加拿大

在地球峰会上发言的16年后,一位年轻的环保活动家仍在奋斗

UNICEF Photo
当时年仅12岁的希沃.库里斯-铃木,在1992年巴西里约热内卢的地球峰会上发言。

美国纽约,2008年7月10日。就在16年前,在巴西的里约热内卢的第一届地球峰会上,一位名叫希沃.库里斯-铃木的12岁的加拿大女孩走上讲台,在坐满了外交官的安静的大厅里发表了演讲。

“在学校里,甚至在幼儿园,你们就教我们在这个世界该如何遵守规范,”她带着与她的年轻不相符的冷静和坚毅说道。“你们教我们不要和别人打架;要解决问题;要尊重他人;要把脏乱地方清扫干净;不要伤害其他的动物;要与人分享,而不要贪婪。

“那么你们为什么做出这些不要我们做的事情呢?”

激励其他的青年活动家

发言改变了库里斯-铃木女士的生活。会议结束后,她开始环球之旅,就环境正义发表演讲。今天,她仍在继续这样做着。

她演讲的录像片长久以来一直是鼓舞青年活动家的源泉。自从第一次在互联网上发布,这位年轻女孩的字字句句已激励了数百万人,很多人感到惭愧。

UNICEF Photo
© Strongman/2008
现年28岁的活动家希沃.库里斯-铃木,仍然在为环境保护事业而战斗着。

“当我看到这个演讲有了这么大的影响力,真是令人震惊,”现年28岁的库里斯-铃木女士说。“我作为一个成年人,现在看它,我认为它不是我一个人心声。我把它看作是年轻人所有的力量,和一个重要的年轻人的心声,如果一个年轻人得到他们社区的支持会怎么样呢。”

在加拿大和世界各地,库里斯-铃木女士仍是一个突出的活动家。她最近完成了人种生物学的硕士学位,居住在不列颠哥伦比亚省的一个土著社区,使她的科学知识和环境管理的传统认识得到融合。她还合作编辑了一本有关加拿大青年活动家的书。

‘儿童的力量’

“1992年说过的事情,只有很少的事情成为了现实,”库里斯-铃木女士列举了一长串由人类自酿的环境苦果时说道。“我再一次认为,关键是儿童的力量。”

“孩子们会说真话,”她继续道。“当我们变老的时候,没有什么可隐瞒的,只是各种复杂的知识束缚住了我们的嘴巴,儿童会问成年人:‘你们为什么要破坏这个星球?你们为什么牺牲我的未来?’作为一个成人,我不可能用同样的方式问这些问题。

“我们需要儿童能解决这些在我们渐渐老去时面对的生活困难 — 其实是提醒我们,什么是真正重要的。”


 

 

音频(英文)

希沃.库里斯-铃木回忆起她在1992年里约热内卢地球峰会上的讲话,这篇讲话激励了数百万人,并对今天的青年活动家们提供了建议。
 音频 试听

联合国儿童基金会广播

青年之声

搜索

At a glance: Canada

A young environmental activist fights on, 16 years after her Earth Summit speech

UNICEF Image
Severn Cullis-Suzuki, then 12, speaking at the 1992 Earth Summit in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

NEW YORK, USA, 10 July 2008 – Just over 16 years ago, a 12-year-old Canadian girl named Severn Cullis-Suzuki took the stage at the first Earth Summit in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, and gave a speech that silenced the room full of diplomats.

“At school, even in kindergarten, you teach us how to behave in the world,” she said with a poise and force that belied her youth. “You teach us not to fight with others; to work things out; to respect others; to clean up our mess; not to hurt other creatures; to share, not be greedy.

“Then why do you go out and do the things you tell us not to do?”

Inspiring other young activists
The speech changed Ms. Cullis-Suzuki’s life. After the conference, she began travelling the world giving speeches about environmental justice. She continues to do so today.

The video of her speech has long been a source of encouragement for young activists. Since it was first posted on the Internet, millions of people have been inspired – or chastised – by the young girl’s words.

UNICEF Image
© Strongman/2008
The 28-year-old activist Severn Cullis-Suzuki today, still fighting for environmental justice.

“It is amazing to see how far that speech has gone,” says Ms. Cullis-Suzuki, now 28. “And to me as an adult, looking at it now, I really see it as almost separate from myself. I see it as the power that youth have and the importance of a young voice, and what can happen if a young person is supported by their community.”

Ms. Cullis-Suzuki is still a prominent activist in Canada and around the world. She recently finished a Master’s degree in ethno-biology and is living with an indigenous community in British Columbia, merging her scientific knowledge with traditional understanding of environmental management. She has also co-edited a book about Canada’s young activists.

‘The power of children’
“There are very few things that were said in 1992 that aren’t exactly true today,” says Ms. Cullis-Suzuki, referring to a long list of environmental afflictions perpetrated by human beings. “And I think that, again, points to the power of children.

“Children can speak that kind of a truth,” she continues. “Without any kind of ulterior motives or any kind of complex understandings that tie our tongues when we’re older, children can ask adults: ‘Why are you destroying the planet? Why are you compromising my future?’ As an adult, I can’t ask those question in the same kind of way.

“We need children to be able to cut through all of these kinds of life complications that we get as we grow older – to actually remind us of what is really important.”


 

 

Audio

Severn Cullis-Suzuki reflects on her 1992 speech at the Rio Earth Summit, which has inspired millions, and offers advice to today’s young activists.
AUDIO listen

UNICEF radio

Voices of Youth

New enhanced search