智利

联合国儿童基金会做好准备为智利提供救灾帮助

UNICEF Photo
© Reuters/Ruiz Caballero
地震发生后,智利首都圣地亚哥市中心的市民们纷纷逃到大街上。

美国纽约,2009年2月28日 - 南美国家智利本周六遭受8.8级强震袭击,目前联合国儿童基金会及联合国合作伙伴正在密切关注情势发展,随时做好救援的准备。

据报道,地震共造成至少700人死亡,使成千上万的无家可归、民宅、医院、学校、道路和其他基础设施受毁严重。目前联合国儿童基金会在智利的所有工作人员未有伤亡。

与六个半星期前袭击海地的那场地震相比,智利地震的震级更高但引起的破坏相对较小。联合国儿童基金会已经表示,虽然海地的救援工作仍然在紧张进行,但这不会影响其在必要的时候回智利提供帮助。

联合国儿童基金会发言人表示,儿基会将为在智利地震中受到影响的民众、尤其是儿童提供协助。

灾区

地震发生的时间是当地时间星期六凌晨3点34分,震中在智利首都圣地亚哥西南325公里,离智利第二大城市、有20万人口的康塞普西翁(Concepción)只有100公里。地震引发的海啸对西南部的一些海港城市也造成了冲击。

智利政府已经宣布受地震影响的地区为灾区,包括Bio-Bio、Maule、Araucania、Valparaiso和Metropolitan Santi等地。

在对地震造成的损害和所需的帮助进行了评估之后,智利政府今天宣布将接受国际援助,其中包括临时医院、临时桥梁和净水设施的建设,以及灾难评估专家和搜救人员。

同事,智利政府教育部宣布学校推迟一周开学。周一本来是新学期开学的日期,现在已经更改到3月8日。

UNICEF Photo
© Reuters/Jose Luis Saavedra
在智利城市康塞普西翁,一个男孩站在一处被损毁的房屋旁边。康塞普西翁距震中100公里,是智利第二大城市,有20万人口。

儿童是最需要帮助的

虽然今后今天智利地震的死亡人数将继续上升,但可能最终的数字要比1月12日海地地震造成的伤亡小得多。虽然海地地震的震级比智利要小得多,但当地极度的贫困和脆弱得多的基础设施大大加重了自然灾害带来的灾难。

目前海地的雨季已经开始,引发了国际社会对救援机构是否能保障物资供应和救援的关注。尽管如此,联合国儿童基金会及合作伙伴正在为受地震影响的儿童提供紧急情况下的教育支援。

在任何灾难情况下,儿童都是最脆弱的人群。联合国儿童基金会除了提供干预以保证儿童生存并得到保护之外,也致力于尽快在灾后重建教育,以便为经历了翻天覆地巨变的儿童提供安全感和回归正常的生活。


 

 

搜索

Chile

UNICEF and partners stand ready to help after massive earthquake strikes Chile

UNICEF Image
© Reuters/Alvarado
A boy walks past destruction caused by the 27 February earthquake in Chile, which unleashed a Pacific tsunami that caused extensive damage in southern coastal towns.

NEW YORK, USA, 1 March 2010 – UNICEF and its UN partners are monitoring events and stand ready to help in the aftermath of an 8.8-magnitude earthquake that shook Chile early Saturday, 27 February.

The quake reportedly killed at least 700 people and displaced an estimated 1.5 million, causing widespread damage to homes, hospitals, schools, roads and other infrastructure. All UNICEF staff in Chile have been accounted for.

VIDEO: Watch now

This earthquake came just six and a half weeks after a less powerful but more deadly one struck Haiti, where intensive aid operations continue. UNICEF has made clear that its humanitarian commitments in Haiti will not stand in the way of providing help to Chile in areas of expertise that may be required.

According to UNICEF Director of Emergency Programmes Louis-Georges Arsenault, the organization could possibly provide assistance in areas such as child protection and water purification. Unless the situation worsens, however, neither UNICEF nor the United Nations is expected to launch a special funding appeal for Chilean quake relief, Mr. Arsenault said.

"But we do invite people to support UNICEF globally on fundraising work, which could be diverted to Chile if need be," he added.

UNICEF Image
© Reuters/Ruiz Caballero
Families gather on a street in downtown Santiago after an 8.8-magnitude earthquake shook Chile, killing hundreds of people and causing severe damage to infrastructure.

‘Zones of catastrophe’

Saturday’s quake hit at 3:34 a.m. local time off the Chilean coast. The epicentre was 325 km southwest of the capital, Santiago, but just 100 km from Chile’s second-largest city, Concepción, which has a population of more than 200,000. A tsunami triggered by the earthquake caused additional damage in some southern coastal towns.

The Government of Chile has declared ‘zones of catastrophe’ in the affected regions, including Bio-Bio, Maule, Araucania, Valparaiso and Metropolitan Santiago.

Following its initial assessment of needs and damage, the government said today that it would accept some offers of international assistance – particularly aid in the form of field hospitals, temporary bridges and water-purification supplies, as well as damage-assessment experts and search-and-rescue workers.

Meanwhile, Chile’s Ministry of Education has suspended the start of the school year by one week. Classes had been scheduled to resume today but will now begin on 8 March.

UNICEF Image
© Reuters/Jose Luis Saavedra
A boy stands next to a building destroyed in the Chilean city of Concepción, some 100 km south of the earthquake’s epicentre.
Children are most vulnerable

While the number of deaths in Chile is expected to rise, it seems likely to reach only a small fraction of the toll from the 12 January earthquake in Haiti. Even though that quake was much lower in magnitude than the one in Chile, extreme poverty and a far more fragile infrastructure magnified the effects of natural disaster in the Caribbean nation.

The onset of the rainy season in Haiti is currently causing concern about the ability of relief agencies to deliver supplies and services. Nevertheless, UNICEF and its partners in Haiti are moving ahead with an emergency education operation for children affected by the disaster.

Children are the most vulnerable in any emergency. Besides urgent interventions to ensure child survival and protection in such situations, UNICEF works to restore education as quickly as possible – providing a sense of normalcy and security for children whose world has been turned upside-down.


 

 

Video

1 March 2010: UNICEF Director of Emergency Programmes Louis-Georges Arsenault discusses UNICEF's response to Chile's earthquake.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search