中非共和国

奈吉的故事:从中非共和国的营养不良中康复

UNICEF Photo: CAR Neige
© UNICEF 2007/CAR/Holtz
在接受营养不良治疗之前,三岁的奈吉的样子。营养不良影响着中非近半数的儿童。

爱米丽.拜慕弗德报道

中非共和国博桑戈阿,2007年10月25日。奈吉害羞地笑着,藏到她祖母的围巾背后。 她才三岁,与其他11位家庭成员住在中非北部瓦姆河岸边的一座小房子里。

奈吉看起来可能和别的小女孩一样,但是,她能活下来是却是非常幸运的事。 几个月前,她差一点就死于营养不良。

她的家人确信,她的康复是个奇迹,是联合国儿童基金会亲善大使米娅.法罗直接干预的结果。

每天的挣扎

从奈吉和她的大家庭所住的小屋子看出去,可以看到村里的渔夫在河里工作,色彩缤纷的鸟和蝴蝶在周围飞舞。

UNICEF Photo: CAR Neige Mia Farrow
© UNICEF 2007/CAR/Holtz
联合国儿童基金会亲善大使米娅.法罗与奈吉在一起,当时奈吉正在班吉的唯一一家儿童医院接受治疗。

但是,不要被这美丽的景象所迷惑,博桑戈阿的生活很艰难。 缺少工作机会和极端的季节性工作对很多家庭的生活造成严重影响,他们很难维持生活。

对于奈吉的母亲尤津妮来说,每天都是一场战斗。 没有足够的工作,但是她必须照顾三个孩子和家里的几位老人。

奈吉的父亲是一位军官,在她出生不久,就被派往班吉驻扎,从此杳无音讯。 尤津妮偶尔可以在当地市场上找到制作和贩卖蜂蜜啤酒的活儿。 然而,她最近钱很紧,都买不起菜了。

急性和慢性的营养不良

今年三月,法罗女士率领的联合国儿童基金会使团前往博桑戈阿。该团在奈吉和她的母亲参加联合国儿童基金会关于产妇护理的培训课时,发现了他们。

该培训课程是联合国儿童基金会与两个非政府组织合作的基于社区的项目的一部分,旨在支持博桑戈阿地区的卫生和营养服务。这两个非政府组织分别为人道主义国际合作和慈善社。

UNICEF Photo: CAR Neige
© UNICEF 2007/CAR/Holtz
现在,奈吉健康又快乐,她已经从严重的营养不良中恢复过来,她的康复像个奇迹般令她的家人欢心鼓舞。

慢性营养不良在中非很普遍,折磨着这里大约38%的幼童。 另外还有10%患有急性营养不良。 该国受冲突影响的北部地区,这些比例数字明显高于其它地区。

从饥饿到希望

通常,营养不良可以在居住地治疗,但是因为奈吉的情况非常严重,法罗女士亲自将她紧急送往班吉的高度专业化的食疗中心,该中心也是由联合国儿童基金会支助的。 在几天的危急之后,奈吉完全康复并回到了她的村子。

今天,奈吉明显地康复起来。 她有一头浓密的头发,体重不再过轻。 在联合国儿童基金会的帮助下,尤津妮正在学习如何为她女儿提供更加平衡完善的饮食,甚至提供了一小笔资金。

此外,联合国儿童基金会继续支助村里的医院和基于社区的卫生中心,包括当地家庭计划协会(ACABEF)。 这种干预应该可以帮助社区减少未来营养不良的病例。 他们如果取得成功,那么像奈吉这样的故事将会成为历史。


 

 

搜索

Central African Republic

Neige’s story: Recovering from malnutrition in the Central African Republic

UNICEF Image: CAR Neige
© UNICEF 2007/CAR/Holtz
Neige, 3, as she looked before receiving medical attention for the effects of malnutrition, which affects almost half of all children in the Central African Republic.

By Emily Bamford

BOSSANGOA, Central African Republic, 25 October 2007 – Neige giggles shyly and hides behind her grandmother’s shawl. Just three years old, she lives with 11 other family members in a tiny home on the banks of the Ouham River in northern Central African Republic (CAR).

Neige may look like any other little girl, but she is very lucky to be alive. A few months ago she almost died from malnutrition.

Her family is convinced that her recovery – facilitated by the direct intervention of UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow – is a miracle.

An everyday struggle

From the small house where Neige and her extended family live, it’s possible to see village fishermen at work on the river and colourful birds and butterflies swarming around.

UNICEF Image: CAR Neige Mia Farrow
© UNICEF 2007/CAR/Holtz
UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow with Neige while she was in recovery at the only children’s hospital in Bangui.

But the beautiful surroundings are deceptive. Life in Bossangoa is tough. Jobs are scarce and extreme seasonal variations have a significant impact on many families’ ability to maintain food supplies.

For Eugenie, Neige’s mother, every day is a struggle. With work in short supply, she must support three children as well as several other elderly dependents.

Neige’s father was a military officer posted to Bangui shortly after his her birth, and the family hasn’t heard from him since. Eugenie is occasionally able to find work making and selling honey beer at the local market. Recently, however, money has been tight and she has not been able to afford the ingredients.

Chronic and acute malnutrition

In March of this year, a UNICEF-led mission brought Ms. Farrow to Bossangoa. The group discovered Neige and her mother when they attended a UNICEF training session on maternal care.

The session was part of a community based project – funded in part by UNICEF in a joint venture with two non-governmental organizations, the International Partnership for Human Development and Caritas – to support health and nutritional services for those living in the Bossangoa area.

UNICEF Image: CAR Neige
© UNICEF 2007/CAR/Holtz
Now healthier and happy, Neige has recovered from severe malnutrition; her recovery has been hailed as a miracle by her family.

Chronic malnutrition is a common problem in CAR, afflicting approximately 38 per cent of young children here. A further 10 per cent suffer from acute malnutrition. In the country’s northern, conflict-affected prefectures, the numbers are significantly higher.

From hunger to hope

Normally, malnutrition can be treated in-situ, but Neige’s condition was so severe that Ms. Farrow personally rushed her to Bangui’s highly specialized therapeutic feeding centre, also supported by UNICEF. After a critical few days, Neige made a full recovery and returned back to her village. 

Today Neige is visibly healthier. She has a thick head of hair and is no longer underweight. With the help of UNICEF, Eugenie is learning how to provide her daughter with a more balanced and complete diet, even with minimal funds.

In addition, UNICEF is continuing its support of the village’s hospital and community-based health centres, including ACABEF, the local family-planning association. Such interventions should help the community to reduce the future incidence of malnutrition. If they succeed, stories such as Neige’s will become a thing of the past.


 

 

New enhanced search