孟加拉国

联合国儿童基金会意大利亲善大使Kledi Kadiu连续两年视察了孟加拉国热带风暴后续救援工作

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Bangladesh/2011/Mawa
著名芭蕾舞蹈家 Kledi Kadiu 与孩子们在联合国儿童基金会支持的一个安全场所中玩耍,该场所位于孟加拉国库尔纳达卡分区的斯利那加北方小学内。

Arifa S. Sharmin 报道

孟加拉国 - 库尔纳地区,2011 年 6 月 2 日 – 当联合国儿童基金会意大利大使 Kledi Kadiu 及其团队乘坐快艇抵达孟加拉国库尔纳达卡分区的斯利那加村时已是正午时分。

斯利那加是受到 2009 年 5 月发生的热带风暴“艾拉”影响最为严重的村庄之一。在此热带风暴期间,斯利那加村庄的主要堤坝被冲垮之后,该村庄被齐膝深的水淹没了两年之久。著名芭蕾舞蹈家 Kadiu 先生亲自访问了斯利那加,视察联合国儿童基金会在孟加拉国的其他受热带风暴影响区域的救灾情况。

“艾拉”带来的严重影响

在遭受热带风暴“艾拉”袭击后的两年里,许多村民仍居住在堤坝上由塑料和竹子搭建的临时房屋中,不分阶级或类型、无论贫富或地位的高低。由于水淹地区的土壤盐度,农作物的种植受到了严重影响。曾经可以一年种植三季农作物的土地上,现在连蔬菜都几乎不能种植了。人们只能勉强度日。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Bangladesh/2011/Mawa
在受到热带风暴影响的孟加拉国库尔纳地区,25岁的Jasmin 和她4岁大的儿子 Naim 在花费数小时捕鱼之后将所捕之鱼作为一家五口的食物。

在去往位于斯利那加北方小学的联合国儿童基金会支持的儿童“安全场所”的路上,Kadiu 先生遇到了一位名叫 Jasmin 的年轻妈妈和她 4 岁大的儿子 Naim,他们刚捕鱼归来,准备将所捕之鱼作为他们一家五口的食物。“我们花费三个小时在河边钓鱼,却只捕到四五条小鱼,这些鱼还不够一个人吃。”当 Naim 骄傲地向 Kadiu 先生展示他帮忙捕获的鱼时,Jasmin 这样说道。

Jasmin 家的房屋在热带风暴“艾拉”袭击期间被冲走了,目前她与她的丈夫和孩子们一起在堤坝上居住。仅在该区域,就有大约4万人遭受热带风暴“艾拉”的影响。两年过去了,他们中的少部分人已经能够搬回他们自己的家中居住或者建造新的房屋。

“人们正在努力让生活变得更好”

另一位当地妈妈 Taposhi 也和她的家人一起在堤坝上由塑料搭建的小屋中居住。她佩戴的金项链、耳环和手镯都可以显示她曾生活在富裕的中产阶层家庭中。现在,他们一家人顺其自然地度过每一天。

“热带风暴‘艾拉’过后,我们依靠政府和他人提供的救济品生活下来。最困难的事情是收集饮用水,因为水池和其他水源都受到了海水的污染。”Taposhi 这样告诉 Kadiu 先生。

“这里的生活非常困难,”Kadiu 先生在和当地村民谈话中说道,“人们每天都在为了生存而进行各种努力。”

儿童安全场所

在此类艰难困苦中,斯利那加村庄的孩子们可在安全场所获得一些休息空间,该安全场所在热带风暴“艾拉”袭击之后不久投入使用。该乡村学校一楼的三个房间作为供孩子们玩耍和学习基本生活技能的专门区域。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Bangladesh/2011/Jannatul Mawa
联合国儿童基金会大使 Kledi Kadiu 在去访问孟加拉国斯利那加北方小学的路上。

当 Kadiu 先生到达学校时,迎接他的是鲜花、歌声以及舞蹈表演。其中的一名舞蹈演员是 10 岁的 Urmi,她是一名三年级的学生,在该处安全场所学习唱歌和舞蹈。她仍然清晰地记得那天她与父母一起在热带风暴避难所避难时的情景。

“那天正下着雨,大水进入了我们的家,”Urmi 回忆道,“爸爸抱着我,匆匆赶往一处安全的避难所躲避。 那天的风非常大,给人的感觉就像所有人都要被吹走一样。从那以后,我们就一直居住在堤岸上。”

打破障碍

在孩子们的簇拥下,Kadiu 先生从一个房间来到另一个房间,与男孩和女孩们打成一片、与他们一起踢足球并向孩子们展示他的照相机拍摄的照片。当 Kadiu 先生和孩子们用通用语言 – 友谊进行交流时,年龄和语言都不再是障碍。

