中国

联合国儿童基金会执行委员会考察宁夏母婴保健项目实施情况

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
在中国访问期间,联合国儿童基金会执行委员会局主席阿卜杜勒.穆明在宁夏回族自治区的一个村卫生诊所里和一名儿童见面。

史蒂夫.内托顿报道

中国宁夏回族自治区,2010年4月22日 – 联合国儿童基金会执行委员会访问团四月初对中国宁夏进行了访问,让成员们亲眼看到了中国最贫困地区的母婴保健情况。

访问团参观了数个保健设施,包括农村居民们第一次获得政府保健服务的地方:一个乡镇医疗中心和一个县级综合医院。

虽然近几年中国的母婴死亡率已经有所降低,但是宁夏的孕产妇死亡人数还是超过了其他较发达的地区。

改善母亲的健康

在瑞典国际开发合作署的支持下,联合国儿童基金会正努力在宁夏南部的四个县里改善孕产妇保健。这四个县的居民大部分是回族。

这个项目是目前联合国儿童基金会在中国数千个县里帮助降低孕产妇死亡率的工作的一个集中表现。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
联合国儿童基金会执行委员会成员与中国宁夏的回族少数民族居民见面。

在宁夏,一项省级孕产妇保健政策帮助母亲们在产前、产中和产后获得免费的保健服务、免费的先天疾病检测和治疗,以及孕妇和新生儿专项保健的补贴。这项被称作“四免一贴”的政策是在2009年实施的。

联合国儿童基金会执行委员会成员主席A.K.阿卜杜勒.穆明(A.K. Abdul Momen)博士说:“我感谢联合国儿童基金会中国办公室,因为他们把我们带到了偏远地区,非常脆弱和贫困的地区。我所看到的另一个很好的方面是该项目是由政府所有,这是一个很好的范例。在这个过程中,联合国儿童基金会花费的总成本很少,但是收益很大。”

基本保健知识

访问团还参观了附近同心县一个专为穆斯林女孩开设的阿拉伯语学校,该县86%的人口是穆斯林。除标准的课程之外,这里的学生们还学习有关妊娠、母乳喂养、艾滋病和癌症的基本保健知识。

在宁夏中部,访问团还参观了一个当地人家在自家开办的幼儿园。通过这个早期儿童教育项目,年幼的儿童们可以在开始正式的小学教育前学会与同龄人交往并成长。

对宁夏的访问让联合国儿童基金会执行委员会成员看到了很多外人所看不到的中国的一面,他们所看到的一切将帮助联合国儿童基金会设计未来在中国、乃至世界的项目。


 

 

搜索

China

UNICEF Executive Board gets first hand glimpse of health care in remote region

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
During China visit, UNICEF Executive Board President Abdul Momen greets a child at a village health clinic in Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region.

By Steve Nettleton

NINGXIA HUI AUTONOMOUS REGION, China, 22 April 2010 – A journey to the north-western Chinese region of Ningxia earlier this month offered members of UNICEF’s Executive Board a firsthand look at health care for mothers and children in one of the most disadvantaged parts of the country.

VIDEO: Watch now

Executive Board members toured several health facilities, including those where rural residents find their first point of access to government health services: a township medical centre and a county-level general hospital.

Although maternal and infant mortality have decreased across China in recent years, maternal deaths remain higher in Ningxia than in more developed regions.

Improving mothers’ health

With support from the Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency, UNICEF is working to improve maternal health care in four southern Ningxia counties that are predominantly inhabited by China’s Muslim Hui minority.

The project – which includes elements such as health worker education and improved water and sanitation methods – exemplifies how UNICEF is helping to reduce maternal mortality across China’s thousands of rural counties.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
UNICEF Executive Board members met members of the Muslim Hui minority living in Ningxia, China.

In Ningxia, a provincial maternal health-care policy offers mothers free care before, during and after their children are born – as well as free detection and treatment of congenital diseases and subsidies for specialized treatment of pregnant women and newborns. The programme, known as the 'four free and one subsidy' policy, was introduced in 2009.

“I’m thankful to our UNICEF office in China because they take us to the remote areas, to areas that are very vulnerable and poor,” said UNICEF Executive Board President Dr. A.K. Abdul Momen. “Another good thing I have seen is there should be ownership of the project by the country government, and I find here an example of it. In the process, the total cost of UNICEF is so little, but the benefit is so high.”

Basic health information

Board members also visited an Arabic school for Muslim girls in nearby Tongxin county, where 86 per cent of the population is Muslim. In addition to the standard curriculum, students here are taught basic health information on such topics as pregnancy, breastfeeding, and HIV and AIDS.

In central Ningxia, Executive Board members also visited a kindergarten that was opened by a local family in their own home. Through this early childhood education project, young children interact and develop before they start formal primary school education.

The visit to Ningxia offered members of UNICEF’s Executive Board a rare glimpse of a part of China many outsiders never see. It is a view that will help play a role in UNICEF’s planning of future projects – not only in China, but across the globe.


 

 

Video

11 April 2010: UNICEF correspondent Steve Nettleton reports on the UNICEF Executive Board's visit to a remote region in China.
 VIDEO  high | low

New enhanced search