孟加拉国

应对营养不良问题,帮助洪水泛滥的孟加拉国建立抗灾能力

盖伊.哈伯德(Guy Hubbard)报道

孟加拉国西北部地区,2013年2月19日 ——“洪水袭击了村庄,淹没了我们的房子。”索依顿.贝谷姆(Shohiton Begum)说。

联合国儿童基金会通讯员盖伊.哈伯德报道一项正在帮助减轻孟加拉国洪水泛滥造成影响的计划。 在Realplayer中播放

贝谷姆女士有两个孩子。洪水爆发时,她的第二个孩子才出生几天。去年10月,洪水不断上涨,全家人被迫逃离家园。

河漫滩地形

孟加拉国是全世界人口最稠密的国家之一,也是最贫困的国家之一:半数人口生活在贫困线以下,营养不良现象普遍。43%的五岁以下儿童发育不良。

最近的洪灾已使该国境况变得更糟。

孟加拉国多数国土为河漫滩;大部分地区海拔高度不到10米。海拔低及河流众多导致该国极易遭受洪涝灾害。事实上,迫使贝谷姆女士及其家人流离失所的季风洪水每年都会出现。许多农民依靠洪水携带的淤泥滋润土壤。

近年来,在上游地区森林砍伐与冰川径流增多的综合作用下,洪水比以往任何时候都更频繁、更湍急。最近出现的洪灾摧毁了家园和庄稼,破坏了人们的生计。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
孟加拉国大部分地区海拔高度不到10米。海拔低及河流众多导致该国极易遭受洪涝灾害。

营养不良问题日渐好转

联合国儿童基金会与欧盟合作,一直致力于援助该国西北部地区的最贫困家庭、最容易遭受洪灾及营养不良影响的家庭,并帮他们出谋划策以供养家庭。这项工作是旨在降低全世界9个国家(其中包括孟加拉国)营养不良率的全球项目的一部分。

贝谷姆女士家是需要紧急援助的家庭之一。她已领取种子及园艺用品,学习了种植、培育以及采摘果蔬的方法。她还领取了一小群鸭子,学会了饲养方法。

纳济姆.乌丁(Nazim Uddin)是这一项目的志愿者培训师。他已帮助一些家庭修建和管理庭院,饲养鸭子,还坚持与他们一起工作,直到他们掌握相关知识与经验。他还教授有关营养的知识,认为这项计划能够真正改善相关人群的生活。

“通过这一项目,母亲们在两个方面受益。”他说,“他们的餐桌上有了水果、蔬菜和鸭蛋,家人获得了保持健康所需的营养,他们也可以在市场上出售富余的食品,以改善家庭经济状况。食物的营养价值、多样性和安全性都得到提高。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
去年10月,洪水不断上涨,索依顿.贝谷姆、新生儿姆木(Moom)及其余家人被迫逃离家园。此次洪灾摧毁了他们精心照料的庭院。通过联合国儿童基金会-欧盟计划,他们现在具备更强的抗灾能力,补种了粮食作物,逐渐恢复正常的生活。

建立抗灾能力

这一项目不是万能的。许多家庭及其庭院仍会遭受洪灾影响。在最近的一次洪灾中,贝谷姆女士的庭院被彻底摧毁。但是,有了庭院及养鸭带来的额外收入,贝谷姆女士家现在具有更强的抗灾能力,能更好地恢复正常生活。在纳济姆的指导下,她重修了庭院并栽种了幼苗。

在附近的一个村庄,比尔吉斯.贝杜姆(Bilquis Bedum)已经报名参加了这一项目。以往,她不得不依靠慈善机构养活她的两个女儿。

“这一项目启动之前。”她说,“我们生活贫困 —— 食不果腹,无依无靠,只能依靠村里人的帮助艰难度日。但是,在这一项目启动之时,对我而言,就像美梦成真一样。”

她家的餐桌上第一次出现维生素与蛋白质丰富的菜肴,她第一次获得少量的收入。现在,她正规划未来 —— 她说,等将来有了足够的食物,她女儿的“智力就会发育良好”。

贝杜姆女士获得的支持无法阻止来年季风洪水的袭击,但会帮助她具有更好的抗灾能力。她将有财力将家中财物搬到地势较高的地方,养活家人,并且在洪水退去时,恢复正常生活。

“从前,我每天都在担心如何生存下去。”她说,“但现在我知道一切都会好起来。”


 

 

图片报道:建立营养安全

搜索

Bangladesh

Striking at malnutrition and building resilience in flood-prone Bangladesh

By Guy Hubbard

Northwest Bangladesh, 19 February 2013 – “The water just came right through the village and through our houses,” says Shohiton Begum.

