巴西

联合国儿童基金会向巴西送出第一批抗艾滋病毒药品

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Brazil/2007/Jayme
巴西全国艾滋病毒患者联盟的法比欧-桑托斯(中间)接收第一批抗艾滋病毒药品-依法韦仑;在他旁边的是联合国儿童基金会驻巴西代表玛丽-皮埃尔.坡瑞尔。

2007年7月5日,巴西巴西利亚。 联合国儿童基金会已经向巴西卫生部送出了113,800剂通用抗艾滋病毒药物-依法韦仑。该国达75,000艾滋病患者将受益于这些抗艾滋病毒药品,其中包括儿童及青少年。

这批药品本周送达巴西利亚国际机场,在场的有联合国儿童基金会驻巴西代表玛丽-皮埃.坡瑞尔;全国性传播疾病/艾滋病项目的副主任艾瓦多.巴波萨;联合国艾滋病规划署国家

调员罗伦特.泽斯勒;及全国艾滋病毒患者联盟的两个代表法比.山多斯和莱姆恩多.丽玛。

这些药品由印度奥罗宾都实验室生产,并获得世界卫生组织批准,由巴西政府通过联合国儿童基金会购买,于今年八月通过国家的公共卫生网络免费分发。

第一批药品共有112,600剂成人药(3,378,000片)和1,200剂儿童药(108,000片)。至2008年1月,将有另外四批依法韦仑会送至巴西,共13,500,000片药品。

向需要者提供抗艾滋病毒药品

在总统路易斯.伊纳西奥.卢拉.达席尔瓦于五月宣布强制许可依法韦仑之后开始运送这批药品。接下来,在卫生部全国性传播疾病/艾滋病项目的要求下,联合国儿童基金会及泛美卫生组织购买了这批抗艾滋病毒药品。

坡瑞尔女士说:“当我们收到卫生部的第一次要求,我们即提供了联合国儿童基金会巴西办事处和供应部门的协助和专业支持。 我们知道联合国儿童基金会的全球合同以及供应网络可以保证在短时间内购买和运送有品质保障的药品。”

联合国儿童基金会和泛美卫生组织的采购,将可以满足巴西今年对依法韦仑的需求,仅2007年就可以节约超过三亿美元的公共财政预算。

巴波萨先生说:“联合国儿童基金会的支持是最重要的,因为巴西政府将可以保证每个需要依法韦仑的人都得到治疗。对我们要求的迅速回应让人印象非常深刻。”

团队精神和协同合作是关键

联合国儿童基金会的大量采购药品及疫苗是全球公认的。药品的供应非常重要,它能保护儿童不受艾滋病毒感染,以及保证生活在艾滋病环境中的或感染艾滋病毒的儿童获得必不可少的治疗。

位于丹麦哥本哈根的联合国儿童基金会供应部,负责采购各种抗艾滋病毒及其他必需的药品以治疗可能感染的成人和儿童。这样可以帮助保证不断增多的生活在艾滋病环境中的儿童及他们的父母能够获得持续、可靠和能负担得起的有质量保证的诊断及治疗服务。

供应部处长仙内尔.霍尔解释说:“供应部经常会收到像这次一样的来自世界各国的紧急要求,我们会跟国家官员一同紧密协作,以保证急需的供应能够准时送达。 团队精神和协同合作是我们成功的关键。”

预防和治疗的支持

在巴西,预计有60万人在艾滋病的环境下生活,其中有三分之一是女性。在过去几年中,由母亲传染给子女(通过怀孕、生育或哺乳)的案例已有显著的减少。但是女性的案例,尤其是非洲裔青少年女性感染的增长速度超过了其他人群。

作为全球“携手儿童青少年,携手抗击艾滋病”运动的一部分,联合国儿童基金会巴西办事处支持全国性传播疾病/艾滋病项目的各种活动,其中包括预防艾滋病毒/艾滋病和为治疗生活在艾滋病毒环境的人群购买药品。


 

 

防治艾滋病运动

搜索

Brazil

UNICEF delivers first shipment of generic antiretrovirals to Brazil

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Brazil/2007/Jayme
Fabio Santos (centre) of Brazil’s National Network of People Living with HIV receives the first shipment of the antiretroviral medication Efavirenz; beside him is UNICEF Representative in Brazil Marie-Pierre Poirier.

BRASILIA, Brazil, 5 July 2007 – UNICEF has delivered 113,800 doses of Efavirenz, a generic antiretroviral (ARV) medication, to the Brazilian Ministry of Health. The ARVs will benefit 75,000 people living with HIV in the country, including children and adolescents.

The delivery took place this week at Brasilia’s International Airport in the presence of UNICEF’s Representative in Brazil, Marie-Pierre Poirier; the Deputy Director of the National STD/AIDS Programme, Eduardo Barbosa; the UNAIDS Country Coordinator, Laurent Zessler; and two representatives of the National Network of People Living with HIV, Fabio Santos and Raimundo Lima.

Produced by the Indian laboratory Aurobindo and approved by the World Health Organization, the medication was purchased by the Brazilian Government through UNICEF and will be available for free distribution via the country’s public health network in August.

The first shipment comprises 112,600 adult doses (3.378 million pills) and 1,200 paediatric doses (108,000 pills). By January 2008, another four shipments of Efavirenz will be delivered to Brazil, totalling 13.5 million pills.

ARVs for all who need them

The delivery followed President Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva’s announcement of the compulsory licensing of Efavirenz in May. Subsequently, at the request of the National STD/AIDS Programme of the Ministry of Health, UNICEF and the Pan-American Health Organization (PAHO) purchased the ARVs.

“When we received the first request from the Ministry of Health, we offered the assistance and expertise of UNICEF Brazil and UNICEF’s Supply Division,” said Ms. Poirier. “We knew that UNICEF’s global contacts and supply network would ensure the purchase and delivery of quality medicines in a short period of time.”

The UNICEF and PAHO purchases – which will be enough to respond to the Brazilian demand for Efavirenz this year – represent savings of more than $30 million from the public budget in 2007 alone.

“UNICEF’s support is fundamental because the Brazilian Government will be able to guarantee treatment to every person who needs Efavirenz,” said Mr. Barbosa. “The rapid response to our request was very impressive.”

Teamwork and collaboration are key

UNICEF is recognized worldwide for the high volume of its purchase of medicines and vaccines. Supplies are essential to protect children from HIV/AIDS and to ensure access to treatment for children living with HIV or affected by it.

The UNICEF Supply Division, located in Copenhagen, Denmark, is responsible for the purchase of a range of ARVs and other essential medicines to treat opportunistic infections in adults and children. These help ensure that an increasing number of children and their parents living with HIV have continuous, reliable and affordable access to quality diagnostic and treatment services.

“Supply Division often receives urgent requests like this from countries throughout the world and we work closely together with country offices to ensure that much-needed supplies are delivered on time,” explained the Director of the division, Shannelle Hall. “Teamwork and collaboration are the keys to our success.”

Support for prevention and treatment

An estimated 600,000 people, more than a third of them women, are living with HIV in Brazil. Over the past few years, there has been a significant drop in the number of cases of mother-to-child HIV transmission (through pregnancy, delivery or breastfeeding). But the number of cases among women, and especially afro-descendant adolescent girls, is growing faster than in other population groups.

As part of the global Unite for Children, Unite against AIDS campaign, UNICEF Brazil supports the National STD/AIDS Programme in its HIV/AIDS prevention efforts and its purchase of medications for treatment of people living with HIV, amongst other activities.


 

 

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search