乍得

‘佐伊方舟’的儿童5个月后与他们在乍得的家人团聚

UNICEF Photo: Zoe’s Ark, Chad
© UNICEF Chad/2008
在乍得东部的阿贝歇,‘佐伊方舟’孤儿院的儿童等着被送回到家人的身边。

美国纽约,2008年3月19日。在乍得东部的孤儿院渡过了5个月后,上周五上午,令世界瞩目的103名‘佐伊方舟的孤儿’中的83名开始了他们的返乡之旅。继续留在孤儿院的20名儿童中的大部分儿童可望于本周与他们的家人团聚。

去年非洲中部国家的儿童被卷入一场慈善收养丑闻,当法国的非政府组织‘佐伊方舟’试图带着这些儿童从乍得飞往法国时,引起了巨大的震动。据报这些儿童因被骗而与家人失散。

UNICEF Photo: Zoe’s Ark, Chad
© UNICEF Chad/2008
联合国儿童基金会驻乍得的代表玛丽亚姆.库里巴利.恩迪埃与将离开阿德雷的‘佐伊方舟’的一名儿童交谈。

在阿贝歇孤儿院举行的仪式上,联合国儿童基金会驻乍得代表玛丽亚姆.库里巴利.恩迪埃对儿童的安全返回表示了感谢。乍得的社会事务部部长卡梅.恩伽芭替楠,对乍得社会事务部的合作伙伴为儿童们所做的工作表示感谢。

联合国儿童基金会、联合国人权事务高级专员、世界粮食计划署、国际红十字会委员会、乍得红十字会和英国拯救儿童基金会都表示支持政府所作的努力。

维系家庭完整

联合国儿童基金会的工作人员陪同孩子们搭乘巴士回到了阿德雷。一辆辆满载玩具和自行车,以及送给他们家人的被褥和衣物的货车也一同启程。

UNICEF Photo: Zoe’s Ark, Chad
© UNICEF Chad/2008
将要离开阿贝歇孤儿院的儿童向志愿者表示感谢。

到达阿德雷后,孩子们的家人用张开的双臂和喜悦的泪水迎接他们的到来。为了帮助这些及其它千千万万的家庭维持家庭的完整,国际捐助者 — 包括西班牙和日本政府,合作伙伴‘迪拜看护’和联合国儿童基金法国委员会 — 已承诺对该地区儿童的营养、教育和保护等综合方面的项目提供财政支持。

‘佐伊方舟’的儿童和他们的家庭团聚“对我们来说是一个重要的步骤,但不是最后的,”联合国儿童基金会儿童保护干事让.弗朗索瓦.巴斯指出。“我要说的是真正的挑战才刚刚开始。”


 

 

视频(英文)

2008年3月14日:联合国儿童基金会通讯员克里斯.内尔斯报道了‘佐伊方舟的孤儿’重新和乍的家人团聚。
 视频 高速 | 低速
搜索

Chad

Zoe’s Ark children reunited with their families in Chad after five months

UNICEF Image: Zoe’s Ark, Chad
© UNICEF Chad/2008
Children from the Zoe’s Ark orphanage wait to be transported from Abeche, eastern Chad, to be reunited with their families.

NEW YORK, USA, 19 March 2008 – Last Friday morning, after five months spent in an orphanage in eastern Chad, 83 of 103 children known to the world as the ‘Zoe’s Ark orphans’ began their journey home. Most of the remaining 20 children are expected to be reunited with their families this week.

The children had been caught up in a charity adoption scandal that rocked the Central African nation last year, when the French non-governmental organization Zoe’s Ark attempted to fly them out of Chad to France. The children were reportedly separated from their families under false pretenses.

UNICEF Image: Zoe’s Ark, Chad
© UNICEF Chad/2008
UNICEF Representative in Chad Mariam Coulibaly Ndiaye with one of the Zoe’s Ark children before his departure to Adre.

During a ceremony held at the orphanage in Abeche, UNICEF Representative in Chad Mariam Coulibaly Ndiaye expressed gratitude for the safe return of the children. Chad’s Minister of Social Affairs, Carmel Ngarbatinan, thanked the partners who have worked with her ministry on the children’s behalf.

UNICEF, the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, the World Food Programme, the International Committee of the Red Cross, the Chadian Red Cross and Save the Children UK have all supported the government’s efforts.

Keeping families intact

UNICEF staff accompanied the children on their bus ride back to the town of Adre. Trucks carrying toys and bicycles, as well as bedding and clothing to be given to their families, also made the trip.

UNICEF Image: Zoe’s Ark, Chad
© UNICEF Chad/2008
Children thank volunteer workers as they leave the orphanage in Abeche.

Upon their arrival in Adre, the children’s families welcomed them with open arms and tears of joy. To help these and thousands of other families remain intact, international donors – including the Governments of Spain and Japan, the Dubai Cares partnership and the French National Committee for UNICEF – have pledged financial support for an integrated child nutrition, education and protection programme in the region.

Reuniting the Zoe’s Ark children with their families “is an important step for us, but not the final one,” noted UNICEF Protection Officer Jean Francois Basse. “I would say the real challenge has just begun.”


 

 

Video

14 March 2008: UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports on the reunification of the ‘Zoe’s Ark orphans’ with their families in Chad.
 VIDEO  high | low
New enhanced search