智利

智利地震:震后六个月

联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴仍致力于应对二月份8.8级大地震带来的影响

智利塔尔卡瓦诺,2010年8月27日 – 12岁的杰西卡曾住在位于智利中部港口城市塔尔卡瓦诺附近的圣克拉拉街区。但六个月之前发生的大地震把她家的房屋摧毁了,他们全家因而无家可归。

视频:联合国儿童基金会记者艾德度.居利报道联合国儿童基金会努力帮助智利儿童从二月份的大地震中恢复。

2010年2月27日,一场8.8级的大地震使智利中部持续了3分钟之久。随后海啸呼啸而至,席卷了整个街区,使约200万人口受灾,这超过了智利人口总数的10%。

大规模破坏

这是智利史上第二强度大地震,也是世界史上十大最高强度地震之一。曼露和比奥比奥等沿海地区的很多城市遭到彻底的破坏。官方估计,灾难过后,超过50万座房屋遭到严重毁坏,无数建筑遭到破坏。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Chile/2010
在智利港口城市塔尔卡瓦诺,12岁的杰西卡指着她家房子原来的位置。

目击者称海啸掀起的骇浪高达10米。

现在,杰西卡家里唯一残留的只有地砖。像很多失去住所的家庭一样,杰西卡一家搬到了更高的地方。他们现在住“mediagua”里,这是木头搭建的临时住所,供家庭在紧急状况下居住。

学会适应

地震发生过后,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴同智利政府合作,帮助满足受灾儿童和家庭的基本需求。儿基会发起了一个公共教育运动,帮助保护在地震中受到创伤的儿童,并将培训约3000名儿童护理专业人员和教育者,帮助震后心理压力过大的儿童度过难关。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Chile/2010
12岁的杰西卡(左)和老师玛丽亚.尤金尼亚.拉娜站在智利塔尔卡瓦诺市遭到破坏的圣克拉拉街区。

尽管经历了大灾难,但是塔尔卡瓦诺的生活仍在继续。安全的学校已经复课,让像杰西卡这样失去学校的学生重新回到学堂。

虽然杰西卡不得不换一所学校读书,但是她的成绩依然名列前茅。

她说:“我正在慢慢适应我现在的生活。”


 

 

搜索

Chile

Chile's earthquake: six months on

UNICEF and partners still working to counter the effects of February's 8.8-magnitude quake

TALCAHUANO, Chile, 27 August 2010 – Jessica, 12, used to live in Santa Clara, a neighbourhood in Chile’s coastal city of Talcahuano. But her home was destroyed during a massive earthquake six months ago and her family was subsequently displaced.

VIDEO: UNICEF correspondent Eduardo Cure reports on UNICEF's work helping the children of Chile recover from February's devastating earthquake.

 

On 27 February 2010, an 8.8.-magnitude earthquake shook central Chile for nearly three full minutes. A powerful tsunami followed, wiping out entire neighbourhoods  and affecting some two million people – more than 10 per cent of the country’s population.

Massive destruction

The quake was the second-strongest ever to hit Chile and one of the 10 strongest in recorded world history. A large number of cities in the coastal regions of Maule and Biobío were completely destroyed. The day after the disaster, official sources estimated that more than half a million homes were destroyed and countless thousands damaged.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Chile/2010
Jessica, 12, points to where her house used to sit in Talcahuano, a city on the Chilean coast.

Eyewitnesses reported tsunami waves up to ten metres high.

Today the only things that remain of Jessica’s home are the floor tiles.  Like many others who lost their homes, Jessica and her family relocated to higher ground. They now live in a ‘mediagua,’ or a shack made of wood that offers families shelter during emergencies.

Learning to adapt

In the immediate aftermath of the earthquake, UNICEF and its partners worked with the Chilean Government to help meet the basic needs of children and families. It has launched a public education campaign to help protect children who are suffering from the trauma of the earthquake, and will help train some 3,000 child-care professionals and educators to work with children experiencing post-disaster stress.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Chile/2010
Jessica (left), 12, stands with her teacher, Maria Eugenia Lara, at the site of of the devastated Santa Clara neighbourhood of Talcahuano, Chile.

In spite of the devastation, life goes on in Talcahuano. Safe schools have re-opened to accommodate students who, like Jessica, who were displaced from their own classrooms.

And even though Jessica has had to change schools, she remains a top student.

“I’m starting to adapt to the place I live now,” she said.


 

 

New enhanced search