布隆迪

背景


详细地图 (PDF)

此图不反映联合国儿童基金会对任何国家地区法律地位及边界划分的立场

根据2008年人类发展指数(2005年数据),布隆迪在177个国家中排名167位,其婴儿死亡率和产妇死亡率是非洲国家中最严重的。虽然政府增加了免费基础教育的资金,在教育质量和由于家庭贫穷饥饿导致的辍学率增加方面仍存在许多挑战。卫生部门资金不足使政府在2006年宣布的为孕妇提供免费分娩服务,和为5岁以下儿童提供免费医疗服务受到威胁。

布隆迪儿童面临的问题

  • 由于布隆迪内战,贫困率从1994年的48%增加到2006年的67%。食品价格上涨(包括2007年至2008年间增加了28%)影响到家庭的生计,使其更易受到如洪水、干旱、滑坡和气候变化影响的反复威胁。
  • 疟疾、腹泻、呼吸道感染和营养不良的综合效应是儿童死亡率和发病率的主要原因。2005年,由于粮食不足、低质饮食、喂养不当、对儿童疾病不正确的家庭管理及卫生系统质量的普遍下降,造成了高达百分之五十三的五岁以下儿童发育不良。
  • 由于妊娠和分娩期间的并发症,以及过早和过于频繁怀孕,造成了产妇死亡率高。超过百分之五十的妇女没有合格专业助产人员的协助直接在家分娩。到2007年底,由熟练助产人员接生的分娩率仅41.1%。
  • 每千名活产中有41个婴儿在出生的头四个星期内死亡,每年约有16,000名儿童死亡。
  • 仅64%能获得饮用水,仅32&的人口能使用适当的卫生设施。据估计,88%死于腹泻病的原因是不良好的卫生习惯、不安全饮用水和无法获得应有的卫生设施。
  • 主要保护相关问题有对儿童和妇女性暴力侵害上升、剥削和性虐待街头儿童、童工、与武装团体有关联的儿童、监狱中的儿童,及孤儿和弱势儿童状况。
  • 截至2008年9月,坦桑尼亚自2002年以来已遣返了超过47万布隆迪人,2008年为最高,超过91,000人。这些返回的难民给不健全的社会服务和基础设施,如卫生、教育和水,带来了压力;结果使所在社区情况紧张。估计在这些回返者中有38.7万名适龄儿童,他们必须学习新的语言和重新融入学校的环境。

帮助儿童的行动及成果

  • 政府通过了保护儿童的新刑法规定,并且还取消了5岁以下儿童的出生登记费用。
  • 在 2000年至2007年间,8个抗原的幼儿免疫覆盖率从72%增加到94%,维生素A补充剂从38%增加到96%。
  • 2000年至2007年间,首次产前检查从78%增加到98%,而同样,出生护理从25%增加至41%。
  • 联合国儿童基金会支持每年两次的母婴健康周,2008年为143,587 名儿童提供免疫。此外,420万年龄为1至14岁的儿童和107,940 名孕妇得到了驱虫药。
  • 联合国儿童基金会还为五岁以下儿童和孕妇分发了245,000顶驱虫蚊帐预防疟疾;为144,000名营养不良的儿童增加获得营养治疗的机会;为127名医生培训了紧急产科护理;并增加了预防母婴传播服务。
  • 政府在2005年宣布实施的免费小学教育大幅提高了净入学率,使入学率从2004-05学年的59%增加到2007-08学年的79%。两性平等的初级教育很可能会实现,目前女生对男生的比例为0.91。
  • 联合国儿童基金会通过制定政策来支持政府的教育工作;在性别教育领域培训了2,000名学校负责人和早期儿童发展领域426名;为21,300名学生建造了387间教室;并在学校提供用水和单独的厕所设施,以及为349,950名学生提供了设备和学习材料,和为1,250 名遣返的儿童进行法语和基隆迪语补课。
  • 联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴为包括471名儿童在内的809名性暴力的受害者提供治疗,并帮助了包括615名街头儿童在内的7,501个孤儿和弱势儿童返回学校或获得医疗和心理支持。
  • 联合国儿童基金会协助政府为三个省份的14,467名学生和当地9,410位居民增加了获得饮用水和保持清洁卫生的服务;培训了社区供水局的17个省级协调员;并帮助制定个人卫生和环境卫生的国家行动计划。
  • 联合国儿童基金会就艾滋病毒/艾滋病预防培训了2,989名小学教师并支持相关手册的印刷生产;于14个省份培训了276名自愿咨询和检测的专业人员;和培训了800名社区领导人预防艾滋病的“4项预防措施”。
  • 在议会的帮助下,与全国省长、管理人员和2,758名孤儿和弱势儿童国家行动计划主管的协商下宣传,并设立了一个全国儿童论坛。议会通过了这两个项目,部长理事会会已批准了一个由总统令设立的全国儿童论坛。
  • 联合国儿童基金会紧急服务帮助了被坦桑尼亚驱逐的6,427人康复和重返,建立了750个收容所和7所学校,并为24,000名国内流离失所者和自然灾害的受害者提供了紧急援助。
  • 联合国儿童基金会支持政府更新国家数据库BurundInfo对儿童贫穷和不平等现象进行研究和情况分析的努力。
  • 联合国儿童基金会提倡在用品采购中增加儿童的杠杆资源。

