中非共和国

在中非共和国,曾经加入武装团体的儿童恢复正常生活

苏珊娜.波克斯(Suzanne Beukes)报道

中非共和国恩代莱(N’DELE),2012年8月17日至24日 —— 穆斯塔法*(Mustafa)用戴了一年半的军绿色迷彩头巾擦干眼泪。在过去一年半的时间里,他加入了一个名为“正义与和平爱国者公约”(CPJP)的中非共和国内的武装团体。穆斯塔法18岁的哥哥现仍是该团体的成员,他站在聚集的人群中,目送穆斯塔法和其他两名男孩离开。对于穆斯塔法的离开,他显然很激动,但却试图掩盖自己的情绪。

2012年8月17日至24日:联合国儿童基金会通讯员苏珊娜.波克斯报道中非共和国的武装团体释放了10名儿童,联合国儿童基金会受战争影响儿童代言人伊斯梅尔.比亚近期访问该国。  在Realplayer中播放

 

波利肯尼亚(Boulekenia)是一个小村庄,靠近乍得边境,距离该区首府恩代莱有三小时车程。现在正是雨季,路况尤其糟糕。穆斯塔法晕车,司机不得不在路上停车数次。在去往恩代莱的途中,穆斯塔法将头巾扔出窗外。战争生活结束了。这次艰难的旅程也预示着充满不确定因素的新生活即将拉开帷幕。

倡导儿童权益

穆斯塔法和两名男孩,以及其他七名男孩,受到了恩代莱临时收容中心儿童们的热烈欢迎。他们的年龄均在10至18岁之间,都是今年离开“正义与和平爱国者公约”团体的前儿童兵。在这里,他们将重返校园,或学习一门职业技能。在他们上学的这段时间里,收容中心将寻找这些孩子的家人。在临时收容中心待上一段时间之后,这些儿童或与家人团聚,或交由寄养家庭抚养。

多年以前,联合国儿童基金会为受战争影响的儿童呼吁的倡导者伊斯梅尔.比亚(Ishmael Beah)也身处类似的境地。在塞拉利昂内战时期,他被强行征募为一名儿童兵。后来,他基于这段经历,写了一本畅销书。他致力于提高社会对受战争影响儿童所面临问题的关注。“我来到中非共和国,是为了揭示卷入武装冲突的儿童的问题,现在,这里形势非常严峻。同时,我也花了一些时间与加入过武装团体、并被释放的年轻人交流。”他说。

在中非共和国,帮助儿童脱离武装团体是联合国特别工作组工作任务的一部分。该工作组由联合国安理会授权,致力于安抚受武装团体影响的儿童并恢复他们的正常生活。尽管中非共和国保护儿童的政策已经生效,但儿童的人权仍然面临严重侵犯。截至发稿时,在中非共和国国内开展行动的8个武装团体中,仅有3个团体签署了保护与终止侵犯儿童人权的行动计划。

重新融入社会并非易事

在受冲突影响的城镇,如位于中非北部的恩代莱和阿克罗索拜客(Akroussoulback),这些武装团体活动频繁。配备有火箭筒和AK47的士兵们在城镇中四处走动,就好像这些武器是背包一样。

这些社区每天都经历战争和暴力冲突,人们已经习以为常。联合国儿童基金会驻中非共和国儿童保护主任弗斯卡.吉里多里(Fosca Giulidori)表示:“在这里的社区,武装团体活动频繁。由于基础设施匮乏,缺少社会服务,儿童极易被武装团体征募入伍,因为他们几乎别无选择。”

在艾哈迈德*(Ahmed)的父亲死于一次村庄受袭事件之后,他被迫加入了一个武装团体。那年,他才11岁。在4年时间里,他成为了该团体最高级别的官员之一。“如果留在团体里,我想自己会迷失方向。”他向我们反映说。

吉里多里女士解释说:“对于艾哈迈德应该离开团体这件事,我们花了很长时间才说服他本人和该团体的其他官员。其他官员之所以不愿意,是因为艾哈迈德是一位领导人,同时还是一名勇猛的战士。而且,艾哈迈德自然会对团体外的生活有所顾虑。”

联合国儿童基金会把艾哈迈德带到了临时收容中心。他在那里待了一段时间,然后被送到他叔叔家生活。“我现在在学习使用计算机。第一堂课学的是如何开机,第二堂课学的是如何使用鼠标。”他的笑容里仍有戒备。

尽管目前他已取得一些进步,但依然面临着被引诱而重返武装团体的风险。考虑到他以前所处的地位,艾哈迈德是极易动摇的。他知道自己必须离开恩代莱。他想和住在首都班基的哥哥住在一起。“但即使在班基,”他说,“也有我的敌人。”尽管面临危险,他依然决心继续计算机课程,拒绝重返团体。

