中国

宜家和联合国儿童基金会帮助中国的震后恢复工作

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF China/2009
2009年5月11日,在联合国儿童基金会驻中国办事处“为汶川地震灾区提供援助周年报告”新闻发布会上,大卫·慕里根代表宜家社会事务机构从联合国儿童基金会驻中国办事处代表魏英瑛博士手中接过答谢状。

中国西和,2009年7月7日 – 一年多以前的2008年5月12日,一场里氏8.0级的强烈地震袭击了四川省汶川县,造成8.8万人死亡或失踪,近40万人受伤。同时还破坏或摧毁了数百万间房屋,导致500万人无家可归。

这场地震灾难对儿童造成的影响更大。

 点击此处观看视频

联合国儿童基金会驻中国办事处在其合作伙伴的支持下,向灾区成千上万的儿童提供了超过1700万美元的援助,并将配合中国政府的三年重建计划,继续支持至2011年。

联合国儿童基金会——宜家伙伴关系

2008年8月,宜家社会事务机构加入联合国儿童基金会的救援工作,并捐助实物,以满足住在四川省临时安置点和寄宿学校里的儿童的迫切住房需要。在联合国儿童基金会对地震灾区的援助项目中,宜家社会事务机构是最大的企业捐赠者。

除了支持四川重灾区的全面救灾工作以外,联合国儿童基金会驻中国办事处也在关注那些未能引起足够关注的偏远农村地区,尤其是甘肃省一些交通不便的山区。

虽然四川遭受了最严重的破坏和人员伤亡,甘肃也受到了严重的影响,而且该地区获得的援助相对少很多。

联合国儿童基金会驻中国办事处与宜家社会事务机构合作,将向甘肃省西和县地震灾区的39个学校,提供三年的教育、供水和卫生设施综合援助计划。在共同努力之下,大约有1万名贫困农村地区的学生,在学校被地震损坏或摧毁之后,得以重新获得优质教育。

学校受损成为危房

在距离震中约300公里的西和县,仍然可以看到地震所造成的损坏。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF China/2009
在名为“泪水化为欢笑:为地震灾区孩子们重建美好家园”的摄影展中,部分图片突出反映了宜家社会事务机构对甘肃省受地震影响的39所学校约一万名学生的援助。

杨媚是甘肃省西和县曹杨小学一名六年级的学生。地震的时候,她家的屋顶倒塌,她的学校也遭到严重的损坏。杨媚回忆道:“地震的时候,我们正在上课。突然觉得教室在晃,我们都跑到了外面。”

在甘肃省,有6000所学校严重受损无法使用,而恢复重建的资源微乎其微。现在,杨媚和曹杨小学其他250名学生已经在联合国儿童基金会援助搭建的板房教室内恢复上课。宜家社会事务机构还支持了学校新的供水和卫生设施建设。

这些配备了优质教学设备、书本和家具的预制安装的教室至少可用三年,直到政府建立更加永久性的教学楼。

在这里,儿童们用上了安全的饮用水、卫生厕所、洗手设施和废物处理系统,这些在地震前都是没有的。另外,老师和校长正在接受联合国儿童基金会有关“爱生理念”的培训。

2009年5月11日,联合国儿童基金会驻中国办事处召开了“为汶川地震灾区提供援助周年报告”新闻发布会。大卫·慕里根(David Mulligan)先生代表宜家社会事务机构接受了由联合国儿童基金会驻中国办事处代表魏英瑛博士颁发的答谢状。新闻发布会上重申,中国政府、联合国儿童基金会、宜家社会事务机构和其他合作伙伴将共同致力于为甘肃省和其他震区的儿童及其家人“重建更美好”生活。

艾米.贝内特在纽约对此报告做出贡献。


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会通讯员史蒂夫.奈托藤报道中国受地震影响的地区(如四川省)和儿童恢复上课的重要性。
 视频  高速 | 低速

搜索

China

IKEA and UNICEF aid China earthquake recovery

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF China/2009
David Mulligan receives a certificate of appreciation from UNICEF on behalf of the IKEA Social Initiative from UNICEF Representative in China Dr. Yin Yin Nwe at a press conference launching a report on the first anniversary of the Sichuan earthquake.

XIHE, China, 7 July 2009 – Almost 14 months ago, on 12 May 2008, a massive earthquake struck Sichuan province, with its epicentre in Wenchuan County. The earthquake left 88,000 people dead or missing and nearly 400,000 injured. It also damaged or destroyed millions of homes, leaving 5 million people homeless in Sichuan and the adjoining provinces of Gansu, Shaanxi, Yunnan and Chongqing.

The disaster had a disproportionately large impact on children.

VIDEO: Watch now

UNICEF China, with support from its partners, has provided about $20 million in assistance to tens of thousands of children in the quake zone; it will sustain this support until 2011, in line with the Chinese Government’s three-year reconstruction plan.

UNICEF-IKEA partnership

In August 2008, the IKEA Social Initiative joined UNICEF’s relief efforts and made an in-kind donation to meet the urgent shelter needs of displaced children in temporary settlements and those housed in boarding schools in Sichuan. The IKEA Social Initiative is the largest corporate donor to UNICEF programmes in the earthquake-affected region.

Besides supporting comprehensive relief work in hard-hit population centres in Sichuan, UNICEF China is targeting smaller rural communities that have not received as much attention. UNICEF is especially focusing on hard-to-access mountainous areas in Gansu province.

While Sichuan suffered the worst damage and casualties, Gansu was also severely affected but has received comparatively less assistance.

The partnership between UNICEF and the IKEA Social Initiative is therefore providing a three-year package of interventions in education, water and sanitation to 39 schools affected by the quake in Xihe County, Gansu province. As a result of these joint efforts, some 10,000 students from poor rural areas have been able to return to school in the area.

Schools damaged beyond use

However, the effects of the earthquake can still be felt in Xihe County, some 300 km from the epicentre.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF China/2009
The IKEA Social Initiative’s support to some 10,000 students in 39 schools affected by the earthquake is highlighted in a photo exhibit entitled, ‘From Tears into Smiles: Reaching out to help children recover from the Sichuan earthquake.’

Yang Mei is a sixth-grader in Gansu province. During the quake, the roof of her family's home collapsed and her school was seriously damaged. "We were in the classroom when the earthquake happened. It suddenly felt like the classroom was moving. We all went outside," recalled Mei.

In Gansu, 6,000 school buildings were damaged beyond use, and there were too few resources to deal with the impact. But today, Mei and the other 250 students at Caoyang Primary School study in temporary classroom buildings installed by UNICEF, with access to water and sanitation facilities supported by the IKEA Social Initiative.

The prefabricated classrooms – which are equipped with quality education supplies, books and furniture – can be used for at least three years, until more permanent government school buildings are constructed. 

Here, children benefit from safe drinking water, sanitary latrines, washing facilities and waste disposal systems that they didn’t have before the earthquake. In addition, teachers and principals are being trained in child-friendly approaches to learning.

On 11 May, at press conference for the launch of the 'UNICEF China Earthquake One Year Report', the IKEA Social Initiative's David Mulligan received a certificate of appreciation, on behalf of IKEA, from UNICEF Representative in China Dr. Yin Yin Nwe. The event reaffirmed the common goal of the government, UNICEF, the IKEA Social Initiative and other partners to 'build back better' in Gansu province and the rest of the earthquake zone. 

Amy Bennett contributed to this story from New York.


 

 

Video

UNICEF correspondent Steve Nettleton reports on assistance to China’s quake-affected areas and the importance of returning children to their studies.
 VIDEO  high | low

New enhanced search