中国

在中国乡村创建爱生学校

UNICEF Photo: China: Child-friendly schools
© UNICEF China/2006/Li Mingfang
中国广西壮族自治区陡江镇小学,学生们在干净、明亮的环境中做数学题。

作者:查理斯.瑞可偌夫特

来自中国最贫困省区的150所项目试点学校,参与了爱生学校理念的师资培训,内容包括提高教学质量、安全与保护、性别平等和社区参与等方面。在2001年至2005年项目启动的头五年中,爱生项目已经惠及了3万余名学生。

联合国儿童基金会项目官员安吉娜.曼嘉拉吉瑞说:“联合国儿童基金会资助的爱生学校创设以学生为本,以生动的教学为基础的学习环境,让孩子们可以全方位地发展他们的潜能。”

爱生学校新规则

也许学生们最大的收获是他们自己创造的。 他们不再像以往那样,怕说错话受处罚, 现在敢于讲出心里话。  在一个教室里, 学生们还起草了一份涉及偏袒、惩罚与表彰等内容的“好教师的十条标准”,代替了挂在墙上的老标准。

UNICEF Photo: China: Child-friendly schools
© UNICEF China/2006/Li Mingfang
平等学习、平等参与,包括让所有的孩子都有机会参加学校活动,是爱生学校很重要的一个理念。

爱生学校项目的学生们告诉校领导,课间时因没有老师的监督,学生打架事件时有发生。 孩子们觉得一年一度的郊游去哪里,也该听听他们的意见,并且认为老师们不应该发脾气。 能给老师提建议,有助于建立一个更安全、愉快的学习环境。

据最近对全国范围内三百万中国学生的睡眠状况调查显示,因作业压力,以及要赶在早晨8点半上课,百分之七十的受访者每晚睡眠不超过七小时。  为了让学生们可以多睡一会,广西的学校早晨上课时间现在已改为九点半钟。

吸引媒体注意力

广西爱生学校试点项目的成绩吸引了全国媒体的注意力,几家主要报纸在显著位置对此事做了报道。 最近,中央电视台派出摄制组跟踪拍摄爱生学校的记录片, 而后将之在其覆盖率极广的电视频道播出。

联合国儿童基金会新闻助理刘莉说:“记者们觉得爱生学校的题材很亲切,他们对自己学生时代的痛苦都还心有余悸。”


 

 

搜索

China

Creating child-friendly schools in rural China

UNICEF Image: China: Child-friendly schools
© UNICEF China/2006/Li Mingfang
Students work on a math problem in a clean and bright environment at Doujiang Township Primary School, Guangxi Province, China.

By Charles Rycroft

GUILIN, China, 22 December 2006 – School has become more 'child-friendly' in South China's Guangxi Province. Students' voices and opinions are being taken seriously, thanks to a UNICEF-supported initiative for child-centred learning.

Teachers at 105 pilot schools in some of China's poorest provinces have all been trained in child-friendly schooling concepts such as academic effectiveness, safety and protection, gender equality and community involvement. Between 2001 and 2005, the initiative reached 30,000 students.

"In UNICEF-sponsored child-friendly learning environments, child-centred learning and activity-based teaching help children fully develop their potential," said Project Officer for UNICEF China Anjana Mangalagiri.

New, child-friendly rules

Perhaps the biggest gains have been made by the students themselves, who are now speaking their minds without the traditional fear of punishment. In one classroom, students even drafted the 'Ten Commandments of Being a Good Teacher'. The commandments, which include rules on favoritism, discipline and praise, have replaced the old regulations that once lived on the school walls.

UNICEF Image: China: Child-friendly schools
© UNICEF China/2006/Li Mingfang
Equal learning, equal play. Including all children in school activities is an important feature of the child-friendly school.

Students in child-friendly programmes have told school authorities that proper supervision is missing during breaks and as a result, bullying tends to happen. Children also want to be consulted about where to go for the annual school outing and believe that teachers should not lose their tempers. The ability to make suggestions to their teachers helps keep the learning environment safe and enjoyable.

Of the 3 million Chinese children who participated in a recent nationwide survey on sleeping patterns, 70 per cent reported getting less than seven hours of sleep each night due to homework demands and the need to be at school by 8:30 each morning. Now, in Guangxi, school doesn’t begin until 9:30, so students are getting the extra sleep they need.

Attracting media attention

The child-friendly phenomenon on display at the pilot schools in Guangxi Province has attracted media attention across the country, including headlines in China’s major newspapers. Recently, China Central Television sent crews to document the child-friendly schools and later broadcast the reports to their vast audience.

"Child-friendly schools are something all reporters find it easy to relate to,” said UNICEF Communication Assistant Liu Li. “They can all cast their minds back to the harsh realities of their own school days."

 


 

 

New enhanced search