UNICEF correspondent Guy Hubbard reports on a programme that is helping to alleviate the effects of regular flooding in Bangladesh.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Ms. Begum is a mother of two. Her second child was only days old when the flood hit. The family fled the rising waters in October.

A floodplain

Bangladesh is one of the most densely populated countries in the world, and one of the poorest: Half of the population live below the poverty line, and malnutrition is a constant. Forty-three per cent of children under 5 are stunted.

The recent flooding has made things even worse.

Most of Bangladesh is floodplain; the majority of the country lies less than 10 metres above sea level. Its altitude and its many rivers make it extremely vulnerable to flooding. In fact, monsoon floods like the one that displaced Ms. Begum and her family are an annual occurrence. Many farmers rely on the silt carried by floodwaters to enrich their soil.

A combination of deforestation upstream and increased glacial runoff have meant that the floods are now more frequent and more violent than ever before. The latest deluge destroyed homes, crops and livelihoods.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
The majority of Bangladesh lies less than 10 metres above sea level. Its altitude and its many rivers make it extremely vulnerable to flooding.

Lowering malnutrition rates

UNICEF, in partnership with the European Union, has been working with the poorest families in the northwest of the country, those most vulnerable to the impact of flooding and malnutrition, and helping them develop strategies to support and feed their families. This work is part of a global project aimed at reducing malnutrition rates in nine developing countries around the world, including Bangladesh.

Ms. Begum’s family was one of those in need of urgent assistance. She’s been given seeds and gardening supplies and has been taught how to plant, nurture and harvest fruits and vegetables. She’s also been given a small flock of ducks and has been taught how to care for them.

Nazim Uddin is a volunteer trainer on the project. He’s helped several families to set up and manage their gardens and ducks and continues to work with them until they have the knowledge and experience to do it themselves. He also educates them about nutrition and believes the programme will make a real difference to the lives of those involved.

“Through this project, mothers benefit in two ways,” he explains. “They can add the fruits and vegetables and duck eggs to their meals and thus get the nutrients they need to be healthy, but they can also sell the surplus at the market to make money and reduce their poverty. So the nutritional value, diversity and security of their food improves.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
In October, Shohiton Begum, newborn baby Moom and the rest of the family fled rising floodwaters that destroyed the garden they had so carefully tended. More resilient than they had been before the UNICEF-EU programme, they were able to replant and recover.

Building resilience

The project isn’t a cure-all. Families and their gardens are still at the mercy of floodwaters. In the latest deluge, Ms. Begum’s garden was completely destroyed. But with the extra income they’ve earned from the garden and ducks, her family is more resilient and better able to recover. Under Nazim’s guidance, she’s rebuilt the garden and planted new seedlings.

In a nearby village, Bilquis Bedum has been enrolled in the project. In the past, she’s had to rely on charity to feed her two daughters.

“Before this project started,” she says, “we were living very poorly – we struggled to get enough food to eat…I was completely alone, and I was only able to survive with the help of people in my village. But when the project started, it was like a dream for me.”

Now, with vitamin- and protein-rich meals on the table and a small income, for the first time, she’s planning for the future – a future, in which, she says, her daughters’ “brains will develop properly” because they will have enough to eat.

The support Ms. Bedum receives won’t stop the floodwaters during next year’s monsoon, but it will help her cope with them better. She’ll have the money to move her belongings to higher ground, feed her family and start again when the waters recede.

“I used to spend every day thinking about how to survive,” she says, “but now I know everything will be ok."


 

 

Photo Essays: Building nutrition security

UNICEF-EU Partnership

New enhanced search