布隆迪

布隆迪回国儿童面临的语言挑战

UNICEF Photo: Burundi, education
© UNICEF video
在布隆迪,由联合国儿童基金会支持的、为回国难民开设的语言学校里,一个女孩用当地的基隆迪语唱歌,这是他们进步的表现。

娜塔莎.伊克里报道

布隆迪布琼布拉,2008年9月18日 — 布隆迪是介于坦桑尼亚、刚果民主共和国和卢旺达之间的小国。多年来,种族冲突使国家四分五裂。如今,因暴力事件而逃离的家庭正在回归,他们面临着新的挑战。

在像布隆迪这样的冲突后的国家,用教育使儿童步入正轨,需要提供特别的支持。大量的回国人员可能成为难以解决的负担,但对受冲突影响的社区来说,教育可以成为一种稳定的力量。它还有助于帮助回国人员开始恢复。

在1972年和1993年的大屠杀之后,大约40万布隆迪人沦为难民,在邻国避难。自2006年和平条约签署以来,布隆迪一直处于稳定和低强度冲突的状态中。

尽管这里的局势尚未完全安全,至少布隆迪的一个邻国、即坦桑尼亚,已经宣布,到2008年底关闭所有的难民营。虽然75000名布隆迪人已经返回家园,但是,还有数百人现在必须做出选择,要么留在国外,不会再有任何支持;要么回到他们几乎一无所知的“祖国”。

重新融入社会

1972年,鲁伊斯.马尼拉波纳(Lois Manylabona)随家人离开了布隆迪,当时他只有3岁。现在,他终于回到了这个他能称为家的地方。

UNICEF Photo: Burundi, education
© UNICEF video
克劳汀.雅本达是由布隆迪教育部遴选的20位教师中的一员,这些教师被派往鲁蒙格回国者学校任教。

“不,我永远不会再离开了,因为世界上再也没有什么像难民这样糟糕了,”马尼拉波纳(Manylabona)说。现在他和家人住在距离首都布琼布拉仅1个小时车程的鲁蒙格村(Rumonge)附近的一个营地里。他知道,重新融入新的社会并非易事。他现在最关心的是他的三个学龄孩子梅尔(Mele)、阿马尼(Amani)和阿斯奈特(Asnet)的命运。

像这样的回归儿童都面临着语言的障碍。他们中的大多数人对布隆迪的教育制度中法语和基隆迪语这两种主要教学语言知之甚少或一无所知。

儿童取得的进展
为了帮助孩子们开始学习一些基本的法语和基隆迪语,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴赞助了一个为期七周的语言课程,400多名儿童在鲁蒙格的学校里参加了这一课程。因为学校距离他们被重新安置的营地很远,所以儿童们住在学校里。

校长拉斐尔.恩岩多(Raphael Nyando)说,学校的目标是“让这些孩子有一个良好的水平,使他们在下一个学年的学习中,可以具有竞争力……和适应布隆迪的教育体制” 。

马尼拉波纳先生的儿童入学方案,已取得相当的进展。他说,他相信他们很快就能融入主流教育体制。


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会记者娜塔莎.伊克里对布隆迪在帮助难民儿童接受新的语言和社区所做的努力进行了报道。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Burundi

Language a challenge for children returning to Burundi

UNICEF Image: Burundi, education
© UNICEF video
At a UNICEF-supported language school for returning refugees in Burundi, a girl sings with her classmates in Kirundi, the local language, as a demonstration of their progresses.

By Natacha Ikoli

BUJUMBURA, Burundi, 18 September 2008 – Burundi is small nation wedged between Tanzania, the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Rwanda. For years, ethnic clashes have riven the country. Today, families who fled the violence are coming back, only to face new challenges.

Children in post-conflict countries such as Burundi need special support to get back on track through education. The massive flow of returnees can be a difficult burden to handle, but education can act as a stabilizing force for communities affected by conflict. It also helps to jumpstart their recovery.

In the aftermath of genocides in 1972 and 1993, some 400,000 Burundians became refugees in neighbouring countries. Since a peace treaty was signed in 2006, Burundi has existed in a limbo between stability and low-intensity clashes.

Although the situation here is not yet entirely secure, at least one of Burundi’s neighbours, Tanzania, has announced the closure of all refugee camps by the end of 2008. While 75,000 Burundians have already returned, hundreds more must now choose whether to stay in a foreign country, without any support, or go back to a ‘homeland’ they hardly know.

Reintegrating into the community

Lois Manylabona left Burundi with his family in 1972, when he was just three years old. Now, he is finally returning to the only place he can call home.

UNICEF Image: Burundi, education
© UNICEF video
Claudine Yabenda is one of 20 teachers selected by the Burundian Ministry of Education to staff the school for returnees in Rumonge.

“No, I will never leave again because there is nothing as bad in the world as being a refugee,” says Mr. Manylabona, who now lives with his family in a camp near Rumonge, a village just an hour’s drive from the capital, Bujumbura. He knows that reintegrating into his new community won’t be easy. His biggest concern now is the fate of his three school-aged children, Mele, Amani and Asnet.

Returnee children like these are confronted with a language barrier. Most of them have little or no knowledge of French or Kirundi, the two main teaching languages in the Burundian school system.

Children make progress

To help children start the school year with some basic French and Kirundi, UNICEF and its partners are sponsoring a seven-week language course. Over 400 children are taking part in the course at a school in Rumonge. Children board at the school because is located far from many of the camps where they have been resettled.

Principal Raphael Nyando says the school’s goal is “to get these children to a good level so that next school year they can be competitive … and adapt to the Burundian school system.”

Mr. Manylabona’s children are enrolled in the programme and have already made considerable progress. He says he is confident that they will soon be able to integrate into a mainstream school.


 

 

Video

3 September 2008:
UNICEF correspondent Natacha Ikoli reports from Burundi on efforts to help refugee children embrace a new language and community.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search