乍得

哈米德的故事: 前儿童兵在乍得找到了新生活之路

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2007-0242/Pirozzi
乍得东南部由联合国儿童基金会援助的Djaba难民营中的这幅图,表明这里不允许来自苏丹达尔富尔持续冲突地区的难民携带武器进入。

萨尔玛.佐勒

2010年2月12日,乍得,穆索罗 - 16岁的哈米德(化名)谈起在苏丹动乱的达尔富尔地区的儿童兵生活时,脸上带着呆滞的神情。“我已不记得到底杀了多少人,我不愿意去想它,”他说道,同时双脚紧张地在地上磨蹭着。

2007年,哈米德在学校遭到欺凌和抢劫后,从位于乍得首都恩贾梅纳的家中出走。“我觉得,这个国家没有正义,所以我去了苏丹,”他解释说,并补充道,之后他加入了一个叛乱集团,在从乍得到苏丹的主要公路上成为看管障碍的一名士兵。

谈到他所佩带的武器时,他回忆说,“指挥官给了我一支卡拉什尼科夫冲锋枪,我在所在的小组担任负责人。”

UNICEF Photo
© Care International/2010
乍得首都恩贾梅纳一个由联合国儿童基金会支持的中转中心内,一名前儿童兵在学习缝纫。

康复进程的开始

当局势开始失控后,哈米德离开了叛乱集团。他说,“当时发生了内部冲突,我吓坏了,所以我回到了乍得。”

他越过边界,并在乍得东部阿贝歇市寻求帮助。地方当局将他送到穆索罗这里的培训中心,这里的军事人员开始对卷入武装冲突的儿童进行确认,登记他们的年龄,并尝试从他们那儿得到尽可能多的信息,帮助他们与家人团聚。

这一项目由联合国儿童基金会工作人员监督并最后批准。

作为康复的一部分,哈米德将被送到恩贾梅纳一个由援外社国际协会运行和联合国儿童基金会支持的中转中心,至少要住上3个月。他将有机会学习和掌握新技能,帮助将来能找到工作。在调查他家庭情况的同时,他还将得到社会心理方面的支持。

哈米德说:“我想念我的家人。我一直想着他们。我很想知道他们在做什么、吃些什么,我不知他们是否安好,我很想早日见到他们。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2007-0239/Pirozzi
戈兹贝达镇 Djabal难民营的医院里,一名男童正在养伤,这个营地专为来自苏丹达尔富尔冲突地区的难民所设。

 “令人痛心的局面”

乍得政府为那些放下武器的叛军每人支付约830元。对哈米德来说,这提供了一线生机。“我很高兴当局帮助了我。反叛集团没有付我费用,并且走的时候也没带钱,”他说。

“许多来到这里的儿童都显得紧张爱闹事,”穆索罗的一位乍得军官,萨利赫.纳基特瑞上校指出。 “他们经历了那么多,其中一些也杀了人。这些对他们的精神状态都会有影响。我自己也是一名父亲,看到这些孩子的经历真令人痛心。”

苏丹武装团体招募的乍得儿童数目没有确切数字,但通常研究认为数目较大。这些儿童中,有些是自愿参军,也有些是被武力强征。

自2006年,影响乍得的内部冲突次数开始下降,但该国境内武装集团招募儿童个案的报告仍有发生。

支持遣散儿童兵工作

2007年5月,联合国儿童基金会和乍得政府签署了一项儿童兵遣散协议。该协议继续乍得政府于2006年2月签署的巴黎议定书承诺,旨在停止武装部队和武装团体招募儿童兵。

迄今为止,近800名已离开了武装集团的乍得儿童兵得到了联合国儿童基金会复员方案的部分援助。

“在最近的苏丹和乍得间的积极和平谈判后,我们希望看到在未来数月有更多的儿童兵复员,”联合国儿童基金会乍得儿童保护行政主任菲利普.阿塞尔(Philippe Assale)说道,但他强调,这些努力的继续将需要更多资金的投入。”


 

 

搜索

Chad

Hameed’s story: Former child soldiers are finding new lives in Chad

'Red Hand Day' observed

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2007-0242/Pirozzi
A painted sign indicates that weapons are not allowed inside the UNICEF-assisted Djabal camp in south-eastern Chad for refugees from the ongoing conflict in Sudan's Darfur region.

