中国

研讨会呼吁社会帮助艾滋致孤儿童

UNICEF Photo: China, HIV/AIDS, orphans and vulnerable children, Under the Same Sun
© UNICEF China/2007/ Jianhua
(从左至右) 河南省省长李成玉、中华人民共和国民政部部长李学举、河南省委书记徐光春、联合国儿童基金会驻华代表魏英瑛博士在“同在阳光下”活动上接受由受艾滋病影响的儿童亲手制作的艺术作品。

张蕾报道

中国河南省,2007年9月14日。 2007年9月6-8日,一个名为“同在阳光下”的有关受艾滋病影响儿童的国际研讨会在河南省召开。

在这次由联合国儿童基金会支持的研讨会的开幕式上,来自河南省的艾滋致孤儿童为高层代表献上了他们的故事册和他们制作的工艺品。代表包括河南省委书记徐光春、中华人民共和国民政部部长李学举、河南省省长李成玉。

代表们讨论建立中国受艾滋病影响儿童救助安置政策。联合国儿童基金会驻华代表魏英瑛博士在发言中强调了未来应着眼的四个重点领域,“首先,我们要努力保证孩子父母的生存;其次,我们必须让孩子能够继续上学读书;第三,我们绝不容许让家庭因艾滋病陷入贫困,最后,我们必须尽一切力量让所有脆弱儿童,包括受艾滋病影响儿童健康成长,发挥其人生最大潜力。”

“我们能够体会孤儿的感受”

14岁的河南小姑娘杨文(化名)是“同在阳光下”的青年代表之一。五年前,在河南省郊区爆发的艾滋疫情中,她和妹妹失去了她们的父母。

杨文说:“我和妹妹一夜之间变成了一对无人照料的孤儿。当作业不会做的时候,当我们脚踩着小板凳,身贴在锅台上做饭的时候,我们总会不由自主地想起我们的爸爸妈妈。”   

二十世纪九十年代中晚期,河南省笼罩着对艾滋病的恐惧和误解。为了满足这些儿童的需求,政府迅速作出反应,修建了“阳光家园”,为艾滋病致孤儿童集中提供食物、住所和教育。杨文就是被送到这些庇护所的孩子们中的一个。

基于社区的解决方案

“阳光家园”的建立是为了给艾滋致孤儿童集中提供食物、住所和教育。虽然儿童的基本需要得到了满足,但是年轻人们还是感到孤独。

“没有父母在身边,妹妹也和亲戚住,我感到很孤独。”杨文在研讨会上告诉国际代表们。

目前,河南省政府和相关部门正在积极探索如何采取以家庭和社区为基础的策略满足受艾滋病影响儿童的需求 – 包括组建小规模寄养的“阳光家庭”。这项新计划将不会鼓励儿童,而是让孩子留在社区,加强儿童和艾滋病影响社区以及没有直接受到艾滋病影响的儿童的联系。

中国中央政府公布了政策以保证像杨文这样的双孤儿童能够获得免费医疗服务、免费义务教育和生活救助,但是由于各地基层财力原因或地方政府的重视程度不同,政策的落实情况有较大差异,而且因为害怕周围的冷眼和歧视,很多儿童的家庭不敢站出来接受救助。

“好兆头”

中华人民共和国民政部、国务院艾滋病防治工作委员会办公室和河南省人民政府促成了这次由联合国儿童基金会支持的研讨会。 
 
基于研讨会上国内外专家提出的意见和研究结果,“政策和实践建议书”被拟定并将与中国政府部门分享。

“今天对中国的儿童是吉利的一天,”魏英瑛博士在开幕发言中说。

当政府和整个社会齐心协力为受艾滋病影响的儿童铺设一条平坦的人生之路时,像杨文这样的儿童就能够自己走向美好的未来。

凯利亚.亚伯拉罕从纽约协同报道


 

 

防治艾滋病运动

搜索

China

Seminar calls for community support for children orphaned by AIDS

UNICEF Image: China, HIV/AIDS, orphans and vulnerable children, Under the Same Sun
© UNICEF China/2007/ Jianhua
(L to R) Governor of Henan Province Li Chengyu; China's Minister of Civil Affairs Li Xueju; Secretary General of Henan Province Xu Guangchun; and UNICEF China Representative Dr. Yin Yin Nwe are presented with artwork created by youths affected by HIV/AIDS at Under the Same Sun.

By Zhang Lei

HENAN PROVINCE, China, 14 September 2007 – On 6-8 September, an international seminar on children made vulnerable by HIV/AIDS called Under the Same Sun was held in Henan Province.

At the opening ceremony of the UNICEF-supported seminar, youths from Henan Province who had been orphaned by AIDS presented an album of their stories and artwork to high-level delegates, including Party Secretary-General of Henan Xu Guangchun; Chinese Minister of Civil Affairs Li Xueju, and the Governor of Henan Province Li Chengyu.

Delegates discussed the creation of policies for the care and placement of children affected by HIV/AIDS in China. UNICEF Representative to China Dr. Yin Yin Nwe outlined four steps which could be implemented in the future.

“First, we must work to keep parents alive; second we must keep children in school; third, we must not allow AIDS to impoverish families; and finally, we must work to ensure that all vulnerable children – including children affected by AIDS – have the ability to reach their full potential.”

‘The feelings of being orphans were with us’

Yang Wen (not her real name), age 14, was one of the youth delegates at Under the Same Sun. Five years ago, she and her little sister lost both their parents to AIDS during an outbreak of the epidemic in the rural Henan Province.

“Almost overnight, we became a pair of orphans,” said Yang Wen. “The feelings of being orphans were with us every time we were stuck with homework without knowing who to ask. Three times a day, we had to stand on a chair to make our own meals.”

In the mid to late 1990s, the Province was shrouded in fear and myths about AIDS. The Government took measures to respond to the needs of children by building shelters called Sunshine Homes. Yang Wen was one of many children who were sent to live in these shelters.

Community-based solutions

Sunshine Homes were built throughout Henan as an emergency response in order to feed, house and educate children orphaned by AIDS. Although the children’s basic needs were cared for, however, the youths often felt isolated.

“I was still lonely for my parents and my little sister who was living with relatives,” Yang Wen told the international delegates at the seminar.

Now, Henan Province is committed to exploring family and community-based strategies such as the development of 'Sunshine Families'. This new programme will not isolate children affected by AIDS but instead aims to strengthen the bonds between the children and the rest of the community.

China’s central government has issued policies for orphans like Yang Wen to receive free healthcare, free education and living support. However, implementation of these services varies across the country due to disparities in local capacity as well as the stigma associated with HIV/AIDS. 

'An auspicious day'

The UNICEF-supported seminar was made possible by China's Ministry of Civil Affairs; The Office of State Council Working Committee for AIDS Prevention and Control; and the Henan Provincial Government. 
 
Based on the findings and recommendations from national and international experts during the seminar, a Policy and Practice Brief was prepared and will be shared with Chinese authorities.

“Today is a very auspicious day for the children in China,” said UNICEF China Representative Dr. Nwe.

When communities are able to extend a helping hand to children affected by HIV/AIDS, youths like Yang Wen will have the support they need to reach their full potential.

Kyria Abrahams contributed to this story from New York


 

 

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search