中非共和国

中非共和国西北部因强盗袭击导致大量人员流离失所

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2007/ Holtz
在中非共和国西北部一个年轻的沛胡部落的女孩收到联合国儿童基金会紧急救援物资。

艾米莉.斑芙德报道

中非共和国博桑戈阿,2008年1月18日。尽管流离失所是痛苦和艰辛的,中非共和国沛胡部落的人们仍延续着他们传统的生活方式。他们依然身着鲜艳生动的衣服并佩带珠宝首饰。考虑到他们几周来苦难经历,这实在是了不起。

一群原本住在中非共和国西北部博祖姆地区塔塔里村的沛胡部落人逃离了被臭名昭著的‘剑锋道路’的强盗霸占的家园。

沛胡或‘姆巴鲁鲁人’是传统游牧牧民,但近来有更多人接受了定居的生活方式,如塔塔里村这样的定居村落。他们传统的生活方式是饲养成群的家畜,以为他们提供财政保障和相对殷实的生活。

过去,这种繁荣的景象在中非共和国的持续不断的冲突中是至关重要的。然而在近期,沛胡部落已成为操控西北部的大量强盗的诱人的目标。

‘见什么拿什么’

相当多的沛胡部落的妇女和儿童,现居住在位于博桑戈阿郊区的牧民的小客栈。这个小客栈基本上是个谷仓,一下雨便漏。

没有食物或自来水,沛胡人正在为生存而挣扎。在大多数情况下,他们已一无所有。许多妇女已失去了亲人。

一名女子描述,在一个寂静的深夜,她家是如何惨遭洗劫的,“见东西就抢,见人就打还绑架跑不了的人。”

他们的生计,积蓄和财产被掠夺了 — 有亲人被劫持的家庭更是惊恐万状 — 塔塔里村剩下的家庭,走了许多天才到达博桑戈阿。

由于大雨,妇女只好坐在周围全是水的塑料布上。2岁的阿比巴,躺在看上去很消瘦的母亲吉娜布的身旁。吉娜布说,她到处乞讨,四处觅食,以找到足够的食物来抚养她的4个孩子和年迈母亲。她埋下脸,来回摇摆着孩子,她确信她失踪的丈夫已经死了。

援助流离失所者

借助当地的红十字会,联合国儿童基金会已向流离失所的村民派发了紧急物资 — 包括睡觉草席,肥皂,简易容器和蚊帐。吉娜布和她的女儿被转托到附近的喂养中心,该中心得到了联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴反饥饿行动组织的支持。在这里阿比巴接受了危急营养援助,该中心刚开业就已饱和了。

联合国儿童基金会还通过紧急提供医疗保健和教育帮助等措施,给流离失所者以进一步的援助。虽然目前持续的冲突难以很快使沛胡部落重返家园,但是从长远来说,沛胡部落有望能够重返塔塔里村。

对于吉娜布来说,现在的塔塔里村看起来是那么的遥远。“我很想回家。那是属于我们的,但是在我知道我的孩子是安全的之前,我还不能回去,”她说。


 

 

搜索

Central African Republic

Bandit attacks lead to mass displacement across north-western CAR

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2007/ Holtz
A young Peuhl girl receives UNICEF emergency supplies in north-western Central African Republic.

By Emily Bamford

BOSSANGOA, Central African Republic, 18 January 2008 – Despite the pain and hardship of being displaced from their homes, the Peuhl people of the Central African Republic (CAR) are continuing with their traditional way of life. They remain immaculately dressed in vivid fabrics and beaded jewellery, an amazing feat considering their ordeal over the past several weeks.

Originally from Tatali village in the Bozoum area of north-western CAR, a group of Peuhl fled their homes in terror from the notorious ‘coupeur de route’ bandits who patrol the region.

The Peuhl or ‘Mbororo people’ were traditionally nomadic pastoralists but have more recently adopted a comparatively sedentary lifestyle, settling in villages such as Tatali. Their traditional way of life is centred around rearing large herds of cattle, which provide them with financial security and relative prosperity.

In the past, this prosperity  has proved vital in the face of ongoing conflict in CAR. More recently however, it has made the Peuhl an attractive target for the numerous bandits who operate in the north-west.

‘Taking everything in sight’

A disproportionately large number of Peuhl women and children are now residing in the herders’ rest house located on the outskirts of Bossangoa. The structure, which is essentially a barn, leaks when it rains.

Without food or running water, the Peuhl are struggling to survive. For the most part, they have lost everything they own. Many of the women have lost family members.

One woman explained how, in the dead of night, men descended on their homes, “taking everything in sight, attacking and kidnapping those unable to outrun them.”

Stripped of their livelihoods, savings and possessions – and terrified of having additional family members taken away – the families of Tatali left, walking for many days until they arrived in Bossangoa.

Because of heavy rains, the women had to sit on plastic sacking surrounded by water. Abiba, 2, lay beside her mother, Zinabu, looking very thin. Zinabu said she had begged and foraged in order to find enough food to support her four children and elderly mother. She covered her face, rocking back and forth, convinced that her missing husband was dead.

Aid for the displaced

With the help of the local Red Cross, UNICEF has distributed emergency supplies – including sleeping mats, soap, jerry cans and mosquito nets – to the displaced villagers. Zinabu and her daughter were referred to the nearby therapeutic feeding centre, where Abiba received critical nutritional assistance. The centre, supported by UNICEF and its partner Action Contre la Faim, had just opened and was already full to capacity.

UNICEF is further assisting displaced populations through the emergency provision of health care and education. In the long term, the Peuhl hope to be able to return to Tatali, although the ongoing conflict is likely to make this difficult anytime soon.

For Zinabu, Tatali now seems a million miles away. “I would love to go home. It is where I belong, but I cannot return there until I know that my children will be safe,” she said.

 


 

 

New enhanced search