巴西

联合国秘书长与巴西青少年讨论城市生活面临的挑战

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Brazil/2010/Amorim
联合国秘书长潘基文看望居住在里约热内卢贫困街区的青少年,指出必须要消除城市内的不平等现象。

亚历山大.阿莫林报道

巴西里约热内卢,2010年6月7日–联合国秘书长潘基文近日前往巴西参加联合国第三届“文明联盟论坛”(推广全球跨文化交流的项目),并看望了居住在里约热内卢贫困街区的青少年。

潘基文秘书长来到巴比洛尼亚社区,参观了社区同联邦、州和市政府合作的一系列活动。他还同“城市中心平台”项目的青少年参与者们亲切交谈,该项目由联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴支持开展。
     
青少年面临的挑战

巴比洛尼亚社区的提亚佩希拉学校的青少年和领导人热烈欢迎秘书长的来访,联合国儿童基金会驻巴西代表玛丽.皮埃尔.普瓦里耶(Marie-Pierre Poirier)让社区的孩子们同潘秘书长进行了对话,讨论有关居住在“贫民区”或城市贫困地区的年轻人所面临的挑战。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Brazil/2010/Amorim
里约热内卢的贫困社区巴比洛尼亚,联合国秘书长潘基文同青少年们以及社区领导坐在一起。

巴西大约80%的人口居住在城市地区,城市不平等现象极为严重。与富有的居民相比,城市贫民更易受到健康、暴力等问题的困扰,新生儿与儿童死亡率也更高,并且很难接受到优质教育。

联合国儿童基金会支持的“城市中心平台”项目于2009年启动,旨在确保巴西城市内贫困的儿童和青少年能够享有相应的权利。项目通过教育、医疗和其它方案,帮助当地政府采取措施减小贫困带来的影响。

目前“平台”项目已在圣保罗、伊塔夸克塞图巴和里约热内卢等126个贫困社区内开展,这些城市的经验将有助于该项目在巴西其它城市的进一步推广。

普瓦里耶女士说:“这个社会方案能促进国家的发展,让‘千年发展目标’中有关促进儿童发展的目标早日成为现实。”

青年积极分子

潘秘书长还了解了社区青少年为实现千年发展目标而做的工作。通过“平台”项目,公共管理者与年轻人的联系更为紧密,也更加认真地倾听青少年的心声。

18岁的学生乔安娜参加了欢迎潘秘书长来访的仪式,她说,巴西的艾滋病毒携带者仍然受到很大的社会偏见。自1996年出台免费提供抗逆转录病毒(ARV)药物的法律后,巴西就成为全球治疗艾滋病的参考点,但有些地区的药物供应还很缺乏。乔安娜出生时就携带艾滋病毒,她对潘秘书长说,应该确保所有巴西人民都能接受到逆转录病毒(ARV)药物的治疗。

16岁的古斯塔沃是一名“城市中心平台”项目的青年参与者。与秘书长见面谈话时,他重点说到了里约热内卢的城市不平等现象。

他说:“在同一个区域,豪宅官邸与贫民窝棚并排林立。”他还说,城市贫民区内诸如枪击和打架之类的暴力问题经常让年轻人被迫辍学。

保持希望

潘秘书长说,他非常高兴能看到青少年的积极参与以及他们为消除不平等现象而做的贡献。他说,联合国正在为克服这些困难而努力,并告诉青少年要一直保持希望,不能气馁。

青少年们给潘秘书长送上一封信,信中表达了他们对更美好世界的向往,还送给秘书长及夫人巴西足球队的T恤。

参加了由联合国儿童基金会、联合国驻里约热内卢信息中心及联合国人类住区规划署组织召开的社区会议之后,潘秘书长还参与了为纪念向海地救援的联合国维和人员中光荣牺牲的巴西军官而举行的仪式。


 

 

搜索

Brazil

UN Secretary-General and Brazilian adolescents discuss challenges in urban life

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Brazil/2010/Amorim
Visiting with adolescents in a low-income neighbourhood of Rio de Janeiro, UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon said that inequalities in the country's urban areas must be overcome.

By Alexandre Amorim

RIO DE JANEIRO, Brazil, 7 June 2010 – On a recent trip to Brazil to attend the third UN Alliance of Civilizations Forum, a partnership promoting global cross-cultural relations, United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon met with adolescents living in a low-income neighbourhood of Rio de Janeiro.

Mr. Ban visited the city's Babilonia community, where he saw community projects developed in partnership with the federal, state and municipal governments. He also had an opportunity to talk to young participants of the Platform of Urban Centres, an initiative carried out by UNICEF and its partners.
     
Challenges for adolescents

Youth and community leaders at the Tia Percília School in Babilonia welcomed the Secretary-General, and UNICEF Representative in Brazil Marie-Pierre Poirier facilitated a conversation between Mr. Ban and the community’s boys and girls. They talked about the challenges that are faced daily by young people living in the country’s ‘favelas,’ or poor urban districts.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Brazil/2010/Amorim
UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon sits with young people and community leaders in Babilonia, a low-income community in Rio De Janiero.

About 80 per cent of the population of Brazil lives in urban areas, where daily life is marked by great inequity. The urban poor suffer significantly higher rates of health problems, violence and neonatal and child deaths than their more affluent peers. Too frequently, they also lack access to quality education.

Launched in 2009, the UNICEF-supported Platform of Urban Centres initiative aims to ensure the rights of children and adolescents on the outskirts of Brazilian cities. Through education, health and other projects, it helps local governments enact measures to reduce the effects of poverty.

The Platform is currently present in 126 low-income communities in São Paulo, Itaquaquecetuba and Rio de Janeiro. The experience of these municipalities will act as the basis for the expansion of the Platform to other Brazilian cities.

“This is a social methodology intended to help the country so that the Millennium Development Goals may become a reality for all children,” said Ms. Poirier.

Youth activists

The Secretary-General also learned about work being carried out by adolescents themselves in order to achieve the MDGs in their communities. Through the Platform initiative, young people now have closer contact with public managers – and their voices are being heard.

Joana, 18, a student and one of the adolescents who welcomed Mr. Ban, stressed that people living with HIV in Brazil still face great prejudice. With a national law offering universal free anti-retroviral (ARV) drugs since 1996, Brazil has become a global reference point with regard to treatment for HIV and AIDS, but medication is still lacking in some places. Joana, who has been living with HIV since birth, told Mr. Ban that all Brazilians must have guaranteed access to ARV treatment.

Gustavo, 16, is one of the adolescents participating in the Platform of Urban Centres. Meeting the Secretary-General, he highlighted the massive inequalities prevalent in Rio de Janeiro.

“In the same district, mansions and shacks co-exist side by side,” he said. Violence in the city’s poor communities, including  shootings and fights, often keep young people out of school, he added.

Keeping hope alive

Mr. Ban said he was very pleased with the adolescents’ participation and their dedication to defeating inequity. He noted that the UN has been working towards overcoming these challenges and told the adolescents they must keep hope – and expectations – alive.

The young people presented Mr. Ban with a letter containing their call for a better world. They also gave the Secretary-General and his wife Brazilian soccer team T-shirts.

Following the community meeting, which was organized by UNICEF, the United Nations Information Centre in Rio de Janiero and the United Nations Human Settlements Programme, Mr. Ban  participated in a ceremony honouring the Brazilian military officers who lost their lives while serving with the UN peace-keeping force in Haiti.


 

 

New enhanced search