中国

中国青少年大使在互联网上及社区里提高艾滋病意识

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF CHINA/Zhang Nan/2007
中国的一位艾滋病青少年大使为儿童讲故事,这是联合国儿童基金会赞助项目的一个组成部分,旨在改善青少年对疾病的认识并减少对艾滋病的耻辱感和歧视。

张蕾和肯.莱金斯报道

中国北京,2008年2月28日。中国的‘携手儿童青少年,携手抗击艾滋病’活动网站最近被授予国家‘年度优秀互联网站’的荣誉。该年度奖项充分肯定了中国的青年人正在通过互联网宣传对疾病预防的认识和信息,以抗击艾滋病。

该网站是在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,由中国共青团中央管理的,也是25个获奖者名单中唯一的面向青少年的网站。

优秀网站奖是由中国国务院新闻办公室和中国互联网协会共同发起的。获奖者都是通过网上投票,并最终由一个专家小组审核而选出的。网站评选的条件是根据他们“积极,健康,活力和独特性”的内容,及其对互联网用户的影响力而确定的。

了解和交流有关艾滋病的情况

自2006年启动了旨在支持中国的青少年和艾滋病的活动以来,‘携手儿童青少年,携手抗击艾滋病’中文网站就作为参与活动的青年大使在线交换信息的主要工具。这个活跃的组织的青年领袖们表现出在了解和交流有关艾滋病情况、关心那些受艾滋病影响的人等方面所作出的承诺。

该网站激发了青年人在预防和治疗艾滋病方面寻求同伴支持的巨大兴趣。

“我们的想法并不是要教别人什么东西。它是建立一个我们自己的沟通平台,”青年大使李彤说。“许多14-15岁的学生在了解艾滋病情况以前就有过无保护的性行为,我想改变这种状况。”

在接受联合国儿童基金会电台电话采访中,还有两名青年大使阐述了他们在创建和完善防治艾滋病活动网站中所发挥的作用。

“我不仅参加了网站主要模块的设计,”王莉莉说,“也在在线论坛和网络博客上张贴有关艾滋病的知识,技巧,经验和故事,提高对艾滋病的认识。”她的目标是要达到“使那些想对艾滋病预防和关爱做些事情的年轻人越来越多。”她补充道。

“我们向联合国儿童基金会提出建议,”张楠说。“我们一起讨论如何改善网站,使之更能吸引年轻人。”

青少年成为“改革的力量”

目前在中国约有65万人感染了艾滋病毒。一份统计表明,教育作为艾滋病预防工作的主导力量是十分重要的。

“促进青年人积极参与改变危险的行为模式,对抑制艾滋病在中国蔓延是至关重要的。我们要看到更多的青年人致力于成为变革的力量,”联合国儿童基金会驻中国代表魏英瑛博士说。

魏博士注意到互联网是中国儿童和青少年的重要工具,互联网用户的数目已超过了2.1亿。

“无论在城市还是在农村地区,互联网正迅速成为年轻人的主要的信息来源和交流平台,”她说。“我们一定要保证与年青人共享的有关爱滋病的信息的正确性,并以一种易于理解、青年友好的创新性的方式来分享这些信息。互联网是再好不过的途径了。”

蒂姆.莱德威斯帮助编辑了本篇报道。


 

 

音频(中文)

2008年2月27日:
22岁的青年大使张楠和王莉莉,对联合国儿童基金会广播电台讲述他们在中国获奖的艾滋病活动网站的工作。
 音频 试听

防治艾滋病运动

搜索

China

China’s Youth Ambassadors raise HIV awareness, online and in the community

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF CHINA/Zhang Nan/2007
One of China’s AIDS Youth Ambassador reads stories to children as part of a UNICEF-sponsored programme to improve young people’s knowledge of the disease and reduce AIDS stigma and discrimination.

By Lei Zhang & Ken Legins

BEIJING, China, 28 February 2008 – China’s Unite for Children, Unite against AIDS campaign website was recently honoured as one of the country’s Leading Websites of the Year. The award recognizes young people in China who are battling HIV/AIDS through Internet awareness and messages of prevention.

The website, which is managed by China’s Youth League with support from UNICEF, is the only youth-oriented site among the 25 on the winners’ list.

The annual Leading Website awards are jointly sponsored by China’s State Council Press Office and the Chinese Internet Association. Recipients are selected through online voting and a final review by an expert panel. Sites are assessed on the basis of their “positive, healthy, dynamic and unique” content, and their impact on Internet users.

Learning and sharing facts about AIDS

Since its launch in 2006 to support China’s campaign on young people and AIDS, the Unite for Children, Unite against AIDS Chinese website has served as a primary online information-sharing tool for the campaign’s Youth Ambassadors. Members of this active group of young leaders have demonstrated a commitment to learn and share the facts about HIV and AIDS, and to care for those affected by AIDS.

The website has generated a surge of interest from young people seeking peer support for AIDS prevention and treatment.

“The idea is not to teach someone something. It is about setting up a communication platform of our own,” said Youth Ambassador Li Tong. “Many 14- and 15-year-olds have had unprotected sex before learning the facts on AIDS, and I want to change that.”

In a telephone interview with UNICEF Radio, two other Youth Ambassadors explained the roles they have played in creating and refining the AIDS campaign site.

“I not only participated in the design of the website’s major modules,” said Lily Wang, “but also posted my knowledge, skills, experience and stories of raising HIV/AIDS awareness on online discussion forums and weblogs.” Her goal is to reach “many more young people who want to do something about AIDS,” she added.

“We give suggestions to UNICEF,” said Nan Zhang. “Together, we discuss how to improve the website and make it more appealing to young people.”

Youth as ‘a force for change’

There are currently an estimated 650,000 people living with HIV in China – a statistic that suggests the importance of education as a leading strategy for AIDS prevention.

“Promoting young people’s active engagement in changing risky behaviour patterns will be critical in halting the spread of HIV in China. We need to see many more youth committed to becoming a force for change,” said UNICEF’s Representative in China, Dr. Yin Yin Nwe.

Dr. Nwe sees the web as a critical tool for reaching children and adolescents in China, where the number of Internet users now exceeds 210 million.

“The Internet is fast becoming a major information source and platform of exchange for young people, in both urban and rural areas,” she said. “We must ensure that the correct information on AIDS is shared with young people, and shared in an easy-to-understand, youth-friendly and creative way. Nothing does it better than the Internet.”

Tim Ledwith contributed to this story from New York.


 


 

 

Audio

27 February 2008:
Youth Ambassadors Nan Zhang and Lily Wang, both 22, talk to UNICEF Radio about their work on China’s award-winning AIDS campaign website.
AUDIO listen

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search