile health workers to the village of Moscow in a remote part of Likoula province in Northern Republic of Congo.

“This work is very important to them because if you neglect them and leave them, many of them will die.”

Treatable diseases

Ten-year-old Albert Mangamma is suffering from yaws – a highly contagious, rare skin infection that remains common amongst forest dwelling communities. Many common tropical skin diseases skin like yaws and leprosy can be easily treated with penicillin.

“The mothers and fathers understand very well the importance of the treatment, but the children don’t understand,” said Sister Ancilla. “When you want to inject them, they start crying.”

Mortality rates can be higher in remote forest communities when measured against Congo’s national averages. Malaria and measles are also common.

The challenge is the lack of health facilities and access to treatment, as well as the fight against outside discrimination and stigma. 

Birth registration guarantees rights

On a makeshift desk in the shade, Dr. Rufin Mafouta from the Congolese non-governmental organization ‘Doctors for Africa’ is interviewing parents and filling out birth registration forms.

“Registration guarantees the rights of children because it gives them a nationality, a right to go to school and access to other social services, as well as legal status as a citizen. It is very important,” said Dr. Mafouta.

Along with a team of 20 people, Dr. Mafouta covers three districts in the province. It is a critical step in the push to give indigenous children equal rights.

Overcoming marginalization

The mobile health clinic, along with the birth registration project, is part of a larger national plan approved by the Government and supported by UNICEF and its partners to help overcome the marginalization faced by indigenous communities. 

Currently, a draft of a law outlining the rights of indigenous people lies ready to be approved by Parliament in the Republic of Congo.

For Antoine Bwange, Moscow Village chief, keeping traditions alive are very important.  He wants his sons to understand their forest environment and to respect its gifts. Yet, he also wants his children to be able to navigate the outside world.

“I don’t want them to lose their forest culture. I continue to teach my children,” he said.


 

 

Video

UNICEF’s Shantha Bloemen reports on child protection efforts in remote villages in Congo.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search