 

 

基本指示数

五岁以下儿童死亡率排名

9

1990年五岁以下儿童死亡率

189

2009年五岁以下儿童死亡率

166

1990年一岁以下婴儿死亡率

114

2009年一岁以下婴儿死亡率

101

2009年新生儿死亡率

42

2009年总人口(千)

8303

2009年全年出生人数(千)

283

2009年全年五岁以下死亡人数(千)

46

2009年人均国民收入(美元)

150

2009年出生时预期寿命(年)

51

2005至2008年成人识字率*

66

2005至2009年小学净入学率/出席率*

71

2000至2009年40%收入最低家庭占总收入百分比*

21

2000至2009年20%收入最高家庭占总收入百分比*

43

定义和数据来源 [popup]

资料来源: 2009年世界儿童状况官方汇集

订购报告的印刷版本

搜索

Burundi

Background


Click for a detailed map (PDF)

This map does not reflect a position by UNICEF on the legal status of any country or territory or the delimitation of any frontiers.

Burundi is ranked 167 out of 177 countries in the 2008 Human Development Index (based on 2005 data), and its infant and maternal mortality rates are among the worst in Africa. Though government increased funding for free basic education, challenges remain in terms of quality of education and rising drop-out rates as a result of household hunger. Poor funding of the health sector threatens the free delivery services for pregnant women and free medical care for children under five years of age that were declared by the government in 2006.

Issues facing children in Burundi

  •  Due to Burundi’s civil war, poverty increased from 48 to 67 per cent of the population between 1994 and 2006. Rising food prices (including a 28 per cent increase in 2007-08) affect families’ livelihood and increase vulnerability to repetitive threats such as flooding, droughts, landslides and the impact of climate change.
  • Malaria, diarrhoea, respiratory infections and the compounding effects of malnutrition are the main causes of mortality and morbidity among children. In 2005, up to 53 per cent of children under five suffered from stunting due to inadequate food, low-quality diet, poor infant feeding practices, poor household management of childhood diseases and the general decline of the health system.
  • Maternal mortality is high, due to complications during pregnancy and childbirth, as well as too early and too frequent pregnancies. Over 50 per cent of women deliver at home without the assistance of a qualified professional. By the end of 2007,the rate of deliveries assisted by skilled attendants was just 41.1 per cent.
  • 41 babies out of every 1,000 live births die in the first four weeks of birth – about 16,000 child deaths per year.
  • Only 64 per cent of the population has access to potable drinking water, while just 32 per cent use adequate sanitation facilities. An estimated 88 per cent of deaths from diarrhoea are attributed to poor hygiene practices, unsafe drinking-water supplies and inadequate access to sanitation.
  • Serious protection issues include rising sexual and gender-based violence against children and women, exploitation and abuse of street children, child labour, children associated with armed groups, children in prison and the situation of orphans and vulnerable children.
  • As of September 2008, more than 470,000 Burundians had been repatriated from Tanzania since 2002, with the highest number – over 91,000 – in 2008 alone. These returnees cause added pressures on inadequate social services and infrastructure, such as health, education and water; tensions with host communities are the result. An estimated 387,000 school age children are among these returnees, who must learn new languages and be reintegrated into schools.