“令我印象非常深刻的是,尽管生活如此艰辛,但是孩子们总是非常快乐并充满活力。”Kadiu 先生如是说,当时他坐在一群孩子之中且有个小孩坐在他的大腿上。

在 2009 年灾难发生之后,安全场所在帮助像 Urmi 这样的孩子克服抑郁并建立正常心态方面发挥了重要作用。每天都会有超过 90 名受热带风暴影响的孩子来到该场所,这里为斯利那加的所有孩子提供教育支持。

“多亏有了该安全场所才使孩子们的上学率大幅度提高,因为孩子们都主动地来到学校上学,”学校的校长说道,“现在,大约有 95% 的孩子正常到学校上学。”


 

 

搜索

Bangladesh

Two years on, UNICEF Italy Ambassador Kledi Kadiu sees Bangladesh cyclone aftermath

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Bangladesh/2011/Mawa
Renowned ballet dancer Kledi Kadiu plays with children in a UNICEF-supported safe space at Srinagar North Primary School in the Dakop sub-district of Khulna, Bangladesh.

By Arifa S. Sharmin

KHULNA DISTRICT, Bangladesh, 2 June 2011 – It was midday when the speedboat carrying UNICEF Italy Ambassador Kledi Kadiu and his team reached the embankment of Srinagar village in the Dakop sub-district of Khulna, Bangladesh.

Srinagar was one of the villages hardest hit by Cyclone Aila in May 2009. The village was submerged in knee-deep water for two years after its main embankment was washed away during the cyclone. Mr. Kadiu, a renowned ballet dancer, visited Srinagar to witness UNICEF’s work in other cyclone-affected areas of Bangladesh first-hand.

Alia’s harsh legacy

Two years after Cyclone Aila hit, many villagers still live on the embankment – irrespective of class or cast, wealth or status – in makeshift homes constructed from plastic and bamboo. And due to the salinity of the soil in the flooded area, crops have faltered. On land where once three crops a year could be produced, vegetation barely grew. People lived hand to mouth.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Bangladesh/2011/Mawa
Jasmin, 25, with her son, Naim, 4, after spending hours fishing to feed their five-person household in Bangladesh's cyclone-affected Khulna district.

On the way to a UNICEF-supported ‘safe space’ for children at Srinagar North Primary School, Mr. Kadiu met a young mother named Jasmin and her son Naim, 4, who were returning from fishing to feed their family of five. “After spending three hours in the river, we were able to catch only these four or five small fish, not enough for a one-person meal,” said Jasmin, as Naim proudly displayed the fish he had helped catch.

Jasmin’s house was washed away during Cyclone Alia, and she now lives on the embankment with her husband and children. In this area alone, some 40,000 people were affected by the cyclone. Two years later, few of them have been able to return to their homes or build new ones.

‘People are struggling’

Taposhi, another local mother, also lives on the embankment with her family in a small house made of plastic. The gold chain around her neck, her earrings and bracelets show that she once belonged to a middle-class family. Now they live each day as it comes.

 “After cyclone Aila, we survived on the relief hand-outs provided by the government and others. The most difficult part was collecting drinking water because the ponds and other water sources were contaminated with seawater,” she told Mr. Kadiu. 

“Life is so difficult here,” he said in conversation with the local villagers. “People are struggling every day to survive.”

Safe space for children

In the midst of such hardship, the children of Srinagar village get some breathing space at the safe space, which opened soon after Cyclone Aila struck. Three rooms on the first floor of the village school have been dedicated as an area where children play and learn basic life skills.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Bangladesh/2011/Jannatul Mawa
UNICEF Ambassador Kledi Kadiu on his way to a visit Srinagar North Primary School in Bangladesh.

When Mr. Kadiu reached the school, he was greeted with flowers, songs and a dance performance. Among the dancers was Urmi, 10, a third-grade student who learned to sing and dance at the safe space. She still remembers the day when she took refuge with her parents in the cyclone shelter.

“It was raining and water got inside our home,” recalled Urmi. “My father grabbed me and ran for a safe shelter. The wind was so strong, it felt like it would blow us all away. Since then, we’ve been living on the embankment.”

Breaking down barriers

Surrounded by children, Mr. Kadiu moved from one room to another, mingling with the boys and girls, playing football and showing them the pictures he had taken with his camera. Age and language were no barriers, as he and the children communicated through the universal language of friendship.

“What impresses me is that despite such a hard life, the children are always happy and full of life,” said Mr. Kadiu, seated among a group of children with a little one on his lap.  

The safe space plays an important role helping children like Urmi overcome depression and establish a sense of normalcy in the aftermath of the 2009 disaster. Every day, more 90 cyclone-affected children come to the space, which supports education for all in Srinagar.

“Because of this safe space, the school attendance rate has increased significantly as children are motivated to come to the school,” said the headmaster of the school. “Around 95 per cent of children are regularly attending the school now.”


 

 

New enhanced search