伯利兹

“邻居和我”为儿童的毒品和犯罪问题提供积极的选择

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Belize/2008/Niles
11岁的安德丽娅.迪亚斯,在“邻居和我”教孩子们做游戏,它是利用社区空间给孩子们一个享受文化和教育的娱乐活动场所。

克里斯.内尔斯报道

伯利兹伯利兹城,2008年2月7日。对游客来说,加勒比小国伯利兹呈现出一派宁静平和景象,明媚的阳光映射着天然的海滩,这里是世界第二大的珊瑚礁群。这里的生活充满着悠闲和热带风情。然而对许多伯利兹儿童来说,现实却非这般景象。

伯利兹的艾滋病比率是中美洲最高的,并且仍在增长。对于那些几乎没什么积极选择的儿童来说,毒品、暴力、卖淫和少女怀孕是一个十分常见的现象。只有45%的青少年能上中学,其中只有一半的人可以毕业。

鉴于这种情况,赫伯特和阿士曼.威尔特夏兄弟在两年前建立了联合国儿童基金会支持的团体“邻居和我”,当时他们分别是18岁和13岁。去年多亏圣马力诺常驻联合国代表团捐款2万美金,这个项目得以扩展。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Belize/2008/Niles
在由社区团体“邻居和我”提供的儿童安全空间里,8岁的弗岚欣.海德在玩多米诺骨牌游戏时,短暂地歇息。

创造机会

11岁的安德丽娅.迪亚斯,是得益于该项目的儿童之一。她生活在贫困的伯利兹城南部地区,那里充斥着暴力犯罪,没有平坦的道路,公园或游戏场所。
“我参加‘邻居和我’是因为在我的居住社区无事可做,”安德丽娅说。

大多数时候,安德丽娅甚至没有换掉她的校服,就跑到位于拐角处的一所房子,那就是“邻居和我”的所在地。下午的时候,一般都能在那儿找到她在帮助小孩子做作业,教他们玩好玩的多米诺骨牌游戏。

“我最喜欢‘邻居和我’的跳舞项目,”她说。“很好玩。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Belize/2008/Niles
“邻居和我”的儿童在水池中嬉水,这是由圣马力诺常驻联合国代表团出资购买的。

“底线”

既有舞蹈、美术、戏剧,也向这些儿童传授实用的技能,诸如如何使用电脑,如何与性暴力搏斗,以及如何避免传染艾滋病。充满教育意义的郊游让他们有机会探索伯利兹的丰富的自然资源和政治历史。

安德丽娅是许多在“邻居和我”中茁壮成长的儿童中的典型。她学校的校长,伯娜丁.波拉德指出,她教的儿童们已经有了很大的变化。

“他们能够进行自律和自控,”波拉德女士说。“他们能完成分配给他们的工作,无论他们做得正确或不正确,但他们都知道他们所肩负的责任 — 这就是底线。”


 

 

视频(英文)

2008年2月6日:
联合国儿童基金会通讯员克里斯.内尔斯报道了一个小型青年团体如何改善伯利兹城儿童的前途。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Belize

‘My Neighbours and Me’ offers children positive alternatives to drugs and crime

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Belize/2008/Niles
Andrea Diaz, 11, supervises games at My Neighbours and Me, a community space that gives children a place to enjoy cultural and educational pastimes.

By Chris Niles

BELIZE CITY, Belize, 7 Februrary 2008 – For tourists, the tiny Caribbean nation of Belize presents a peaceful, sun-washed image of pristine beaches, the world’s second-largest coral reef and a laid-back, tropical lifestyle. The reality for many Belizean children, however, is not so picturesque.

Belize’s HIV/AIDS rate is the highest in Central America – and it’s rising. Drugs, violence, prostitution and teen pregnancy are an all-too-common reality for children, who have few positive alternatives. Only 45 per cent of children attend secondary school and of that number, only half graduate.

In response, the UNICEF-supported children’s group ‘My Neighbours and Me’ was formed two years ago by brothers Herbert and Ashman Wiltshire – then ages 18 and 13. In the last year, the programme has expanded considerably thanks to a $20,000 donation from the San Marino Permanent Mission to the United Nations.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Belize/2008/Niles
Francine Hyde, 8, pauses during a game of dominoes at the safe children’s space provided by the community group, My Neighbours and Me.

Creating opportunities

Andrea Diaz, 11, is one of the children benefiting from the programme. She lives on the impoverished South Side of Belize City, which is notorious for violent crime and lacks paved roads, parks or playgrounds.

“I joined My Neighbours and Me because there was nothing to do in my neighbourhood,” Andrea said.

Most days, Andrea doesn’t even change out of her school uniform before heading to a house around the corner, which is home to My Neighbours and Me. A typical afternoon can find her helping younger children with their homework or supervising a brisk game of dominoes.

“What I like best about My Neighbours and Me is dancing,” she said. “It’s a lot of fun.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Belize/2008/Niles
Children from My Neighbours and Me play in a wading pool bought with funds provided by the San Marino Permanent Mission to the United Nations.

'The bottom line'

As well as dancing, art and theatre, children in the group are taught practical skills such as how to use a computer, how to combat sexual violence and how to avoid HIV/AIDS. Educational outings give them a chance to explore Belize’s rich natural and political history.

Andrea is typical of many children who have flourished at My Neighbours and Me. Her school principal, Bernadine Pollard, noted that the group has made a big difference to the children she teaches.

“They are able to apply self discipline and self-control,” said Ms. Pollard. “They are able to work with their assignments, whether they do them correctly or incorrectly, so they know they have a responsibility – that’s the bottom line.”


 

 

Video

6 February 2008:
UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports on how a small youth-run group is improving prospects for children in Belize City.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search