Activities and results for children

  • The government has adopted a new Penal Code with provisions for child protection and has also abolished payment of birth registration fees for children under five.
  • Immunization coverage of eight antigens increased from 72 to 94 per cent of young children, and vitamin A supplementation from 38 to 96 per cent, between 2000 and 2007.
  • Initial antenatal visits increased from 78 to 98 per cent between 2000 and 2007, while birth assistance similarly increased from 25 to 41 per cent.
  • UNICEF-supported twice-yearly Mother-and-Child Health Weeks ensured immunization of 143,587 children in 2008. In addition, 4. 2 million children aged 1-14 years and 107,940 pregnant women received de-worming tablets.
  • UNICEF also distributed 245,000 insecticide-treated nets for children under five and pregnant women for malaria prevention; increased access to therapeutic nutritional treatment for 144,000 malnourished children; trained 127 doctors in emergency obstetric care; and increased PMTCT services.
  • Government declaration of free primary education in 2005 substantially increased net enrolment rates from 59 per cent in the 2004-05 school session to 79 per cent in 2007-08. Gender equality in primary education will very likely be met, with the ratio of girls to boys currently at 0.91.
  • UNICEF supported government education efforts through policy development; trained 2,000 school heads in gender education and 426 in early child development; constructed 387 classrooms for 21,300 pupils; and provided water and separate toilet facilities in schools, as well as equipment and learning materials for 349,950 pupils, and catch-up language classes in French and Kirundi for 1,250 repatriated children.
  • UNICEF and its partners treated  809 victims of sexual violence, including 471 children, and helped 7,501 orphans and vulnerable children, including 615 street children, to return to school or obtain medical and psychosocial support.
  • UNICEF assisted the government in increasing access to potable water and hygiene for 14,467 pupils and 9,410 local residents in three provinces; trained 17 Provincial Coordinators of Communal Water Boards; and helped to draw up the National Plan of Action on Hygiene and Sanitation.
  • UNICEF trained 2,989 primary school teachers on HIV/AIDS prevention and supported the production of booklets on the same subject; trained 276 professionals in voluntary counselling and testing in 14 provinces; and trained 800 community leaders on the ‘4 Ps’ for AIDS prevention.
  • Advocacy with Parliament facilitated nationwide consultations with governors, administrators and 2,758 chiefs on the National Plan of Action for Orphans and Vulnerable Children and the establishment of a National Children’s Forum. Parliament adopted both projects, and a Presidential Decree for the creation of the National Forum of Children has been approved by the Council of Ministers.
  • UNICEF emergency services helped rehabilitate and reintegrate 6,427 persons expelled from Tanzania, build 750 shelters and 7 schools, and provide immediate assistance to 24,000 internally displaced persons and victims of natural disasters.
  • UNICEF supported government efforts to update the national database, the BurundInfo, and to carry out studies on child poverty and disparities, and a situation analysis.
  • UNICEF advocacy leveraged resources for children in supply procurement and sector-wide approaches.


 

 

Basic Indicators

Under-5 mortality rank

10

Under-5 mortality rate (U5MR), 1990

183

Under-5 mortality rate (U5MR), 2011

139

U5MR by sex 2011, male

145

U5MR by sex 2011, female

133

Infant mortality rate (under 1), 1990

110

Infant mortality rate (under 1), 2011

86

Neonatal mortality rate 2011

43

Total population (thousands) 2011

8575

Annual no. of births (thousands) 2011

288

Annual no. of under-5 deaths (thousands) 2011

39

GNI per capita (US$) 2011

250

Life expectancy at birth (years) 2011

50

Total adult literacy rate (%) 2007-2011*

67

Primary school net enrolment ratio (%) 2008-2011*

-

Definitions and data sources [popup]

Source: The State of the World's Children

New enhanced search