Red Hand Day, 12 February, is observed annually to spotlight the situation of children who are forced to serve in wars and armed conflicts. It marks the anniversary of the signing of a protocol to the Convention on the Rights of the Child that forbids the use of children in conflict. Here is a related story from Chad.

By Salma Zulfiqar

MOUSSORO, Chad, 12 February 2010 – Hameed (not his real name), 16, has a glazed look on his face when he talks about his life as a child soldier in Sudan’s troubled Darfur region. “I’ve lost count of how many people I have killed, and I don’t think about it,” he says, shuffling his feet nervously.

Hameed ran away from his home in N’Djamena, the capital of Chad, in 2007 after being bullied and robbed at school. “I felt that there was no justice in this country, so I went to Sudan,” he explains, adding that he joined a rebel group as a soldier guarding a barrier on the main road from Chad to Sudan.

“I was given a Kalashnikov by the commander,” he recalls, referring to the weapon he carried. “I was responsible for my group of soldiers.”

UNICEF Image
© Care International/2010
A former child soldier learns tailoring skills at a transit centre supported by UNICEF in the Chadian capital, N’Djamena.

Rehabilitation process begins
Hameed left the rebel group when the situation began to spin out of control. “There was internal conflict,” he says. “I got scared so I came back to Chad.”

He crossed the border and sought help in the eastern Chadian city of Abeche. The local authorities transported him to a training centre here in Moussoro, where military personnel begin the process of identifying and rehabilitating children caught in conflict. They determine the ages of former child soldiers and try to get as much information from them as possible, in order to help reunite them with their families.

The procedure is observed and certified by UNICEF staff.

As part of his rehabilitation, Hameed will be taken to a transit centre run by CARE International and supported by UNICEF back in N’Djamena, where he can stay for up to three months. He will have the opportunity to study and learn new skills that should help him find work in the future. He will also receive psycho-social support while his family is traced.

“I miss my family. I think about them all the time. I wonder what they are doing, what they are eating, and I wonder if they are OK,” says Hameed. “I can’t wait to see them”.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2007-0239/Pirozzi
A boy recovers from wounds at a hospital in the Djabal refugee camp for refugees from the conflict in Sudan’s Darfur region. The camp is near the town of Goz Beida in Chad’s Ouaddai Region.

‘It’s heartbreaking to see’
The Chadian Government gives a payment of about $830 to rebel fighters who lay down their arms. This was a lifeline for Hameed. “I’m glad that the authorities helped me. I wasn’t being paid by the rebel group and left without any money,” he says.

“Many of the children that come here are nervous and aggressive,” notes Capt. Saleh Nangtara, a Chadian military officer in Moussoro. “They have seen so much, and some have killed people, too. This affects their state of mind. I’m a father myself and it’s heartbreaking to see what these children have gone through.”

While there are no confirmed figures on how many Chadian children have been recruited by armed groups in Sudan, the number is thought to be high. Children are recruited either voluntarily, as in Hameed’s case, or by force – with armed groups reportedly entering border villages in Chad.

Against the backdrop of internal conflict that has affected Chad since 2006, cases of child recruitment by armed groups inside the country have also been reported.

Support for demobilization
UNICEF and the Government of Chad signed an agreement for the demobilization of child soldiers in May 2007. This accord followed Chad’s commitment at the Paris Protocols, signed in February 2006, to stop the recruitment of children into armed forces and groups.

To date, nearly 800 Chadian children who left armed groups have received assistance from UNICEF as part of the rehabilitation programme.

“Following recent positive peace talks between Sudan and Chad, we hope to see more children demobilized in the coming months,” says UNICEF Chad Chief of Child Protection Philippe Assale, but he stresses that these efforts will needs more funding to continue.


 

 

New enhanced search