中国

中国儿童迈出了震后恢复的第一步

UNICEF Photo: China, earthquake, UNICEF
© UNICEF video
来自四川受地震影响地区的大约1000名儿童现在住在成都大学校园内。

徐欣报道

中国成都,2008年5月29日。四川省发生的毁灭性的地震摧毁了学校教学楼、将城镇夷为平地并夺走了约6.7万人的生命。在灾难发生的两周后,受灾最严重地区的儿童仍然经受着巨大的精神打击。

大约一千名周围城镇的寄宿学校的学生现在住在成都西南金融大学里。有关父母和亲人下落的消息偶尔通过铁门入口传来,那些得知家人幸存消息的学生激动地流下了泪水。

与此同时,其他人由于失踪的亲人仍毫无音讯而痛苦绝望。

儿童和教师感到压力

“我们在大学遇到的孩子们看起来很疲惫并且压力很大,”联合国儿童基金会儿童保护专家陈雪枫说。“他们来自震区不同的学校,为了躲避可怕的余震在森林中寻找栖身之所,经过数日在崎岖的山路上的徒步跋涉,刚刚抵达这里。”

陈女士最近加入了联合国儿童基金会的使团,与中国政府官员一道致力于帮助孩子从震后的心理压力中恢复,现在她刚刚返回办公室。

“一位14岁的女孩被叫到门口见她的祖父母,却被告知她的母亲已经在地震中遇难了,”陈女士说,“她简直是伤心欲绝。”

使团还发现教师也已经处在了崩溃的边缘。他们中的一些人在毁灭性的地震中失去了亲人。过于沉重的压力使他们无法照顾学生们的需要。

协同干预

5月27日,联合国儿童基金会的专家和心理学家为志愿者们提供了启蒙培训,他们将负责照顾新安置来的儿童。儿童们被邀请参加集体游戏和互动游戏,通过这些活动可以激发他们自我表达。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
游戏和其它集体活动帮助中国地震中年轻的幸存者摆脱他们所承受的情感压力。

“事实上,大约90%的儿童幸存者可以自然地恢复,并通过像与家庭成员重新团聚、娱乐活动、学校的教学活动和其它的社区活动等心理支持重回正常的生活,”联合国儿童基金会驻中国的负责儿童权利的主任克尔斯滕.迪.马蒂诺说。“只有10%受伤严重的儿童需要接受心理辅导或特殊疗法的治疗。”

照看者和社区应给这些孩子更多的心理支持,通过组织诸如游戏和教学等集体活动帮助他们释放压力。

“我们关心来自不同地区的和‘流动’的社会志愿工作者所提供的心理干预的质量和重复性,” 克尔斯滕女士说。“在某些情况下,儿童幸存者在同一天接受两组不同的社会工作者的辅导,可能给儿童带来更多的伤害。干预应该是连贯的和持续的。”

关注儿童的安全

在孤儿院和社会福利机构生活的地震幸存者中,不同年龄的儿童和残障人士共同生活在过于拥挤的避难所。

“儿童们承受了巨大的压力,”联合国儿童基金会的代表兼联合国灾害管理小组主席魏瑛瑛博士说。“我遇到一位失去了双亲的小男孩,他只能说出他的英文名字,没有有关他生活的其它情况。”

“参与保护这些儿童的所有合作伙伴们面临着艰巨的任务,”魏博士补充道。


 

 

视频

2008年5月28日:
联合国儿童基金会记者庞蕾对帮助抚平四川地震所带来心理创伤的工作进行了报道。 
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

China

Chinese children take the first steps to recovery after earthquake

UNICEF Image: China, earthquake, UNICEF
© UNICEF video
About 1,000 children from earthquake-affected parts of Sichuan are now living on a university campus in Chengdu.

By Xu Xin

CHENGDU, China, 29 May 2008 – More than two weeks after a devastating earthquake in Sichuan Province toppled schools, wiped out towns and killed an estimated 67,000 people, children in the worst-hit areas are still experiencing the staggering psychosocial aftershocks.

About 1,000 students from boarding schools in surrounding counties are now living at the Southwest University of Finance and Economics of Chengdu. Information about parents and relatives occasionally flows in through the iron-barred entrance, leaving some in tears with news that loved ones are alive.

Meanwhile, others are crushed by the terrible absence of news about missing family members.

Children and teachers stressed
“The children we met in the university look exhausted and stressed,” said UNICEF Child Protection Specialist Chen Xuefeng. “They come from different schools in the quake zone, and have just arrived after trekking for days on mountain roads, seeking shelter in the forests to escape frightening aftershocks.”

Ms. Chen has just returned from UNICEF's recent mission with Chinese Government officials supporting efforts to help children recover from post-earthquake psychosocial stress.

“A 14-year-old girl is called to the entrance to meet her grandparents, only to be told that her mother has died in the quake,” said Ms. Chen recalling the scene at the university. “She is so overwhelmed.”

The mission also found teachers on the edge of breaking down. Some of them have lost their own family members in the deadly quake and are too stressed to meet their students’ needs.

Coordinated interventions
On 27 May, UNICEF specialists and psychologists offered an initial training session for volunteers who care for relocated children. The children were invited to join in group games and interactive play, during which they were motivated to express themselves freely.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Games and other group activities are helping young survivors of the earthquake in China deal with the emotional distress they have experienced.

“In fact, about 90 per cent of child survivors can be naturally resilient and return to their normal life through psychosocial support, like re-unification with family members, recreational activities, schooling and other community activities,” explained UNICEF China’s Chief of Child Rights, Kirsten Di Martino. “Only 10 per cent who are severely traumatized need to be referred to psychological counselling or special therapy.”

Caregivers and communities will have to give these children more psychosocial support to help relieve their stress, using group activities such as games and schooling.

“We are concerned about the quality and duplication of psychosocial intervention from different and ‘migrating’ voluntary social workers,” said Ms. Kirsten. “In some cases, a child survivor is accessed by two different groups of social workers in one day, which may bring more trauma to the child. The intervention should be consistent and sustainable.”

Child safety concerns
Among quake survivors living in orphanages and social welfare institutions, children are mixed with elders and the disabled in overcrowded shelters.

“Children are under great stress,” said UNICEF Representative and UN Disaster Management Team Chair Dr. Yin Yin Nwe. “One young boy I met had lost both parents and could only state the English name and no other facts about his life.

“All partners concerned with protecting these children have a huge task in front of them,” added Dr. Nwe.


 

 

Video

28 May 2008:
UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports on efforts to help heal the psychological wounds from the Sichuan earthquake. 
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search