中国

联合国儿童基金会在玉树地震灾区设立儿童友好家园

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF China/2010/Chen
2010年4月青海省玉树藏族自治州发生地震后,联合国儿童基金会与国务院妇女儿童工作委员会目前已经在地震灾区设立了四所“儿童友好家园”。

中国北京,2010年7月26日 - 2010年4月青海省玉树藏族自治州发生地震后,联合国儿童基金会与国务院妇女儿童工作委员会目前已经在地震灾区设立了四所“儿童友好家园”,支持灾区的长期恢复,促进受地震影响的妇女儿童福祉。

这些“儿童友好家园”设立在地震震中结古镇,分别位于结古镇的南部、西部和中部。目前已有数千名受地震影响的孩子在“儿童友好家园”里接受了各种服务。 “儿童友好家园”可为受地震影响的儿童提供一揽子以社区为基础的服务内容,包括社会心理支持、社会服务、有组织的游戏活动和娱乐活动。

重返学校

联合国儿童基金会与国务院妇女儿童工作委员会为每所“儿童友好家园”提供了防寒帐篷、图书、美术和手工材料、体育用品、促进早期儿童发展的玩具。此外,在未来几周内,“儿童友好家园”还将陆续收到藏文版书籍、乐器、玩具、游戏用品、以及其他开展社会心理支持活动所需的各类用品。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/China/2010/Chen
“儿童友好家园”鼓励孩子们通过艺术创作表达并与他人分享自己的感受。

“这场可怕的地震过去了好几个月,孩子们和他们的家人都用上了救灾帐篷,晚上有了安全的地方睡觉。学校的板房教室也搭建起来了,学生们都复课了。 现在,有了儿童友好家园,结古镇的孩子们又可以有个安全的地方,和其他的小朋友一起玩,一起走出地震的心理阴影。” 玉树藏族自治州妇联主席西晓玲说。

联合国儿童基金会培训讲习班

本月早些时候,联合国儿童基金会在青海省会西宁对四所儿童友好家园的工作人员、志愿者和管理人员进行了培训。青海师范大学的社工、心理专家和教育专家参与了此次培训。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF China/2010/Chen
两个女孩在联合国儿童基金会支持的一所“儿童友好家园”内演奏三角铁乐器。艺术活动可以增进同龄孩子之间的互动。

除了这些当地的专家学者之外,曾经与联合国儿童基金会在过去两年中共同在四川地震灾区开展“儿童友好家园”项目的国家级专家学者们也来到西宁,为相关人员进行培训。

到目前为止,四川省的40所“儿童友好家园”已为十万余名儿童提供了各项服务。随着联合国儿童基金会与政府合作伙伴们继续在玉树结古镇设立四所新的“儿童友好家园”,越来越多的孩子们将得到帮助。


 

 

搜索

China

UNICEF and partners open child-friendly spaces in Qinghai earthquake zone

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF China/2010/Chen
In the aftermath of the April 2010 earthquake in China's Qinghai Province, UNICEF and its partners have set up four child-friendly spaces in tents in Jiegu town, Yushu County.

BEIJING, China, 26 July 2010 – In the aftermath of the April 2010 earthquake that struck Qinghai Province's Yushu Tibetan Autonomous Prefecture, UNICEF and the National Working Committee on Children and Women (NWCCW) have combined to establish four child-friendly spaces to support the long-term recovery and well-being of earthquake-affected children and women.

Thousands of children in Jiegu town, near the epicentre of the earthquake, have already accessed services at the child-friendly spaces, which have been set up to the south and west and in the centre of the town. The spaces offer children a complete package of community-based services, including psycho-social support, social work and structured play and recreation activities.

Return to school

UNICEF and NWCCW have provided each of the child-friendly spaces with a tent and equipped them with books, arts and crafts materials, sports equipment and toys for early childhood development. Additional supplies – including Tibetan-language books, musical instruments, and toys and games for use in psycho-social support activities – continue to arrive.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/China/2010/Chen
Children at UNICEF-supported child-friendly spaces in the quake zone in China's Qinghai Province are encouraged to express themselves and share their feelings through artwork.

"In the months since the terrible earthquake, residential tents were set up so children and their families could have safe places to sleep at night, and prefabricated classrooms were set up so children could return to school," notes Xi Xiaoling, who chairs the Yushu Prefecture All-China Women's Federation. "Now, with the child-friendly spaces, children in Jiegu town will also have a safe space in which they can interact with other children and, together, recover from the psychological distress of the earthquake."

UNICEF training workshop

Earlier this month in Xining, the Qinghai provincial capital, UNICEF held a training workshop for staff, volunteers and managers at the child-friendly spaces. Also participating were social workers, psychologists and education specialists from Qinghai Normal University.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF China/2010/Chen
Girls play music at one of the UNICEF-supported child-friendly spaces in Yushu County, near the epicentre of the April 2010 earthquake in China's Qinghai Province.

These local experts were joined by national-level experts who have worked with UNICEF over the course of the last two years in setting up child-friendly spaces in Sichuan Province, where a devastating earthquake struck in May 2008.

To date, the 40 spaces in Sichuan have provided services to more than 100,000 children. As UNICEF and its partners continue to develop services for young earthquake survivors in Qinghai, many more children will benefit.


 

 

New enhanced search