“当你习惯于某一种生活方式时,要去了解其他生活方式的可能性是需要花费一些时间的……这是我自己经历过的。”比亚先生说。他花了5天时间为儿童们指导课程,课程内容包括讨论失去亲人、经历战争以及重新融入社会等问题。“这个过程很艰苦。我希望让人们知道这并不容易,需要坚持。但最终,你会发现有更美好的事物等着你。所有的这一切,都从你放下武器的那一刻开始。”

*为保护儿童身份,文中人名系化名。


 

 

搜索

Central African Republic

Children associated with armed groups in the Central African Republic win back their lives

By Suzanne Beukes

N’DELE, Central African Republic, 17–24 August 2012 – Mustafa* wipes his tears with the green camouflage headscarf he has worn for the past year and a half spent associated with an armed group in the Central African Republic known as Convention of Patriots for Justice and Peace (CPJP). His brother, who is 18 and remains a member of the group, stands in a crowd that has gathered to see Mustafa and two other boys leave. He is visibly emotional about Mustafa’s departure, but he tries to hide it.

17-24 August 2012: UNICEF correspondent Suzanne Beukes reports on UNICEF Advocate for Children Affected by War Ishmael Beah's recent visit to the Central African Republic, where 10 children were released from armed groups.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

It is a three-hour drive from the small village of Boulekenia, near the border of Chad, to N’dele, the capital of the prefecture. It is the rainy season, and the road is particularly bad. The driver stops the car several times so that Mustafa can be sick. Halfway to N’dele, Mustafa throws the headscarf out the window. It is over, this life of war. A new, unknown life begins on the other side of this difficult trip.

Advocating for children

Together with seven others, Mustafa and the two boys are welcomed at a transit centre in N’dele by children aged 10 to 18 who have also been released this year from CPJP. Here they will either return to school or learn a vocational skill. While they study, their families are traced. After some time at the transit centre, the children are either reunited with their families or placed in foster care.

Some years ago, UNICEF Advocate for Children Affected by War Ishmael Beah found himself in a similar position. He was forcibly recruited as a child during a civil war in Sierre Leone and eventually wrote a bestselling book about his experiences. He seeks to raise awareness about the issues facing children affected by war. “I came to Central African Republic to shed light on the issues of children in armed conflict, which is a very dire situation here, and also to spend some time with some of the young people who are coming from these groups that have been released,” he said.

The removal of children from armed groups in the Central African Republic is part of efforts by a UN task force, mandated by the UN Security Council, that releases and rehabilitates children affected by armed groups. Despite the validation of national policies on child protection, Central African children face serious human rights abuses and violations. To date, only three of the eight armed groups operating in the country have signed an action plan to prevent and to end these violations.

The road to reintegration is not easy

In conflict-affected towns such as N’dele and Akroussoulback in the northeastern part of the country, the presence of these groups is heavily felt. Soldiers walk around town wielding rocket-propelled grenades and AK47s as though they were shoulder bags.

These communities know war and violence, as they are confronted with them every day. According to UNICEF Central African Republic Chief of Child Protection Fosca Giulidori, “The presence of these groups is very strong in the communities here, and, because there is such limited infrastructure and access to social services, children are particularly vulnerable to being recruited into armed groups because few other options exist for them.”

Ahmed* felt compelled to join an armed group after his father was killed in an attack on his village. He was 11, at the time. Within four years, he had become one of the group’s highest-ranking officials. “I thought that if I stayed in the group, I would become lost,” he reflects.

Ms. Giulidori explains, “It took a very long time to convince Ahmed and the group officials that he should leave. They were reluctant because he is a leader and strong combatant, and naturally he was afraid of life outside the groups.”

UNICEF brought Ahmed to the transit centre. He stayed for some time before being placed in his uncle’s home. “I am taking computer classes now. The first lesson taught us how to switch it on, in the second lesson we learnt how to use the mouse,” he says with a guarded smile.

Despite his progress so far, he is at constant risk of being lured back into the group. Ahmed is particularly vulnerable because of the position he formerly held. He knows he must leave N’dele and wants to stay with his brother in the capital city of Bangui. “But even there,” he says, “I have enemies.” Despite this risk, he is determined to continue with his computer classes and resist returning to the group.

“When you are conditioned to function a certain way, it takes time to know that something else is possible…I went through that myself,” says Mr. Beah, who spent five days with the children conducting sessions covering such themes as loss, time at war and reintegration. “But it takes hard work. I want to leave behind the message that it is not easy, it takes perseverance, but in the end, you can get to the point when you feel like there is something better. This all starts by leaving behind your weapons.”

*Names have been changed to protect children’s identities.


 

 

New enhanced search