中国

严寒和高原反应影响玉树地震灾民生活和援救工作

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF China/2010/刘哲
玉树县结古镇属于偏远贫困地区,地震摧毁了85%的房屋。

美国纽约,2010年4月19日 - 位于青藏高原的中国青海省玉树藏族自治洲玉树县4月14日发生7.1级强震,当地的高海拔给救援工作带来了巨大的挑战。

目前,大约有200名救援人员因为高原反应而不得不离开玉树。不过,联合国儿童基金会仍然在努力向灾区运送紧急救灾物资,其中包括学校帐篷、毛毯和儿童御寒衣服。

玉树县结古镇属于偏远贫困地区,地震摧毁了85%的房屋。现在,民众和儿童面临的最大问题是严寒的气候。因为当地海拔大约是4000米,晚间气温较低,雪上加霜的是又出现了大范围的降雪、降温天气。

援助无家可归的灾民

昨天,联合国儿童基金会广播采访了儿基会驻中国办公室新闻主管戴尔.鲁茨坦,请他介绍玉树抗震救灾的情况。鲁茨坦说,当地的高海拔和严寒天气,给灾民和救援工作人员都带来了很大的困扰。

 录音采访:儿基会驻华办事处新闻主管介绍救灾情况

他说,白天的时候气温就不高,到了晚上更是冰冷。大部分住宅和其他建筑都已经倒塌了,许多人晚上只能在室外睡觉,在没有防护措施的情况下,在露天睡觉是很痛苦的。

县里有一半的孩子上的都是寄宿学校。幸运的是,地震发生的时候,学校还没有开始上课,所以许多孩子没有在教室或宿舍里。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF China/2010/刘哲
在地震震中玉树县,幸存的孩子们坐在室外。根据当地教育部门的统计,80%的小学和50%的中学校舍在此次强震中严重受损。

鲁茨坦说,如果地震不是发生在8点以前,伤亡人数可能会更加大。此外,玉树的人口不像中国别的地方那么密集。

恢复正常生活

根据当地教育部门的统计,80%的小学和50%的中学校舍在此次强震中严重受损,影响了该县23197名学生及938名教师的正常教学活动。

联合国儿童基金会驻中国代表、联合国灾难管理小组主席魏瑛英博士说,由于灾区学校遭受了大面积损毁,联合国儿童基金会将协助当地政府确保设立临时的教学设施。

她说:“在发生类似的灾难之后,让儿童尽早地回归到正常生活是非常重要的。我们从四川地震中获得的经验证明,让孩子返回课堂并接受适当的社会心理支持,有助于他们从灾难中恢复。”

地震多发地区

应当地政府的要求,联合国儿童基金会正在向灾区运送2000双儿童冬季保暖靴、5000套学生文具用品和双肩包和500块黑板,以及救护车、发电机和医疗用品。

中国民政部在灾区积极部署救灾工作,向灾区运送帐篷、冬衣、杯子和其他紧急用品。

玉树地处地震多发地区,97%的人口是藏族。


 

 

音频(英文)

2010年4月19日:儿基会驻华办事处新闻主管戴尔.鲁茨坦介绍玉树抗震救灾的情况。
 音频 收听

搜索

China

Earthquake relief efforts continue in China despite altitude, cold and other obstacles

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF China/2010/Jerry Liu
A woman looks upwards amid the ruins of Jiegu town in Yushu County, Qinghai Province, China. Nearly 85 per cent of the buildings in the town were destroyed by an earthquake on 14 April.

NEW YORK, USA, 19 April 2010 – High altitude is creating an obstacle for rescue teams delivering supplies to people affected by the 7.1-magnitude earthquake that struck Yushu Tibetan Autonomous Prefecture in north-west China's Qinghai Province on 14 April.

AUDIO: Listen now

Approximately 200 rescuers have been forced to leave the area due to altitude sickness. Despite the obstacles, UNICEF has been working to send relief items, including school tents, blankets and warm children’s clothing.

The earthquake hit hard in poor and remote Jiegu town on the 4,000-metre-high Tibetan plateau. About 85 per cent of the town’s buildings were toppled. Now, local children and families face immediate danger from the cold weather.
Protecting the displaced

In a telephone interview with UNICEF Radio, UNICEF China Chief of Communications Dale Rutstein said the altitude and temperatures have made the situation difficult for earthquake victims and rescuers alike.

“It goes from moderate during the day to below freezing at night,” he explained. “Hundreds or thousands of people are sleeping outside right now. A huge percentage of the homes and structures are destroyed, and it’s not a good place to be sleeping out without a lot of protection.”

About 50 per cent of the children in the county attend boarding schools, and many school buildings have been severely damaged. Because the earthquake struck just before 8 a.m., however, many students had left their dorm rooms but had not yet begun classes.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF China/2010/Jerry Liu
Young survivors sit outdoors in Yushu County, the epicentre of the Qinghai Province, China earthquake. According to authorities, 80 per cent of the county’s primary schools and 50 per cent of secondary schools were severely damaged.

Mr. Rutstein said he suspects the timing helped decrease the number of casualties. In addition, he said, “This is a fairly sparsely populated area.”

‘Return to normalcy’

According to local education authorities, 80 per cent of primary schools and 50 per cent of secondary schools in Yushu have been severely damaged, affecting more than 23,000 students.

“Schools in the affected area have suffered extensive damage, and we will support the government’s efforts to ensure that transitional facilities are set up,” said UNICEF’s Representative in China, and Chair of the UN Disaster Management Team, Dr. Yin Yin Nwe.

“Following disasters such as this, it is important that children can return to normalcy as soon as possible,” she added. “We have evidence from the Sichuan earthquake [of 2008] that going back to school with appropriate psycho-social support helps children recover.”
Quake-prone region

At the request of the authorities, UNICEF is preparing to supply 2,000 children’s winter boots, 5,000 student kits and shoulder bags, and 500 blackboards – as well as ambulances, generators and medical equipment – in the earthquake zone.

The Chinese Ministry of Civil Affairs is also playing a major role in the disaster response, sending tents, winter clothes, quilts and other emergency supplies to the region.

The disaster occurred in a quake-prone region. About 97 per cent of the area’s population is Tibetan.


 

 

Audio

19 April 2010: UNICEF China Chief of Communications Dale Rutstein talks about earthquake relief efforts in Qinghai Province.
AUDIO listen

New enhanced search