柬埔寨

联合国儿童基金会支持的计划关心柬埔寨感染艾滋病毒的儿童

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
12岁的万纳接受每月定期的医疗保健,这要归功于联合国儿童基金会支持的柬埔寨‘朋友帮助朋友’的计划。

杉沙.布娄曼报道

柬埔寨柴桢省,2008年7月14日。在一个农村家庭的走廊上,12岁的万纳和他的孪生兄弟以及一个姐姐抢在天色变暗前完成作业。这三个孤儿和他们的阿姨充分利用白天的时光,此时挂在家庭照片中间的时钟敲了六下。

在时钟的提醒下,阿姨拿来了一个盛着药的托盘。万纳吃了些药,这对他来说就相当于另一场比赛:他是柬埔寨至少6000名感染艾滋病毒的儿童之一。

2000年,万纳的父亲死于艾滋病相关的疾病。他的母亲也在患病一年后去世了。就在那时,孩子们接受艾滋病毒检查,只有万纳是唯一的检测呈阳性反应的。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
万纳和他的兄弟姐妹们,在阿姨的照看下,在他们家的走廊上做功课。

‘朋友帮助朋友’

六年后,万纳的生活比他的兄弟并没有太大的不同。他依然喜欢骑自行车、喜欢上学、喜欢帮助兄弟姐妹做家务活。

这种正常生活的关键是得到了来自省医院,联合国儿童基金会支持的‘朋友帮助朋友’组织的支持。该活动专为感染艾滋病毒的儿童和他们的照顾者而设计,‘朋友帮助朋友’为儿童们提供了与其他身处类似情形的儿童联络,谈论他们的生活、游戏、食用营养午餐和得到医疗照顾等方面的机会。

过去两年来,万纳和他的阿姨坚持每个月一次,到15公里外的医院就医。

克林顿基金会提供药物

“能和其他像我一样,每天也必须吃药的孩子交谈和做游戏,我很开心,”万纳腼腆地说。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
‘朋友帮助朋友’确保感染艾滋病毒的儿童,在医院接受体检时,可以得到一份健康午餐。

利用联合国儿童基金会的资金,该医院儿童病房的一个大房间的墙上涂上了彩色的动物图案,房间里也摆放了书籍和玩具。联合国儿童基金会的合作伙伴克林顿基金会,为万纳提供每个月检查后需要的药品。

联合国儿童基金会在柬埔寨为儿科艾滋病治疗提供支持,整修医院和儿科病房,并在提供技术指导和有关艾滋病毒和艾滋病的培训方面发挥了积极的作用。

改善护理,减少耻辱感

“对于柬埔寨来说,许多设施陈旧而老化是一个问题,”联合国儿童基金会驻柬埔寨艾滋病毒/艾滋病预防和护理主任哈里迪纳.拉克脱马茅吉说。“一些转诊医院甚至没有地方接收儿童。翻新卫生设施有助于接收所有需要治疗的病人,不论孩子的身份如何。”

值得注意的是,柬埔寨将其艾滋病毒感染率从1997年的3%大幅地减少到了2006年的1%以下。成功的主要原因是消除了接受治疗的社会成本。

过去,感染了艾滋病毒的人往往被排斥。但通过扩大了检测设备、治疗服务和诸如‘朋友帮助朋友’这样的支持网络,耻辱和歧视已经减少。

“柬埔寨的情况表明,即使在有限资源的情况下,面对如此复杂的传染病,你也能有转机,”联合国儿童基金会东亚和太平洋地区艾滋病毒/艾滋病区域顾问郑咏诗说。“好的领导和极好的后续行动,保证了地区和省级变化的发生。” 

在新感染病例中,几乎一半是已婚妇女,在全部新感染病例中,有1/3是由母亲传染给孩子的,因此,对于处在危险之中的柬埔寨儿童来说,前面还有一段艰难的历程。


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会记者克里斯.内尔斯就联合国儿童基金会支持的,柬埔寨成功地反艾滋病毒和艾滋病运动中发挥了很大作用的计划进行了报道。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

防治艾滋病运动

搜索

Cambodia

UNICEF-supported programme cares for Cambodian children living with HIV

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Vanna, 12, receives regular monthly health care, thanks to the UNICEF-supported ‘Friends Helping Friends’ programme in Cambodia.

By Shantha Bloemen

SVAY RIENG PROVINCE, Cambodia, 14 July 2008 – On the veranda of their rural home, 12-year-old Vanna, his twin brother and an older sister race against the natural light to finish their homework. A clock perched between family photos chimes six times as the three orphans and their aunt make the most of the waning day.

At the chime’s reminder, the aunt brings a tray of medicine. Vanna takes the pills in what is for him another race: He is one of at least 6,000 Cambodian children living with HIV.

Vanna’s father died from an AIDS-related illness in 2000. After a year of sickness, his mother also died. It was only then that the children were checked for HIV, and it was only Vanna who tested positive.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Vanna and his siblings do homework on the veranda of their home as their aunt looks on.

‘Friends Helping Friends’

Six years later, Vanna’s life is not so different than that of his brothers. He still loves to ride his bike, goes to school and helps his siblings with household chores. 

Crucial to this life of normalcy has been the UNICEF-supported ‘Friends Helping Friends’ support group at the provincial hospital. Designed especially for children living with HIV and their caregivers, Friends Helping Friends provides opportunities for children to connect with others in similar situations, talk about their lives, play, eat a nutritious lunch and get medical care.

Vanna and his aunt have made the monthly, 15 km journey to the hospital for the past two years.

Clinton Foundation provides medicines

“I enjoy being able to talk and play with other children, who, like me, also have to take medicine everyday,” Vanna says shyly. 

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Friends Helping Friends makes sure that children living with HIV receive a healthy lunch when they visit hospital for their checkups.

With UNICEF funds, a large room in the hospital children’s ward was transformed by colourful animal murals, books and toys. One of UNICEF’s partners, the Clinton Foundation, provides the medicines that Vanna gets after his check-up each month. 

UNICEF has played a strong role in supporting paediatric AIDS treatment, refurbishing hospitals and paediatric wards, and providing technical guidance and training related to HIV and AIDS in Cambodia.

Improving care, reducing stigma

“One issue for Cambodia is that many of the facilities are run down and old,” says UNICEF Cambodia’s Chief of HIV/AIDS Prevention and Care, Haritiana Rakotomamonjy. “Some of the referral hospitals don’t even have space for keeping children. The refurbishment of the health facilities has helped revive care for all treatment, regardless of a child’s status.”

Cambodia dramatically reduced its rate of HIV infection from 3 per cent in 1997 to just under 1 per cent in 2006. An essential element of that success has been eliminating the social cost of coming forward to get treatment. 

In the past, people infected with HIV were often shunned. But stigma and discrimination have been reduced through the expansion of testing facilities, treatment services and support networks such as Friends Helping Friends.

“Cambodia has demonstrated that even with limited resources, you can have a turnaround on such a complex communicable disease,” says UNICEF’s Regional Advisor on HIV/AIDS for East Asia and the Pacific, Wing-Sie Cheng. “Very good leadership and extremely good follow-up ensure that change happens on the ground at the district and provincial levels.” 

But with almost half of new infections now among married women and a third of all new infections transmitted from mother to child, there is still a tough race ahead for Cambodia’s children at risk.


 

 

Video

UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports on a UNICEF-supported programme that has contributed to Cambodia’s successful campaign against HIV and AIDS.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search