乍得

在乍得,坚强的母亲帮助儿子治疗营养不良

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Chad/2012/Asselin
两岁大的阿丹已经能够奔跑,并和兄长们一起打闹嬉戏。就在几个月前,他还站不稳。今年萨赫勒地区爆发的营养危机造成数百万儿童生命危在旦夕,阿丹便是其中的一个。

杰西卡.莫尼(Jessica Mony)报道

乍得盖拉(GUERA),2013年1月18日 —— 班达村(Banda)是一个由排列整齐的土坯房组成的村落,每一家用木栅栏单独隔开。孩子们热切地透过栅栏缝隙好奇地朝外张望,期待来访则的脚步。

其中一名儿童是两岁大的阿丹(Adoun)。他一边咯咯地笑,一边回头朝他母亲泽娜芭.伊萨(Zenaba Issa)张望。她也报以同样灿烂的笑容。伊萨女士坐在自己编织的草席上,四周围坐着阿丹的哥哥姐姐 —— 四名男孩和一名女孩。

每天都是一场战斗

由于去年粮食歉收,伊萨一家每天都要为吃饭发愁。伊萨女士是一家之主,独自承受着养家的重任。

伊萨女士的丈夫在阿丹出生后不久就离开了。在几个月前收获季节之间的‘青黄不接’时期,阿丹虚弱得无法走路了。“他出生时是比一般孩子都大。等到他逐渐长大,到了该吃饭的时候,我却没有东西喂他。他开始腹泻,变得非常虚弱、瘦骨嶙峋。”

伊萨女士带他去看了被称为“Marabou”的传统大夫。可阿丹的病情未见好转,伊萨女士越来越担心。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Chad/2012/Asselin
粮食歉收、长期贫困和医疗服务不足将最弱势的儿童推到了危机的风口浪尖。

健康筛查

几周以后,联合国儿童基金会工作人员来到这个村落为儿童进行营养不良筛查。阿丹被转往当地政府支持设立的门诊中心。在那里,联合国儿童基金会培训的医疗工作人员为阿丹提供即食治疗性食品,并进行了为期两个月的监控。

伊萨女士领到了一顶蚊帐和一块肥皂,并了解了她力所能及的一些简单注意事项,以防阿丹再次患上营养不良。

几个月前,阿丹因身体虚弱而无法走路。但现在,他已经开始学步,精神比以前好多了,活泼好动的他整天跟着兄长们转。

同时,雨水也为今年获得更好的收成带来了希望。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Chad/2012/Asselin
图为阿丹的母亲泽娜芭.伊萨正在做编织活。阿丹患病之后,母亲将他送往营养中心接受治疗,她也在那里学到了如何避免儿子生病的知识。

锻炼自己抵抗饥饿的威胁

对于像伊萨一家这样最弱势的家庭而言,即将到来的收获季节可能意味着今年不需要担心吃不饱饭。然而,每年都有青黄不接的时候,饥饿的威胁从未消失。

伊萨女士意志坚定,决心不让孩子挨饿。她的丈夫离开后,她便自学了编织草席、草帽和篮子,然后拿到市场上出售。“我必须勒紧腰带。”她说,“正如您所见,我的生活十分艰难。这就是我学习手工编织和干农活的原因。”她周围的所有人都面临着同样的贫困挑战,但应对机制却十分有限。“我人生的主要目标就是养活孩子。这是我唯一能做的事。”她说,“我想送我的孩子们去上学,但我现在无力承担。”

像伊萨这样坚强、有奉献精神的母亲们在2012年的营养危机中挽救了无数孩子的生命。正是得益于捐助者、合作伙伴及联合国儿童基金会的支持,这些母亲们才能够得到帮助。

设立营养中心帮助最弱势的儿童,不仅有助于避免可预防的死亡,还意味着像阿丹这样的儿童能够茁壮成长,造福他们所在的国家。


 

 

联合国儿童基金会摄影

搜索

Chad

A determined mother saves her son from the clutches of malnutrition in Chad

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Chad/2012/Asselin
Two-year-old Adoun walks, runs and play fights with his older brothers. Just a few months ago, he could barely stand. Adoun is one of millions of children across the Sahel whose lives hung in the balance during this year's nutrition crisis.

By Jessica Mony

GUERA, Chad, 18 January 2013 - The village of Banda is a neat collection of mud huts, each marked with a boundary fence of sticks. Through the sticks peek the inquisitive faces of children, eager to see the visitors who have arrived.

One of those faces belongs to 2-year-old Adoun. He giggles and looks back to see where his mother Zenaba Issa is. He beams at her. She smiles back at him. Ms. Issa sits, surrounded by Adoun’s older siblings, four young boys and a girl, on a mat she wove herself.

Every day a struggle

The Issa family have struggled to eat each day since last year’s failed harvest. As head of the family, Ms. Issa alone bears this burden.

Ms. Issa’s husband left soon after Adoun was born. A few months ago, in the midst of the ‘hunger gap’ between harvests, Adoun became so weak that he wasn’t able to walk. “When he was born, he was very big for his age. Then, when he was older, and it was time for him to eat food, I didn’t have anything to feed him. He started getting diarrhoea and became every weak and skinny.”

Ms. Issa visited a traditional healer called a ‘marabou’. Adoun didn’t get better, and Ms. Issa got more and more worried.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Chad/2012/Asselin
Failed harvests, chronic poverty and limited health services put the most vulnerable children on the front line of the crisis.

Health screening

A few weeks later, UNICEF staff came to the village to screen children for malnutrition. Adoun was referred to an outpatient centre that had been set up with support from the local government. There, Adoun was given ready-to-use therapeutic food and was monitored for two months by UNICEF-trained health workers.

Ms. Issa was given a mosquito net and soap, and was taught simple things she could do to prevent Adoun from becoming malnourished again.

Today, months after he was so weak he couldn’t walk, Adoun is an energetic, excitable toddler who hangs on his older brother’s every word.

And the rains bring hope for a better harvest this year.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Chad/2012/Asselin
When Adoun fell ill, his mother Zenaba Issa, shown here weaving products for sale, brought him to a nutrition centre, where, while he was treated, she learned to prevent his becoming ill again.

Steeling themselves against the threat of hunger

For the most vulnerable families, like the Issas, the coming harvest could mean this year’s struggle for food is over. The hunger gap, however, comes every year. The threat of hunger is never far away.

Ms. Issa is relentless in her determination to provide for her family. When her husband left, she taught herself to weave mats, hats and baskets from wild grasses to sell at market. “I had to tighten the belt,” she says. “As you can see, it was very difficult for me. That’s why I learnt to weave and farm.” But, with everyone around her facing the same challenges of poverty, there are limited coping mechanisms. “My main purpose in life is to feed my children. That is all I can do,” she says. “I want to send my children to school, but I can’t afford to now.”

The strength and devotion of mothers like Issa saved countless children’s lives during the nutrition crisis in 2012. Thanks to the support of donors, partners and UNICEF, help was available for these mothers.

Setting up nutrition centres to reach the most vulnerable children not only helps avert preventable deaths, but it also means children like Adoun can grow up to be the generation that helps build the resilience of the country.


 

 

UNICEF Photography: In Focus

New enhanced search